We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location on the waterfront in a real working town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   185 MacArthur Drive, New Bedford, MA 02740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent location on the waterfront in a real working town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights in Sep 2013. We very pleased with our choice. The studio room was roomy for the two of us and our 2.5 year old son.
The car park is good, the breakfast excellent and the staff are really helpful and friendly.
The hotel is on the waterfront overlooking the town's fishing fleet so there is a real feeling that this is a working toen with plenty of character.
We dined in Freestones City Grill which is only a short walk away.
The hotel is a great and economical base for exploring Cape Cod, Rhode Island and southern Massachusettes.
We thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our hotel is in a great area for exploring not only New Bedford, but surrounding towns as well. It is great to hear that you were able to appreciate the working waterfront across form the hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    79
    25
    4
    6
See reviews for
71
53
7
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The reception staff were very nice, we had a room on the 3rd floor which is not considered a port view but we had a lovely view. The room was clean and quiet spacious. There was complimentary tea & coffee all day and yummy cookies at 4pm. The breakfast was good and served in disposable cups and plates. Over all I would go back to the hotel as its close to everything and you can park in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We appreciate your feedback. The staff is thrilled to hear your stay was enjoyable, and we hope to welcome you back in the futrue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel while I was in town for a funeral and a family reunion. It was clean, modern, well equipped, and the staff was very accommodating and friendly. I highly recommend the Fairfield. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We recognize that you have many choices when selecting a hotel, and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A pretty typical business traveller hotel. Good staff, clean and comfortable. There is no safe in the room, but otherwise equipped with all the essentials.

In terms of eating there are only vending snacks available to eat. The are eateries within short driving distance away. I dint understand why they don't have a pop up bar in the lounge area.

Breakfast is simple but adequate with fresh fruit available. However.... You are provided with plastic plates and cutlery ! And not even good quality ones at that.... The cheapest and nastiest kids party issue plastic. Good luck trying to eat ! This is really unacceptable for a hotel charging so much !

Room Tip: Water view !
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Since we are a limited service hotel, we do not have eateries on property. There are quite a few within a short distance, which I'm glad to see you took advantage of. As far as our plastic cutlery, I apologize it wasn't up to your standards. We hope you visit us again if you are ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My family of 4 stayed here for 5 nights last week just tagging along on my husband's business trip. The hotel was clean, quiet, and so convenient! I didn't have a car but my two children (under 3) and I had a lovely time in NB.
The city shuttle is $1 to ride all day and comes by the hotel every 20 minutes. The pier, the historic area, and downtown are also a short walk away from the hotel. I wasn't expecting much but there was so much to do in the area! The shuttle took us to the Buttonwood Park Zoo, it also goes to the beaches, Fort Taber and downtown.
Across the street is the State Pier where we took the speed ferry to Martha's Vineyard for a day trip. There is also a lovely one hour harbor tour on a boat you can take right across from the hotel. The Waterfront Grill directly across the hotel was an awesome restaurant if you get a chance to try it!
The standard breakfast was included and was just fine. We enjoyed when they had free cookies and fresh water out for the guests at the front desk.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the harbor! Lovely view of the fishing boats and pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of many of the great ammenities we have to offer. New Bedford is a great city, and it's gret to hear your family was able to experience it. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is on the newer side, and really quite well done. The front desk management people are on top of their game and you can see why this place works so well. Good property, good location (by the water) and excellent rooms make for a potent combination.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled that we were able to make your stay a great one, and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to New Hampshire. I had been to New Bedford, MA early in the summer and thought it would make a perfect stop over for the night. Lots of history, good places to eat and a cool town to walk around. The hotel is in a great location to walk to the little downtown/historic area. Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. We were initially placed in a king room that had an adjoining room, and I could hear the other guests so we asked to move (right away) and they accommodated us. They serve a hot breakfast with eggs and waffles, in addition they have hard boiled eggs, yogurt, toast, muffins and cereal. We did not use the pool but there is a pool!

Room Tip: You can request a room with a view of the water. If you want a king room you might want to request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds like you were able to enjoy some of the local New Bedford culture, which is always great to hear. The staff is always happy to hear when one of our guests has a great stay, so thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Bedford
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bedford / Fairhaven
1.0 mi away
Seaport Inn and Marina
Seaport Inn and Marina
#2 of 3 in Fairhaven
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
3.7 mi away
Residence Inn New Bedford Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dartmouth Inn
BEST WESTERN Dartmouth Inn
#2 of 5 in North Dartmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
13.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Fall River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford

Address: 185 MacArthur Drive, New Bedford, MA 02740
Location: United States > Massachusetts > New Bedford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites New Bedford
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford Hotel New Bedford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.