We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altiplano Hotel Boutique

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Altiplano Hotel Boutique to your Saves list
Altiplano Hotel Boutique
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Belgrano #1640 | Barrio Fatima, Tarija 1000, Bolivia (Formerly Residencial Altiplano)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tarija
Helston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a spectacular find and not what we expected.........the rooms are spacious with a huge bed and a wonderful en suite shower room with all sorts of quality toiletries . The room come complete with many nice touches...bottled water, large television, alarm clock, wonderful fluffy dressing gowns and a wall safe.....AND NOT TO BE FORGOTTEN.........YOU CAN FLUSH TOILET PAPER DOWN THE LOO !!...Is there another hotel in Bolivia where this is possible ??
The owners are a delightful couple from one of our ex colonies (!) and nothing seems to be too much trouble .......Can thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
46
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chulumani, Bolivia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was our second time here, was so nice to be back. Our hosts Martin and Luise always make us feel at home. We stayed for 5 nights and had a very comfortable stay. This time we had the red room with the jacuzzi. There are very few places In Bolivia like this B&B. The minute you step inside you feel welcomed and at home and at ease! Everything is clean and pleasing to the eye. You will love how easy it is to get around Tarija and from the Atilplano you can get around very easy by foot, by taxi or by minibus. We highly recommend Altiplano.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Owners were super friendly and helpful. They showed me where to catch busses and suggested some places to see. Breakfast was delicious, however I would have liked some more protein, like eggs or meat. But minor detail. Loved the place. Clean and comfortable.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I spent New Year with my mom, aunt, and sisters. We split the grouo and stayed in two rooms, for two nights. This place is beautiful, and the owners (Martin and Luisa) are excellent hosts. We found this place convenient to walk to the Plaza Principal to tour Tarija's main attractions. We will definitely come back again!

Room Tip: Check on the online specials, they have good discounts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Hainaut, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We just booked two nights in the red room, with the jacuzzi. We thought we'd look around Tarija and try another place for the next two nights. We searched the web a bit, saw a few decent-looking places in the downtown area. We were fortunate to be able to get two more nights in the blue room. Being 185 cm, I really enjoyed the spacious showers with the enormous shower heads that are around two meters high.
The breakfast was consistently good. I loved the mixture of nuts and hearty cereals.
We enjoyed Martin's tip to go see the wineries in the southern region.
Martin and Luisa have really paid attention to the details in making their little B and B JUST RIGHT.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

The Altiplano Hotel Boutique is situated between the airport and the town centre on Av. Belgrano and is a short 1.5km from the Plaza Principal. The Altiplano is owned and run by a very friendly couple, Martin and Luisa who hail from New Zealand. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms are excellently appointed with comfortable beds, modern bathroom equipment, air conditioning, TV (if you really need it!) and free WiFi. Breakfast is a very healthy continental style with fruit, yoghurt, bread, marmalade and a bottomless coffee pot.
All in all it was more like staying with friends than being in an anonymous B&B. 5 stars - well deserved.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Clean rooms and nice lounge area, lovely breakfast with fresh fruit and variety, charming decorations. Amazing jaccuzi tub in red room! Relaxing downstairs courtyard patio with water feature and grill-area available. Lovely cultural feel with modern commodities and style. Nice place to escape!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Altiplano Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altiplano Hotel Boutique

Address: Avenida Belgrano #1640 | Barrio Fatima, Tarija 1000, Bolivia (Formerly Residencial Altiplano)
Location: Bolivia > Tarija Department > Tarija
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tarija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Altiplano Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altiplano Hotel Boutique is a small private hotel that provides a high standard of bed and breakfast accommodation reflecting the authentic feel of Bolivia. The 4 guestrooms rooms are furnished simply, yet are stylish. Each room is equipped with comfortable beds, quality linen, bathrobes, a hairdryer, cable TV, and WiFi internet access. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms and air-conditioning. The Red Room has a spa bath and rain shower.Our rates include breakfast, free WIFI internet access, and complementary bottled water.In addition to the downstairs courtyard guests have access to a roof-top terrace, and guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Altiplano Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altiplano Hotel Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.