We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Davy's Locker Restaurant - CLOSED

Davy's Locker Restaurant
1480 E Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford, MA 02744-2299
(508) 992-7359
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Grill, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: 340 seat, Award Winning Seafood Restaurant Voted SouthCoast's Best 11 Consecutive Years. Located directly on Buzzards Bay with a spectacular view of Butler's Flats Lighthouse & The Islands. Tiki Bar Opens May 15th! Open til midnight!Parties up to 100 for your special occasion. Featuring live entertainment & special event concerts on occasion. Davy's also features a 70 seat Waterfront Tiki Bar open May 15-Oct 15, as well as new Upper Deck Tiki Bar (40 seats, open seasonally)Menu features over 150 items boasting the New Bedford area's freshest seafood, certified black angus beef & poultry dishes prepared upscale as well as traditional New England. Bar features 101 Martinis, 21 varieties of Sam Adams, & Skinny Girl Margaritas.Accreditations: SouthCoast's Best Seafood Restaurant 11 years (Standard Times readers) Best Seafood Shack between Boston, Providence & Falmouth SouthCoast Best Seafood (Cape Cod Life Magazine) AAA Double Diamond Award (04-Present)
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great seafood Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have been here twice and I am ready to go again. Best clam chowder ever. Good food and nice views.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    12
    2
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mattapoisett, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Consistently great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I and a couple of friends have been going to Davy's for years. The decor has changed over the years, but the seafood is consistently good. The menu is very extensive and I haven't had anything yet that I was not happy with. My husband swears their clam chowder is the best. I am a salmon lover and they prepare it several ways. We recently had dinner there and they had added on to the menu with more gourmet choices. Excellent! We also love their desserts. If you don't like seafood you will still be happy there. There are plenty of choices and they have good steaks, too.

If you are looking for a place with great choices, consistent preparation, good service and on the water - try Davy's Locker in New Bedford.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

basic food, one of most beatiful areas in New Bedford, overlooking the harbor. nice fish chowder. basic food, but worth the experience of visiting one of New Bedford's more recognizable restaurants and locations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“my favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

although it's been around for years, i just discoverer davy's recently. i eat out often and have to say by far davy's is my favorite restaurant. the menu selection is huge anything i've ever chosen to order has been outstanding. the chef takes time to prepare each meal but it's completely worth the wait. perfection takes time and each meal is perfect. i love the atmosphere, they have huge fish tanks with beautiful fish swimming about. it's the perfect place to go for a lovely meal in beautiful surroundings. right on the water the summer offers outdoor dining with entertainment on the weekends. the cooler months indoor dining is very inviting and cozy. perfect year round dining experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
“dinner at Davey's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

food was outstanding and the service was quick and atmosphere was enjoyable. We sat outwside it was warm and lovely.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davy's Locker Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Davy's Locker Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.