We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great premises, but..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Jose Pacheco do Nascimento, 7668 | Praia do Curral, Ilhabela, State of Sao Paulo 7668, Brazil   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ilhabela
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great premises, but..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We spent a five day minivacation here, and must say, the place itself is great. Beautiful pool and beach area, nicely decorated areas and very peaceful location. We had the Suite, which has groovy decoration with a large private terrace overlooking the pool and the sea, really worth it! The other room for children was really small and dark, so nothing to recommend. The hotel has several restaurants, but the food is very average. The sushibar is slow, but their sushi is very good and reasonably priced. Also the dishes at the beach were quite decent. The one major issue is their service; At the beach and pool area it worked quite nicely with friendly service, but in the evenings, it is very slow and not that attentive.
One curiosity is that if you arrive on Sunday, your check-in time is at 9pm! I understand that they try to offer sunday leavers an extra day at beach, but for the ones arriving, is a real drag! Nobody wants to drive from Sao Paulo at dark, and it would be nice to at least to have settled down and showered before dinner. I would suggest that if they have people arriving on Sunday, give late check-out for leaving ones until 3 or 4pm, but let arriving guest to check in at 6.pm. At our arrival we spent time at the pool bar, bored and tired, and requested wi-fi code: we got it four hours later, after several requests!
The hotel has a spa services, but unfortunately I cannot recommend them, since I had a very bad experience with a rough treatment. We requested next day a doctor, which never arrived.
Also be aware of insects, the bites are itchy and the marks last long.
Despite of these problems, the place has lot of potential and in general we had a great stay enjoying their premises. The management should pay more attention to keep their service level constant and improve the quality of the food, instead of complacently referring to their awards whenever there is a problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    199
    69
    22
    18
See reviews for
135
622
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I am not sure if it worth the title of "Best Beach Hotel" in South America, but it is regally a great hotel! Nice location, great service, awesome food! On reservations ask for a room on the beach side of the hotel (there are rooms on both sides of the road. On the "other" side you must cross the road to get to the beach, pool, restaurants...
Service at the swimming pool isn't very good, but its great at the beach!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went to this wonderful hotel for 4 days, and we loved it. To get there we flew to Sao Paulo and took the bus to Sao Sebastiao, later the ferry to the island and then a taxi from the port. It took a while but it´s very easy to reach.
We stayed in the rooms at the other side of the road, and they were great and it wasn´t an issue to cross the street to reach the hotel.
The hotel is so beautiful, laid back and relaxed that it´s difficult to forget. Breakfast was a feast, and if we return we would take at least one extra meal in the package, because there´s not a lot of things around of the hotel.
In addition to spending the day in the beach we visited the cachoeiras and they were like a dream.
My only "complaint" is that they should work a little more in having more staff that speaks English.
I would love to return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We visited Ilhabela on recommendation by some friends who live in Sao Paulo and found this hotel via Trip Advisor. We were delighted with the hotel. Fantastic boutique bed rooms with an amazing view of the beach. The staff were brilliant - friendly and helpful - particularly as Brits who cannot speak any Portuguese. The Spa was great and the private beach and facilities were beautiful. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed at the DPNY twice this year and It sure is the best beach hotel in Brazil. I have been to the northeast (Salvador, Fortaleza, Fernando de Noronha, Recife, etc), but this southern hotel is by far the best of all that I have visited. The rooms are very fine decorated, with a very comfortable king size bed. The first time room service was only till 2am, but now it is 24h. As the hotel is about 3h drive from Sao Paulo, we arrived late at night, but could still enjoy a bottle of champagne in our room. The island is not crowded because you have to take a ferry boat (with your car on it) to get there. I find this a positive point because I hate crowded places. The hotel is right at the beach (as you can see in many pictures). Service is excellent. Breakfast with champagne is awesome! Lounge music all over the place, including at the beach. You can lay down in many of the bed around and have a bottle of cool white wine while enjoying the ocean. Don't go alone, this place is mainly for couples or families. There is also a fancy restaurant at night, with a great selection of French, Italian, Portuguese, American and Chilean wines. Really worth the trip.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the rooms. They are all great. You will NOT spend much time there. The beach c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have been 3 times in this hotel and it is really one of the best beach hotels in Brazil (Notably, we must consider that our hotels in Brazil are overall terrible). For a beach hotel in Brazil, this hotel is great, the rooms are simply perfect and breakfast is very good. Spa is nice, as well the swimming pool. The beach (praia do curral) is quite nice and calm. The overall services are quite nice and well performed. However, considering all my visits to the hotel since the first time some years ago, I must say that the restaurant got worse as compared to the first time and the overall personnel service is still limited, although I could observe an increase in the number of personnel available in the beach and restaurants. The services are overall slow and most of personnel is not adequately prepared, this should be improved as well as the food provided by the restaurant. Since it is a difficult place to run or do some exercise, I would really recommend to build a fitness center, I really do not understand why they do not have one. My overall evaluation of this hotel is great, especially considering that the overall quality of hotels in Brazil is not good. Good cost/benefit relationship by using the special packages.

Room Tip: All rooms from the main building are nice. Save some money without loose quality by choosing the fiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Where to start? Should start by everything that did not work to finish on a positiv note.

My husband and i wished to spend a week in a beautiful place and relax, just being on a beautiful beach,read...
Well, first, be aware that its not a BEACH Hotel its a CLUB HOTEL. You have music from early morning to late at night...we had to call front desk many nights to ask them to stop the music, since it was as if the music was played inside our room.

There isn't any moment of tranquility in that hotel.

They have long chairs on the beach, which could be nice, if the matress did not have cotton pieces to put over...it rains every day and they leave these cotton pieces there, its quite disturbing and disgusting.
And they have no organisation so everythg you ask for takes an hour to be done.

Breakfast only starts at 8am, which is surprising but would not have bothered me if it did start at 8am, nothing was ready before 8.20am.
As you be able to see on the pics i posted, breakfast was made more of flies than food, it was really disgusting.
we had to complain every morning to the people there but unless you call for a manager nothing is done.

Worst was diner, BE VERY CAREFUL. If you have a package with diner included, beverages are not included and every night they will ask you to sign for the bill. Watch out because most of the staff will already put a tip on ur bill which is supposed to be at the client's discretion.

And they put the tip on the whole diner amount, which means they calculate it over a diner that you have already paid.
And one night that we had diner offered, they run after us in our room to make us sign a bill which was only the tip! unbelievable!!

We had dead cocroaches under the bed which means they dont clean hiddden places.
These are the main problems, i dont bother writing about the small ones,wont have enough space!

POSITIV POINTS:

The Staff, is very welcoming , they have no training at all to be able to solve the problems but they try.

The management team: Guilherme , Laeticia( hope i spell it right),Ricardo, they were all wonderful and very very helpful!!
without them we would have leave the hotel onday one!

The location of the hotel is wonderful, magic, the view from the beach is amazing, like heaven!

Our room (60) was good, big enough with a huge terrasse that gave on the swimming pool and the beach. fantastic view.
We had a jaccuzi inside the room which was really nice.

The BED is one of the best argument they have, for it was sooo comfy!

We wont be returning because its not the kind of place we look for, and its not worth the price we paid...hope it will one day!

Room Tip: room 60 has jaccuzi but is above swimming pool, and has an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DPNYBeachHotel, Gerente geral at DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Google Translation
Chère Madame Céline,

Nous vous remercions d’avoir partagé vos commentaires, cela nous permettra certainement d’améliorer nos services afin d’offrir la meilleure prestation possible à nos clients.

Le concept de l’hôtel est d’offrir une atmosphère parfaite à tous nos visiteurs :
Une architecture moderne
Une belle vue sur la plage
Du confort
De la gastronomie
Et de la musique

En ce qui concerne notre musique, nous avons déjà lancé 4 CDs, et c’est la raison pour laquelle beaucoup de clients nous connaissent.
Nous avons des DJs professionnels qui travaillent sur le développement de la « deep house », et qui mènent des recherches mondiales dans ce domaine.

Le DPNY Beach Hôtel est réputé pour offrir une escapade romantique aux couples, dans une ambiance paisible et incomparable.
Pendant l’été, il y a certains week-ends où l’hôtel est un peu plus animé, mais offrir la tranquillité à nos clients reste toujours notre objectif.

Nous avons un nouveau gestionnaire, responsable du programme de consolidation de l’’équipe.
L’hôtel soutient les nouveaux professionnels et valorise la main-d’œuvre locale.
Aujourd’hui nous employons plus de 170 travailleurs d’Ilha Bela et de la région, et nous sommes fiers de participer de la formation de jeunes dans leur première profession.
L’hôtel a développé un programme qui reçoit environ 150 stagiaires chaque année, ayant pour but leur préparation au marché du travail.
Nous sommes conscients que la professionnalisation requiert un développement de compétences professionnelles particulières, des entraînements et une beaucoup de surveillance. C’est pourquoi nous avons un personnel engagé dans ce projet, y compris nos gestionnaires, comme Guilherme et Leticia, qui vous avez connu.

Nous nous excusons pour tout inconvénient pendant votre séjour.
Nous vous assurons que nous travaillons fort afin qu’aucune de ces situations ne se reproduisent plus.

Nous serions vraiment heureux de pouvoir vous recevoir de nouveau, pour vous montrer la réelle expérience DPNY, l’expérience que vous et tous nos clients méritent.

Nous sommes à votre entière disposition pour tout renseignement complémentaire.
Nous vous prions d’agréer, Madame Céline, l’expression de nos sincères salutations.

Heiko Obermuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Av. Jose Pacheco do Nascimento, 7668 | Praia do Curral, Ilhabela, State of Sao Paulo 7668, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ilhabela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ilhabela
#1 Family Hotel in Ilhabela
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ilhabela
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ilhabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa Ilhabela, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.