We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive rustic accommodations in a beautiful natural setting with access to some of the best bird watching in Ecuador” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mindo Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mindo Garden to your Saves list
Mindo Garden
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Cloud forest, 4 km from Mindo, Mindo 170167, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arlington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Attractive rustic accommodations in a beautiful natural setting with access to some of the best bird watching in Ecuador”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Attractive rustic accommodations in a beautiful natural setting with access to some of the best bird watching in Ecuador. Comfortable cabins are placed in the well-landscaped grounds to optimize privacy, and yet all are within a short walk of the lodge and dining area. You can be as active or lazy as you wish. Good menu options with an emphasis on local produce. Friendly and accommodating staff. Would consider returning and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    18
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We stayed at Mindo Gardens having opted for a pick up as well from Quito (we spent the night there); they picked us up at the bed and breakfast and Quito and drove us up to Mindo. The ride is interesting ... roads aren't the most reliable and oftentimes are blocked by slides if there are rains. However, our trip was fine and we even decided to take a bus back to Quito which was quite cheap and easy. This is an adventure! Just go with the flow. Mindo Gardens was a delight. Rodrigo was a superb host; the food was outstanding; company great (we even went into town with him one night to dance at a local restaurant/bar). The rooms were comfortable, clean...the river was a bit noisy but at the same time it was quite thrilling to be so close and personal with nature. We took the hikes he recommended and I have to agree that the Zip line was outstanding! All in all, it is quite worth the visit...to be in a cloud forest, great accommodations, and fun company. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

I just came back from Mindo Gardens and I do not have anything bad to say about this place. Perhaps because I knew what to expect. The roads to get to this lodge are not in a good condition and actually you will find a lot of holes... but again I was not sorprise. The service was SUPER, Elena, Gregorio and Rodrigo, they all perform multiple jobs, they are bartender, chefs, receptionist, bell boy, etc, all at the same time. This is not a 5* hotel but you will find hospitality and kindness. The premises and rooms are very clean, the food is excellent, make sure to order ther Mindo Trout and PISCO, a typical drink from Chile, very delicious. We enjoy the long walk to the water falls, the main one is La Reina meaning The Queen, the forest is very green and espectacular. The Zip line is great, very high and cheap. You will pay 3 times the amount in Costa Rica or other places on the worls. The "tubing" was also fantastic. I travel to many parts of the word, from Egìpt to Greece, Europe to North and South America and Mindo has nothing to envy to any other place. Mindo has its own beauty and offer nature, tranquility and outdoor activities. Mindo Gardens is the best place to stay. I visited other lodges to compare and this is the best one in the area. It is little difficult to get there but it worth it!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Since the public transportation options to the lodge were sketchy, we opted to be picked up in Quito (2 hour ride) and brought to the lodge. The road to from Quito to Mindo is through green mountains and hovers over deep ravines, making you want to look (or not look) at the dramatic plunges to the valleys below.

Once at the lodge, we were taken on a short walk though the woods to our cabin, which was just feet from the river. The sound of the river at night was very relaxing, although much louder than I expected a river to be. There were lights at night leading back to the lodge for meals, so you didn't have to worry about walking through the jungle in the dark.

The host drew us a map showing where we could visit the butterfly sanctuary, zip lines, cable car, waterfalls, hiking, etc. The staff was very helpful and the food was delicious. One word of caution - if you take the unmarked trail from the cable car back to the lodge, be prepared for a strenuous hike, partially unmarked trails, and a hand-cranked cable car to get you back over the river (my friend wasn't strong enough to pull me over the river and had to go get help). Also, the mosquitos here are ferocious so bring repellent. There is no TV or internet service, but the lodge has a pool table and a few board games to play if you get bored at night.

Overall, a great stay and I'd recommend this to someone who wants to get away from it all!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2007

We stayed at Mindo Garden for one night on our recent trip. This place has such potential, but we left not sure what to make of it..

The positives:
- beautiful setting, quiet and relaxing
- cabins are basic but more than adequate
- hot water in the bathroom
- cabin was clean
- the gentleman that was working in the kitchen gave us great service, even though he was the cook and not the waiter
- restaurant right on the river is very nice


The negatives:
- people working the front desk (who were also waitresses and cleaning staff) did not want to be bothered with us, anything we asked seemed to be a major inconvenience even though we were the only people there
- we asked for a map of the trails on the property or an idea of where they went so that we could go exploring but were told there was no information about them (we do speak spanish so it wasn't a language barrier)
-the service at dinner was terrible, the waitress took our order and then went home (the cook didn't realize this at first. When he did however, he came out and was very nice).

Could go either way, depending on what you are looking for:

- This hotel is remote. It is 4 km outside of town, down a poor road. If you are looking for a convenient location, this is not it.
-Taxi's aren't readily available in Mindo, you either find one of the two, they aren't marked, just ask around, or you find someone going up the road and ask if you can ride in the back of the truck.
- The trail from the main check in and restaurant building to your cabin is very dark, make sure you have a flashlight.
- There are 3 rooms in each building (unless you are in the main building). If you have neighbours in the other rooms, noise travels.

Overall, this is a really interesting place to stay, that could be a great place, it just isn't quite there yet. Having the staff make you feel welcome would be a great place to start. It would also be helpful if they let you know what activities were available in the area, and how to go about booking them. The Mindo area is beautiful. The actual rooms and the restaurant area are nice. I really think that this could one day be a great lodge.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

My husband and I went here for a night to get away from the city. It was amazingly quiet, relaxing and comfortable. The restaurant is nice with good food and the staff very helpful. I am hoping we can get back here. For the area it is not cheap, but if you are looking for more comfort in a jungle like place this is the place for you. I think we paid something like $70 for the night.

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mindo Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mindo Garden

Address: Cloud forest, 4 km from Mindo, Mindo 170167, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mindo Garden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by hummingbirds and washed by the peaceful sound of Mindo’s river, this is a place specially designed to help you disconnect from your daily life. We're far enough from the town of Mindo to provide that peace but close enough so you won't feel isolated. You can come and simply relax on a family day at our renowned restaurant, or leave everything to our organization and explore the secrets of the cloud forest through walks on our private paths and hikes to the area's greatest points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mindo Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mindo Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.