We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute..... not the best, but in Brazil the hotels are terrible!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Pacuiba Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Pacuiba Hotel to your Saves list
Porto Pacuiba Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Leonardo Reale, 2392 | Praia do Viana, Ilhabela, State of Sao Paulo 11630-000 , Brazil   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ilhabela
Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Cute..... not the best, but in Brazil the hotels are terrible!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

I've been to Porto Pacuiba quite a few times.The place is cute, but the way it was constructed (many rooms in such a small area), combined with poor insulation on the walls makes it unpleasant on a busy weekend. There is no privacy!!! Rooms right in front of front desk, witch is all open so you hear all the conversation from the employees all the time..... I guess brazilians are just loud and non-educated, because everybody on that hotel speaks loud, from the owner, to the employees, till the guests. The room is ok, confortable, with good pillows, bed has tiny matress but ok, and if you are lucky and you don't hear any neighbour making love, you are fine and you sleep well (the place is very calm on low season). Breakfast is good, plenty of cakes. I saw big blood stains on the entrance of the hotel, nobody sees or cleans it?? Overall, ok, but still pricy and full of loud employees (you can't be romantic with noise).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietário at Porto Pacuiba Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Sirs,
Thanks for your comment. He is very important to us. Since that comment we can improve our product every day.
Please note that we made great improvements in the year 2011, the hotel was all remodeled and now has new facilities, 3 pools, one with more than 200m ² heated all year, spacious gardens and a new restaurant, open daily and administered by Chef Arthur Alves.
Unfortunately there is no way to fix the case in the past, but we are sure that your impression would be another case Mr. was in our hotel after the reform. We invite you to visit the new hotel's website.
Have a great week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    56
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
97
101
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buenos aires
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

The Hotel is very nice and charming, the rooms are cozy. There was another user complaining because they dont have a wardrobe, but at least there are other furniture such as ample drawers, that did it for my bf and I.

We visited the hotel in september, right after the brazilian independence day, so we were practically the only couple occuping the facilities for the week. We enjoyed it very much, but I am not sure if I would like to be there in hight season. The pool area is quite few chairs for sunbathing. The hotel only has ONE computer for internet use, although they offer free wi-fi. They offer a bunch of movies on DVD for the guests to see (I assume it is because of the weather in Ilhabela, sometimes you cant go out of the Hotel because of the rain so it is not a bad idea to watch a movie :) BUT! there isnt a DVD player available in all rooms...for that purpose, they count with one shared TV area with 2 sofas, so go figure a stormy day with full occupation...

All in all, we thought it was charming and romantic... The service is very good, pleople working there are very kind and cheerful. Very convenient prices, close but not in the Town (Villa). Would recommend it for: couples but not in high season. Def it is not a hotel for a family with children.

OH! and one more thing: the restaurant is good but on my last day there I got food poisoned by (I think) a tomatoes conserve that wasnt very good... DO NOT EAT THE COUVERT FROM THE MENU!!!!!!! On second thoughts, other than the breakfast, if you can avoid the restaurant in there that would be great. There is a very good place for dinner right next to the hotel, recommended even by locals :)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietário at Porto Pacuiba Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Sirs,
Thanks for your comment. He is very important to us. Since that comment we can improve our product every day.
Please note that we made great improvements in the year 2011, the hotel was all remodeled and now has new facilities, 3 pools, one with more than 200m ² heated all year, spacious gardens and a new restaurant, open daily and administered by Chef Arthur Alves.
Unfortunately there is no way to fix the case in the past, but we are sure that your impression would be another case Mr. was in our hotel after the reform. We invite you to visit the new hotel's website.
Have a great week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

Just spent New Year's at the porto pacuiba, a pousada on ilhabela, with high expectations from guide book reviews. The island is lovely and the pousada has an excellent location across the street from beautiful beaches and near but not in town. The service can best be described as quirky; very cheerful and energetic food and pool service, but when we asked for replacement shampoo we were told the hotel had run out and the desk suggested we go into town and buy more.
Room and hotel amenities are almost spartan. Specifically the rooms have NO closets, NO clocks, NO garbage pails except the bin for toilet paper, and the lovely pool has ample tables but 3 lounge chairs.

  • Liked — beautiful beach
  • Disliked — lack of amenities, haphazard service, very high price
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietário at Porto Pacuiba Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Sirs,
Thanks for your comment. He is very important to us. Since that comment we can improve our product every day.
Please note that we made great improvements in the year 2011, the hotel was all remodeled and now has new facilities, 3 pools, one with more than 200m ² heated all year, spacious gardens and a new restaurant, open daily and administered by Chef Arthur Alves.
Unfortunately there is no way to fix the case in the past, but we are sure that your impression would be another case Mr. was in our hotel after the reform. We invite you to visit the new hotel's website.
Have a great week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2006

When in Ilhabela, my wife and I use to stay in this small and cozy hotel, runned by german family BENZ. Clean and confortable, many of the 20 charming rooms ( or so ) face the beach. A few steps away from the beach, the small but gorgeous pool area is surrounded by palm trees. Food is OK, great breakfast. Prices, specially in low season, are very reasonable. Takes 30 minutes ( ferry boat ) to go from the continent to the island. It's worthy.


Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Pacuiba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Pacuiba Hotel

Address: Av. Leonardo Reale, 2392 | Praia do Viana, Ilhabela, State of Sao Paulo 11630-000 , Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ilhabela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ilhabela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ilhabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Porto Pacuiba Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Porto Pacuiba Hotel, a charming and sophisticated option for those who are looking for comfort and a place to relax. Enjoy everything Ilhabela can offer you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Pacuiba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Pacuiba Hotel Ilhabela, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Pacuiba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.