We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this museum and it just gets better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Bedford Whaling National Historical Park

New Bedford Whaling National Historical Park
33 William Street, New Bedford, MA 02740
+1 508-996-4095
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 19 Attractions in New Bedford
Type: Historic Sites, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: National Park right in historic area of New Bedford, MA. Address is for the Visitor Center.
Marion, Massachusetts, USA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Love this museum and it just gets better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have been going to the NBWM since I was a child when it just had one building, now with all the additions, the whale carcases and historical exhibits this is indeed the best museum on Whaling I have ever visited. It is New Bedford's premium attraction and it is a must see if you are in the area.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
948 reviews 948 reviews
495 attraction reviews
Reviews in 278 cities Reviews in 278 cities
420 helpful votes 420 helpful votes
“Excellent presentation of whaling in New England”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Lots of great exhibits. Excellent junior ranger program for the kids. Great walking tour around historic district. The amount of money made, spent and lost in the city is amazing! Spend some time here and absorb it all. This was once THE PLACE for whaling.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great learning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

lots too see about the history of whaling. I do recommend taking advantage of a guide, who adds much to the event.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acushnet, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great place to visit to Experience New bedford's History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Walk the cobblestone streets, see the historic architecture,visit the Whaling Museum, The Arthur Moniz Gallery, The Visitors Center and the shops and restaurants.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Rich in history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Ok, I must admit I'm not into the whole whaling history scene.(yes there is one). I did really enjoy this museum. If you live in the Southcoast region some of our local librarys have discount passes you can sign out for you visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Bedford Whaling National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to New Bedford Whaling National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Bedford Whaling National Historical Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.