We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Authentic and Good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antonio's Restaurant

Antonio's Restaurant
267 Coggeshall St, New Bedford, MA 02746-1922
508-990-3636
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 233 Restaurants in New Bedford
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Fall River, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very Authentic and Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Went to Antonio's this past week and although I had been nice before it had been some time sago and I did not remember it all that well. Obviously when it comes to Portuguese food New Bedford / Fall River are the besting Antonio's is no exception. I found it to be a little bit more upscale than some of the other restaurants and the prices were just a bit higher as well . Certainly still in the affordable range jus a bit higher. I had the meat skewer which was like a kabob on the grill and it was fantastic. As was the potatoes and rice that came with it. The shrimp croquettes were excellent and at $1.25 each I could not pass them up. I would highly recommend Antonio's as the food is authenticly excellent, the atmosphere has a local feel , and it got an A in my book.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    43
    7
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Plentiful portions of Portuguese Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is one of my all-time favorite restaurants. I have eaten here on multiple occasions and brought friends and family members -all of whom agree that this is one of the best Portuguese restaurants around. The waitresses are no-nonsense, decor is simple and it is cash only. The menu is a carnivore's delight with plenty of Portuguese meat, fish and seafood specialties to choose from. Portions are huge - I shared the Pork Ribatejana with my husband and we had enough left over for dinner for our family of four. The fresh Portuguese bread and pops (rolls) are the best. Prices can't be beat for the amount of food you are served here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“never leave hungry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great Portuguese food served abundently. Always take some home with you. I had the grill salmon, 2 good potions of salmon, perfertly grilled, w /fried potatoe chips, and a huge serving of brocoli. The wife had chicken antonio, huge platter, served w/ fried potatoe chips,shrimp, big chunks of tender chicken,served in their savory portugese broth, half of this came home. Service is very prompt, and their red sanquia is the best around. They DO NOT accept credit cards.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Mediocre, bland food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Food was OK at best, actually pretty bland for a Portuguese cuisine. The prices were very reasonable, which dulled the pain of the blandness. I would not go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“So far so good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have visited twice for lunch. We have been exploring the appetizer menu so far. We found the sauce for the Spanish mussels pretty bland but loved the sauce on the shrimp Mozambique. Loved the batter on the calamari but found the squid rings a little tough. Enjoyed the croquettes and the stuffed quahog. There are a lot of items on the menu I want to try. We will be back for dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antonio's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Antonio's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antonio's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.