We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for relaxing and having a good time but not a perfect place for serious bird- or animal watchers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Abrazo del Arbol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Abrazo del Arbol to your Saves list
El Abrazo del Arbol
Km 7 Via a Cunuco - Mindo, Mindo EC170751, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good for relaxing and having a good time but not a perfect place for serious bird- or animal watchers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I spent 3 days there. It is a really nice place, very beautiful, nice food (even if the choice is rather limited). The location is extremely beatiful but there is only one short trail to the river. There is another trail, a long one but it is not marked and you cannot go there on your own. We had a wonderful guide in the person of a little boy from a nearby ranch.
Another problem is sleep quality. The rooms are nice even if very small, there is no room for a closet or any other storage place for your luggage. For me, it really did not matter. The view from the room was breathtaking.
What I did not like was the fact that I could hear everything that was happening in the house, including everything other guests said and did. Otherwise it is a very beautiful place and a swimming pool is quite nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    16
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
23
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Mindo is a tiny little town in the depths of the Andean Jungle, if you are going to experience tranquil surrounds with just the noise of the forest and enjoy the best food in town, stay at Abrazo. You wake up to the drum of the hummingbirds and look out onto views of great waterfalls tumbling over the steep mountainous karsts.

We opted for breakfast and dinner and we were really pleased because the food in town isn't amazing, and Nancy the Chef at Abrazo cooks generous tasty meals with delicious desserts!

The lodge is eco style, very clean and funky with open air decking for chilling with a beverage. Apparently there was a wild guinea pig in the garden but we never saw him roaming.

Mauricio (owner) speaks great English and could advise when it came to booking trips and excursions.

Really recommend going to Quetzal (Chocolate factory/café) for a brownie and experiencing Tubing, such a rush(although steer clear if you have a nervous disposition!). Also I recommend the zip lining $20 for viewing Mindo in style! Very safe and fun.

If you arrive by bus remember you need to get another taxi to get to Abrazo (7kms from the centre) so make sure you have $7.

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Abrazo, really felt at one with nature, such a beautiful location, could not fault this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

love seing and listening the hummingbirds in the morning, and the proximity to the river, the weather is warm and so is the hospitality staff. The price is good for what you get! This is a great deal! recomended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed at El Abrazo del Arbol just for a weekend, i wish i could stay more. Love the place, excellent food, and service. Its located away from the craziness, but its not far from town, you could walk or bike to town. The hotel is surrounded by nature, there is a river within the property a beautiful swimming pool with natural river water, and a island type bungalow/bar. The hotel service was excellent, everyone there was very nice and caring.
I´ve stayed in different hotels in Mindo, and i can say this is my favorite one. Perfect for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My girlfriend and I spent a long weekend in this lovely place and had a great time. I dare say the cloud forest scenery could not have been more beautiful. The view from the terrace was something surreal like in the movie Jurassic Park, with a huge mountain rising up from the forest, adorned with 5 gorgeous waterfalls. With exotic flowers and vegetation all over the property it was hard to not just sit and stare for hours. Unfortunately we visited during the rainy season and it was quite rainy, but it didn't damper the weekend at all. That terrace and the beautiful view combined with a constant variety of gorgeous hummingbirds provided a perfect setting for relaxing. There was a few trails off the property which took us to one of the waterfalls and the nearby raging river.

The food was EXCELLENT. Their river trout or "trucha" had an incredible sauce and tasted delicious. Best trucha I've had in the country in my 4 years in Ecuador. They also had an incredible "canelazo" chicken breast that had incredible flavour and was quite a unique dish.

The owner, David, was very friendly and accommodating. His hotel was in good condition and fit into the area quite nicely.

All in all, my girlfriend and I had a great weekend visiting Mindo and El Abrazo del Arbol and it was quite the adventure since we took my motorcycle and drove from Quito on the "EcoRuta" which was absolutely gorgeous. Amazing scenery, gorgeous vegetation and even a surreal foggy area that was something out of a movie.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spent two nights here and have been very happy to follow the tripadvisor recommendations.
The setting is extremly nice, close to nature, with lots of little animals to be discovered, and it is what you can wish for if you want peace and quiet.
The staff was very nice and helpfull, the room with own bathroom clean and cute.
We truely enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at El Arbol for a week and it was one of the most memorable vacations we had in a long time. The bungalow we stayed in was a gem, beautifully made and beautifully located. Surrounded by the forest, it is very private and restful. Marylin and her husband were welcoming, helpful and discreet. They put us in touch with a wonderful local guide who took us on a four hour tour in the jungle. He was extremely knowledgeable and obviously a nature lover. If you decide to get a guide (which I highly recommend) make sure to ask Marylin to put you in touch with Abel! She also helped us organize a dolphin watching tour that was marvelous.
We we so glad to have made the choice of El Arbol rather than a hotel. We spent our evenings relaxing in the hammock on the balcony listening to the sounds of the forest.
Everything about this trip was wonderful. Manzanillo is a quiet little town with really nice people. The beach is beautiful with great snorkeling. We couldn't recommend El Arbol enough!! Thank you Marylin and Jon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Abrazo del Arbol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Abrazo del Arbol

Address: Km 7 Via a Cunuco - Mindo, Mindo EC170751, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Abrazo del Árbol – Farm Eco Lodge is the most cosy and peaceful hotel in Mindo. It is located amongst 14 acres of tropical rainforest at the end of the Cunuco Road. It has eco trails to the river and to one of the waterfalls that can be seen from the hotel´s balconies. It has 8 comfortable rooms in which the hotel can accommodate up to 19 guests. All the rooms have a private bathroom as well as first class mattresses and white neat blankets. Each corner of the hotel is full of detail that reflect the hosts commitment with eco design. Among its facilities you can find the pool which is free of chemicals, steam bath, yoga bungalow, pool table, bungalow bar on the island by the lagoon, organic farm that supplies the restaurant, private parking and a soccer field. Most of the hotel´s furniture and decoration are made out of recycled materials that have been carefully worked in order to reinforce the ecological approach in which the hotel is focused. The menu at the restaurant fusions different styles of food from around the globe, everything with organic ingredients, surprising the most demanding guests. The kindness of the hosts make every guest feel at home. The hotel has large balconies and living rooms where the people can relax and watch different kinds of birds or just enjoy a good cup of tea. The hotel also plans adventure and eco tourist trips around the area depending on the guests´ needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Abrazo del Arbol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Abrazo del Arbol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.