We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing at na mata after cold Patagonia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Na Mata Suites

Save Saved
You added Na Mata Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Na Mata Suites
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Rue Benedito Mariano Leite | 690 Barra Velha, Ilhabela, State of Sao Paulo, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 91 Ilhabela B&B and Inns
Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“relaxing at na mata after cold Patagonia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

After hiking in cold Patagonia we were really looking forward to stay one week on Ilhabela and relax. We loved to stay at na mata suites. Tom and Silvia did their best helping us with good advices during our holiday. Peter (son) was a great support for us and FC Basel to kick Manchester United out of the Champions League. We passed an amazing week at the beaches and na mata suites.

+ a really nice and helpful family :-): good advices for beaches, car rental, restaurants etc.
+ clean suites!
+ delicious breakfast on the veranda or at the pool side
+ beautiful garden
+ security service = dog = Lola
+ ferries during the whole night from Sao Sebastiao
+ non-stop Bus service from Guarulhos International Airport Sao Paulo (be aware that you book the DIRECT bus :D)
+ candle light veranda

+/- we were happy having a car to be independent to visit different beaches and reach the city center

We recommend na mata suites for everyone looking for a special and personal Hotel with everything you need. Hopefully we will be back one day!
Thank you very much.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011 via mobile

We spent 4 nights here out of a 5 week trip in Brazil, and it will always be a standout memory from the trip.
IlhaBela is one of the most beautiful places you can visit along this part of the Brazilian coastline, and this place has to be one of the most unique and enjoyable places there.
From the moment we booked the rooms, Tom and Silvia did everything they could to help make the stay as memorable as they could. They really took us in as guests to their home (they have a beautiful home and 3 or 4 separate suites on the site) and not only provided a stunning oasis of beautiful plants and wildlife for us to enjoy, but also treated us like family friends for the whole stay.

They and their family (2 very cool and funny boys Peter and Sasha and one lovely dog Lola) made us very welcome, and helped us to enjoy our stay on the island as much as possible.

The suites are located a bit out of the centre (only a 20 minute walk) but that was not an issue at all as Tom and Silvia picked us up from the ferry on day one, and very kindly gave us lifts to the centre, and various beaches throughout the stay. They really went out of their way to ensure we could get wherever we wanted whenever we
wanted. They even invited us into their home to watch the English football with them (Tom is English), and Na Mata really felt like a home from home.

Pros
- great private suites in beautiful gardens
- really personal and friendly service
- breakfast was special every day. Great food served by the pool (or on your veranda), with bacon and eggs on Sunday morning to top it all off!
- great family and lovely dog!
- lifts to and from the beach/centre
- great advice and help organising day trips
- safe neighbourhood day or night (as is all of IlhaBela as far as we could see)

Cons
- you could consider the location a bit inconvenient. However, it really isn't far to the centre, and Tom and Silvia gave us lifts in their car every day so it was never an issue at all. Just realise you are not right bang in the centre of town
- that's it! Great place...would definitely recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aarhus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I spent 4 nights at Na Mata suites in october 2011 based on tripadvisors rating and was very satisfied.
The suites are small individual bungalows which were very nice - especially the small veranda with a hammock and a table to enjoy breakfast.
The hosts are so welcoming as previous reviewers have written - it is hard to explain the feel to the place - it is very relaxed and genuine.
The neighborhood is very local which I loved and I can only recommend this place if you want to get a taste of everyday brazilian island life.
I would love to come back one day..

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at Na Mata. Really lovely private rooms, beautiful garden, great breakfast especially the cakes and fantastic helpful hosts. We couldn't haved asked for more and look forward to our next trip there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

4 nights at Na Mata suites were a wonderful time for us. Located a bit outside the center(s) of the island, it is still easy to reach buy taxi or bus (and a small walk). The suites are small, but very clean and furbished in a nice style. The garden itself is wonderful and has a lot of tropical flowers and palms. There is a samll breakfast area in the garden and also a barbecue which can be used by everyone. Silvia and Tom, the owners who are also living in the garden complex with there family are extremely nice and helpful with everything you need. We arrived after a long trip quite late and we could jump directly into the small pool to refresh a bit.
If we go to this area again, we will definitely stay at Na Mata suites.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Cant rate Na Mata suites highly enough.Great suites and gorgeous breakfasts. Tom, Silvia (and Lola the collie)are really welcoming and always happy to advise on places to visit on the island. We would happily go back for another stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Silvia and Tom made our stay at Namata Suites truely amazing! They helped us out with really everything! Their Pousada is really worth it to stay a couple of nights!

Me and my boyfriend stayed ad Namata Suites in december 2010 for three nights. We had a lot of trouble with my boyfriend's backpack, because it never arrived in Brazil. Silivia and Tom were very helpful to us. Tom even went to the airport to check if the bag had arrived. They kept in touch with the airline and Tom even borrowed Niels his clothes.

The Pousada we stayed in was very nice, romantic and clean. The environment is amazing; it is in the middle of the nature. The breakfast is been taken care of as well. Tom and Silvia are absolutely amazing people, as well as their kids. They are very warm and open.

Really, we can recommend a staying at Na Mata Suites, we are sure you will love it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Na Mata Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Na Mata Suites

Address: Rue Benedito Mariano Leite | 690 Barra Velha, Ilhabela, State of Sao Paulo, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ilhabela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Ilhabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Na Mata Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Na Mata Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Na Mata Suites Ilhabela, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Na Mata Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.