We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spur of the moment trip on a bright warmish sunny weekend.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   185 MacArthur Drive, New Bedford, MA 02740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Bedford
Westford, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spur of the moment trip on a bright warmish sunny weekend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I live in Northern Massachusetts and decided to do an overnight to see one of my friend's daughter who just began living and working in New Bedford. We went down and stayed here and had a water view room. The staff was amazing and very friendly... I was at the coffee station and one of the employees was restacking the coffee cups and just began a nice conversation with me and it was obvious she was genuine and sincere. The rooms are spotless and are nice in size. The beds are extremely comfortable with a bathroom generous in size. It was delightful. We checked in on Saturday afternoon and had awesome chocolate chip cookies as an added feature and not forgetting the cheery front desk staff. The complimentary breakfast was great with many healthy choices.

Room Tip: I recommend the water view all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford. All of our staff members take great pride in their positions and I'm happy to see that it shows during their guest interactions. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sara Haslam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    65
    24
    3
    6
See reviews for
60
45
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The wife and I were attending a family members 60 birthday party and didn't want to drive back to Rhode Island after it, so I booked a room at Fairfield. It being only 2 miles away from the restaurant made it a great choice, but the accommodations made it a awesome choice! The free breakfast and the great staff just made the stay that much more enjoyable. And the view of the harbor is a us too!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford. We are pleased that we were able to make your family weekend a comfortable one! Please visit us again next time you are in the area.

Sara Haslam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed for first time at Fairfield Inn for Wedding.Clean rooms, great staff. Good location. Would recommend for a stay in New Bedford.Breakfast included with our room. Staff gave us great suggestions for local attractions.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford Ma. The entire staff is glad to hear you had an enjoyable experience in New Bedford. If you are in the area again, please come and see us!

Sara Haslam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel is very close to the historic part of the city, an easy walk to the Whaling Museum and other New Bedford attractions. Good place for family vacation stay.
It's also a decent hotel with comfortable beds and a decent breakfast selection.

Room Tip: Can get a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford. Downtown is filled with history and I'm happy you were able to enjoy some of that. Please visit again in the future.

Sara Haslam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Overall, this is a very nice hotel. The staff are very helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the location is great for this area. My biggest issue is that they don't enforce the no-smoking policy effectively. That's the reason I marked low scores for cleanliness, sleep quality, and rooms.
My colleagues and I have issues weekly with cigarette smoke coming though the vents. My last stay was 2 weeks ago, and I had to change rooms upon check-in because the room smelled so bad. Other colleagues have had to change rooms mid-stay, but most of the time we just deal with it because it's such a hassle to change rooms. We have brought this up weekly to the staff, but they seem to feel helpless to do anything about it. Very frustrating!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford. We appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests. Your positive feedback about the staff is great to hear. As far as smoking, we try our best to enforce the non-smoking policy. All guests who smoke are charged a fee of $250, and they are told about the policy at check in. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any further issues.

Sara Haslam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Very comfortable bed, clean, good service. Breakfast unremarkable. Gym and pool are small, but nice enough. Good place to stay for business or family. Close to town and wharf. Good, easy walking distance to several great restaurants. No fridge, which was surprising for a hotel of this caliber.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near elevator and stairwells, as really loud hallway noise can be heard inside. Rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad your stay with the Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford was a comfortable one. Fridges are available for our guests upon request, so on your next stay, please let us know you require one and it will be put in your room.

Sara Haslam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here on business trip for 2 nights and was extremely impressed. From check in which was extremely late as i was delayed I was greeted warmly and politely and directed to a very clean and comfortable room.

Breakfast was usual choice for Fairfield but for me more than sufficient to cover majority of tastes and requirements.

Very impressed also with location overlooking the harbour which is great way to begin your day if you can manage room with harbour view.

Also very nice restaurant more or less straight over from hotel.

All in all great stay and look forward to return visit when next in area.

Room Tip: Harbour View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford. Our harbor view rooms are great, and I'm happy you were able to enjoy one. We hope to see you in the future.

Sara Haslam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford

Address: 185 MacArthur Drive, New Bedford, MA 02740
Location: United States > Massachusetts > New Bedford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites New Bedford
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford Hotel New Bedford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.