We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freestone's City Grill

Freestone's City Grill
41 William St, New Bedford, MA 02740-6224
508-993-7477
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 235 Restaurants in New Bedford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
590 reviews 590 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Freestone's has great food, especially the seafood, and great service. Plates are plentiful and reasonably priced. You may walk in and have low-expectations because of the decor, but the food is top-notch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    58
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orleans, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Ton of Food at Bargain Prices + Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

There is nothing particularly inspired about the food here, but you get an awful lot of it for not much money. Also a full bar with a very respectable variety of beers on tap (they will even bring you a couple of free samples to help you decide!) Extremely attentive service. We ate there for lunch after a visit to the whaling museum -- it is right across the street from the visitor's center. My wife had a cup of fish chowder and I had a cup of clam chowder, both made in the house. They were both very thick with cream and quite rich, although I would have preferred to find a few more clams and some potato chunks with a little texture in mine. My wife followed with an open faced Reuben sandwich (huge -- she could only eat some of it), and I had an appetizer portion of fried Calamari. Good thing it was not a dinner sized portion, since there was more than I could eat in spite of the fact that it was good and I am not thin! Overall, the bill for beer, chowders, and two entrees plus tax came to about $30. before tip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Place for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stopped by the Freestone after a recommendation from a park service guide. It did not disappoint us. The atmosphere was old pub style, just like one would expect in a historic town.
The fish and chip lunch was a good size, fresh and tasty.
The 1/2 roast beef sandwich and cup of fish chowder was great.
Sometimes fish chowder can taste sort of fishy, this had a fresh taste that was light and delicious.
We had the Naukabout draft that went well with our selections

Service was quick and friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Besides the good food, history surrounds you.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The fresh scallops were slightly overcooked, but still plump and juicy. And the cup of fish chowder was delicious. This was our first time at Freestone’s while visiting friends who live in New Bedford and who highly recommended this place. We were not disappointed. While waiting for your meal, pick up one of the laminated history flyers and read about the environs. This placed was rescued from a dark and boarded over interior where only thugs would have dared to enter. It has been fully restored with loving attention to detail.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Picturesque and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our party of four arrived around 3:30 on a Saturday afternoon and was seated immediately. Everyone's meal was delicious, and the atmosphere was so picturesque and cozy. The antiques added just the right touch, adding to the historical atmosphere. Our waitress was attentive and helpful. We had fish chowder and a small Caesar salad, chicken parmesan sandwich, Hawaiian chicken sandwich and the Oriental Turkey salad. Yummy, yummy, yummy! Will definitely return on our next trip to New Bedford. (Even the bathroom seems of the time period, with the tiniest sink "eva"!!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freestone's City Grill also viewed

 

Been to Freestone's City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freestone's City Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.