We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clouds and hummingbirds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sachatamia Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sachatamia Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sachatamia Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   78km via Quito - Calacali - La Independencia | 300 meters before reaching the Mindo turnoff, Mindo, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 37 Specialty lodging in Mindo
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clouds and hummingbirds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Well, it is not called the Cloud Forest for nothing - so we did see a little rain, which didn't faze the hummingbirds. It was bright in the morning and we were up at 6:00 watching from our windows and then went out to do a bit of birding around the lodge.
We were only staying one night - and we could have done with at least one more. We had a large room at the top of the house and the use of a lounge on the same floor, giving us 360 degrees of birds. The evening meal and breakfast were both good, We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
15
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in cabin #12 which is quite a ways from the main lodge down a fairly steep gravel road. While we did not mind this, it is a bit of a walk to get to the restaurant and walking back to the cabin in the dark needs care. So you may want to ask for a cabin closer to the lodge. Some people staying in the rooms above the dining room said they were damp and cold. This is the cloud forest so it is damp most of the times. Our cabin had no heat and was a bit cold as well. The bathroom tiles looked quite grungy and were in need of a good scrubbing but the rest of the cabin was okay. The breakfast in the lodge was fruit, eggs, bread, and juice,coffee and was quite good. The dinners were all good and we were able to get a bottle of red wine for just $15. You can get coffee any time during the day. Wifi is available but only in the lodge. They gave me one password and I could not log on. When I mentioned this the second day, they suddenly came up with a different network and password, so if you have trouble logging on ask for an alternative link.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

It is not in Mindo, but 15 mins drive away. However it is a self contained resort. You can do zip lining, hiking, bird watching etc right there! In fact, we saw some pretty spectacular birds (quetzal) right there. Many birding guides told us that some rarer birds like the umbrella birds are better spotted at the lodge itself! The place is abuzz with humming birds and tanagers. The downside is that it is a hike to get to Mindo and you do get tired of eating the same food. I wish they had more simple local food instead of standard European fare. The staff lives the and are amazing. They hardly speak English, which is problematic, but they go out of their way to make you comfortable. They were so excited to pull out exotic fruit and introduce me to them. They do a good job of organizing tours if you want. You can also do the arranging yourself if you go to Mindo. However I really liked the guide they arranged for us to see the cock of the rock. The rooms are clean however there is no elevator so lugging the luggage is a pain if you are upstairs in the lodge. However the staff will haul it for you. We loved this place. My 7 year old who loves nature absolutely loved it. We could spend hours on the resort hiking or bird watching.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We spent two very relaxing days at Sachatamia. Our main building accommodation was spacious and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and the food good. Even those not particularly interested in birds will love watching the Hummingbirds flit around in the beautiful gardens. The lodge trail is also worth walking - it is not arduous. If you are a 'twitcher' be sure to ask about the early morning Cock of the Rock excursion that can be booked through reception.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a true sanctuary for body, mind and spirit. We stayed in a suite, which was a cabin near the hummingbird lagoon. I am not an avid bird watcher, but my husband is, we both enjoyed the wildlife and noted the ease of bird sighting! You can choose between an all-meal inclusive plan or you can go elsewhere for your meals. The dinner and lunch were the same on our visit, but the food was well prepared and tasty. The cabins and bathrooms are clean and had plenty of space for two people. We enjoyed listening to the rain on the metal roof. IF you are a light sleeper and are easily frightened by wildlife that you can hear, but not see, you might be more comfortable in one of the rooms above the main office. I spent the evening scared that we were going to be carried off by the animals outside. The rooms securely lock, but for those with a vivid immaginaiton, the sounds from outside at night are loud. The lodge offers a pool and whirlpool which were both closed while we were there. They also offer a canopy tour for $7/person. This is a bargain! Our guide was informative about the plants and animals and it also has a rope swing and two ziplines, wow! The staff is helpful and friendly and can easily arrange taxis for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Want to see Ecuadorian birdlife, then this is a great place to see a good variety including many hummingbird species - up close (within 1 metre). Make sure you stay at the lodge. Day visitors will not get such a spectacle as the largest quantities of flying visitors arrive early in the morning - your camera will certainly get a workout. Lodgings and meals were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We really wanted to stay there for 3 nights, BUT......as we were driving there the police stopped us because of a major landslide and said the road would be closed for 15 hours....this was at 3pm! We, gringos, asked for another way to get there....sent 2 hours the wrong direction to a town that did NOT have a road to get us to Mindo. We called the Lodge and explained what happened and they said no problem. The next day the road was still closed all day. Called the Lodge again and they said there was another road open but it was 6 hours from where we were. So we said we would wait another day. The road was still closed....we called them and said we were not going to come as it no longer was worth it. We had an early morning flight out of Quito and would not even have been able to sleep there cuz we would have had to leave so early. They are refusing to give us any deposit back. Seems like they need insurance against issues like this.....the road closure was in the papers ....it was a really big deal. I am not sure this is entirely fair....so thought i would report it.

Room Tip: no comments on anything cuz we did not get to stay there.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sachatamia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sachatamia Lodge

Address: 78km via Quito - Calacali - La Independencia | 300 meters before reaching the Mindo turnoff, Mindo, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 Specialty lodging in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sachatamia Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sachatamia is a marvelous, private, ecological reserve exceeding 120 hectares of cloud-rain forest. Other areas include recuperated forest, as well as areas undergoing the processes of reforestation. Sachatamia has the privilege of being located next to the Protected Forest of Mindo-Nambillo. The zone is rich in flora and fauna and renowned as one of the foremost in terms of the wealth of biodiversity. It has attained first place in the annual count of bird species on a global level. Serenity. Peace. Spiritual Balance. The natural paradise of Sachatamia offers an undisturbed world where guests can escape from noise, pollution and stress imposed by larger cities. Whether your visit is short or long, it will be sure to rejuvenate your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sachatamia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sachatamia Hotel Mindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sachatamia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.