We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place. Fell in love with it and will always have amazing memories of my time there.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada Refugio das Pedras

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pousada Refugio das Pedras to your Saves list
Pousada Refugio das Pedras
Avenida Governador Mario Covas Junior, No 11495, Ilhabela, State of Sao Paulo 11630000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 95 Ilhabela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place. Fell in love with it and will always have amazing memories of my time there.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I would go back here anytime. The place was much more than expected. Staff and service was very friendly. The rooms are simple but very comfortable. A plus for shower area that has a rock feature that gives it a very nice touch. It is not a place to go by yourself so make sure you have your significant one with you as this is an experience to share. I will go back for sure. Ricardo

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Delicious breakfast. Very romantic. All the staff is very kind.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Refúgio das Pedras it's a great B&B option in this wonderful island nearby São Paulo. The ways its architecture integrates with the original nature that surround it it's something unbelievable. Everything is personally managed by the couple who owns the inn, which grants a above average level of cleanness, organization and service.

Pros
> Fair prices
> Good accommodations
> Great location (if you have a car)
> Beautiful spot
> Above average service, food quality and common areas
> Wonderful swimming pool daily cleaned
> Privacy (only 7 suites available)

Cons
> Room service shuts down too early (8pm), the sort of options are reduced and some item are overpriced
> Some item of the room (IMHO) could be renewed to fit the contemporaneity of the suites, such a LCD screen (the current one is an old-style 20'' CRT TV) and better wardrobe (the current one is an open one without drawers which were not able to accommodate our apparel for a one week-long stay)
> No-cable TV, just a few public local channels from a satellite antenna. Believe me, this is important as the island doesn't offer too many attractions by night or in a raining day. For foreign this should be an even worst problem, as they will not have any English programming.
> A good basic gym, but with outdated and noisily equipaments.

And a final heads up: the inn is located a little bit far away from downtown (around 20m car ride). For me, this is a pro, as you can stay away from the mess and closer to the best beaches, natural attractions, in most conserved area of the island (the South) and the island downtown worth just an afternoon/night visit only. But I'd like to give this heads up, as I know some people love to go shopping or having night dinners everyday and those kind of attraction you gonna find only there.

Room Tip: Look for the cheapest suites. As I could notice, they don't differ too much from the others and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay! Highly recommend it. The rooms are beautiful and very clean. The garden is stunning! For breakfast they prepare their own bread and it is served by the owner of the pousada. The personal touch and attention to detail is what I appreciated the most. Also, nearby is a great restaurant called All Mirante from where one can have a wonderful view of the sea with sunset.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

One of the best places we have every stayed in. The minute we saw this place we were tingled all over with joy. It is as beautiful as their website describes it, or should i say even more.A small pool with a beautiful lounge next to it, where you can just relax and forget the world. A well kept garden with little insects running around. A paradise in short!
The family who runs this place showered us with love and took care of us as their own. They picked and dropped us off at Sao Paulo and took us on tours around Ilhabela too. The breakfast was just delicious and fresh
Ilhabela is so full of surprises. A must visit!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

This pousada was in a beautiful spot and I loved how it was built into the landscape. It was out of the village and as we had no car we had to catch the local buses. This wasn't too much of an issue for us but if you are only staying for a couple of days without a car this will limit what you can see on the island.

It was a great place to stay and the breakfast was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

The couple who owns it is amazing! They are accomodating, lovely and sweet.
The place is out of this world... it´s more than you can get in your ordinary B&B.
The setting is amazing, cozy and in all the honesty a tropical paradise. Quiet, comfortable, stunning sunset views and delicious complementary breakfast that Mrs. Maria, the owner´s wife makes herself! I didn´t feel like I was in a B&B... I felt like home! Can´t wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada Refugio das Pedras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Refugio das Pedras

Address: Avenida Governador Mario Covas Junior, No 11495, Ilhabela, State of Sao Paulo 11630000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ilhabela
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Ilhabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For Nature Lovers a charming Resort in Ilhabela! Tranquility, comfort and privacy. Seven cozy suites, designed in rustic style offering the perfect scenery for your holiday! Here the natural geography has been preserved. Breathtaking sunset in our lounge with sea view, swimming pool built on rocks. Details that make the difference. A breakfast which is pure indulgence served in a glass room while you watch the most beautiful birds! 3km away from the nearest beach and waterfalls. Ilhabela is an island located on the north coast of Sao Paulo. 3 hours from Guarulhos Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pousada Refugio das Pedras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Refugio Das Pedras Ilhabela, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada Refugio das Pedras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.