We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   185 MacArthur Drive, New Bedford, MA 02740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in New Bedford
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The reception staff were very nice, we had a room on the 3rd floor which is not considered a port view but we had a lovely view. The room was clean and quiet spacious. There was complimentary tea & coffee all day and yummy cookies at 4pm. The breakfast was good and served in disposable cups and plates. Over all I would go back to the hotel as its close to everything and you can park in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We appreciate your feedback. The staff is thrilled to hear your stay was enjoyable, and we hope to welcome you back in the futrue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    49
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
45
34
4
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel while I was in town for a funeral and a family reunion. It was clean, modern, well equipped, and the staff was very accommodating and friendly. I highly recommend the Fairfield. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We recognize that you have many choices when selecting a hotel, and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A pretty typical business traveller hotel. Good staff, clean and comfortable. There is no safe in the room, but otherwise equipped with all the essentials.

In terms of eating there are only vending snacks available to eat. The are eateries within short driving distance away. I dint understand why they don't have a pop up bar in the lounge area.

Breakfast is simple but adequate with fresh fruit available. However.... You are provided with plastic plates and cutlery ! And not even good quality ones at that.... The cheapest and nastiest kids party issue plastic. Good luck trying to eat ! This is really unacceptable for a hotel charging so much !

Room Tip: Water view !
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Since we are a limited service hotel, we do not have eateries on property. There are quite a few within a short distance, which I'm glad to see you took advantage of. As far as our plastic cutlery, I apologize it wasn't up to your standards. We hope you visit us again if you are ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My family of 4 stayed here for 5 nights last week just tagging along on my husband's business trip. The hotel was clean, quiet, and so convenient! I didn't have a car but my two children (under 3) and I had a lovely time in NB.
The city shuttle is $1 to ride all day and comes by the hotel every 20 minutes. The pier, the historic area, and downtown are also a short walk away from the hotel. I wasn't expecting much but there was so much to do in the area! The shuttle took us to the Buttonwood Park Zoo, it also goes to the beaches, Fort Taber and downtown.
Across the street is the State Pier where we took the speed ferry to Martha's Vineyard for a day trip. There is also a lovely one hour harbor tour on a boat you can take right across from the hotel. The Waterfront Grill directly across the hotel was an awesome restaurant if you get a chance to try it!
The standard breakfast was included and was just fine. We enjoyed when they had free cookies and fresh water out for the guests at the front desk.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the harbor! Lovely view of the fishing boats and pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of many of the great ammenities we have to offer. New Bedford is a great city, and it's gret to hear your family was able to experience it. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is on the newer side, and really quite well done. The front desk management people are on top of their game and you can see why this place works so well. Good property, good location (by the water) and excellent rooms make for a potent combination.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled that we were able to make your stay a great one, and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to New Hampshire. I had been to New Bedford, MA early in the summer and thought it would make a perfect stop over for the night. Lots of history, good places to eat and a cool town to walk around. The hotel is in a great location to walk to the little downtown/historic area. Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. We were initially placed in a king room that had an adjoining room, and I could hear the other guests so we asked to move (right away) and they accommodated us. They serve a hot breakfast with eggs and waffles, in addition they have hard boiled eggs, yogurt, toast, muffins and cereal. We did not use the pool but there is a pool!

Room Tip: You can request a room with a view of the water. If you want a king room you might want to request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds like you were able to enjoy some of the local New Bedford culture, which is always great to hear. The staff is always happy to hear when one of our guests has a great stay, so thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Mountain Falls, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We came from CO for our 25th anniversary and stayed at the Fairfield two nights while on our way to Maine. The king room we reserved was sold out so we were upgraded to a suite. The suite was large, cleaned and had a great view of the harbor. The staff was very accommodating with recommendations on where to eat (the seafood restaurant across the street from the hotel was awesome and so was the Pasta House in Fairhaven). The one and only complaint my husband had was the turkey sausage and turkey Canadian bacon at breakfast as he prefers pork. Other than that, it was a great hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy we were able to help make your anniversary trip an enjoyable one! The turkey products at breakfast are a new healthy option that was recently added. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford

Address: 185 MacArthur Drive, New Bedford, MA 02740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > New Bedford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in New Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites New Bedford
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford Hotel New Bedford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.