We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   185 MacArthur Drive, New Bedford, MA 02740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Bedford
Connecticut, USA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Checked in on Sunday with plans to attend the Portuguese Feast. Decided to walk the 2.5 miles, the front desk was very accommodating helping us with the directions we needed to get there. From there on whenever we called down or walked by they remember us and what we were there for. I think Judy was the one who helped us the most, but they were all great. The lobby was very appealing and rooms equally so. If you are in need of a higher style room, please note we did not have a safe or refrigerator. The room #418 was very clean though when we left I did point out one area which needed improvement, and they were appreciative. The room was $167 which I think was very reasonable for what we got. We received a reduced charge due to a booking error by phone, in full disclosure, but the $167 is what they would have charged us normally. A free buffet breakfast had all the usual selections and was good. At 9 AM on a Monday however, we had to wait briefly for a table, it was so crowded. One thing to note is this hotel is surrounded on both sides by roads, one less used, and one a highway. Facing the rear side we had the highway which at 4 AM got a little loud from traffic noise. The town was very quite but clean and safe to walk. We would use this hotel for sure in the future if in the area.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, choose the side away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Madeira Feast is a big draw to the area during that weekend, and we accommodate many people who attend it yearly. Since it is so busy, our breakfast area does sometimes get crowded, and we apologize for the delay in finding a table. We are happy you enjoyed the hotel, and hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    58
    21
    3
    6
See reviews for
54
39
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

First of all, I must commend the warm and receptive nature of the staff working there -- all were attentive and accommodating. I want to say Wanda at the front desk was especially warm and welcoming; she went above and beyond to ensure my we had everything we need to make our stay comfortable. The hotel is very nicely decorated both in the lobby and in the room. I used the fitness center which was more than adequate and quite convenient. Beds are very comfortable. However, for a mid-range level hotel, I felt the rooms were smaller than expected especially given the higher-end daily rate I was charged (I had a King Suite). Also, either they have no a/c in the lobby and other common areas, or it was not working. Regardless, it was especially uncomfortable when coming down in the morning for the breakfast (It was July); it was actually cooler to take breakfast outside on a small patio adjacent to the breakfast area.

Room Tip: (1) Negotiate a better price for the room, so it fits the value. (2) Make sure you have a view of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Your review of our property is greatly appreciated. We use all information gathered from such reviews to improve, so thank you! We did have a small AC issue in the lobby, but it has since been corrected. I'm glad that our staff was able to provide you with great service, and your stay was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn, New Bedford MA for three (3) nights during the beginning of the 4th of July holiday. Started a little rough when we arrived past midnight and they put us in a 3rd floor room right across from the elevators (and the room smelled funny). My Marriott Platinum preferences are "highest floor, away from elevators". I was told that they had no other king bed rooms. I asked if my preferences were even considered and if there were 30 other Platinum members who arrived before me and received their preferences? I was then told that my displeasure would be noted. Within minutes of getting into the same room, I received a call from the Front Desk that they were going to upgrade us to a one bedroom suite on the 5th (highest) floor and more away from the elevators. We moved and the rest of our stay was very nice. The location of the FI was very good for our purposes (going to the Upper Cape on 7/4 and visiting relatives a couple of towns over the next couple of days). We didn't visit the Whaling Museum (everyone said it was well worth it), but we decided we would visit when the weather wasn't so great). The hotel is very clean with a nice pool and spa. I would definitely recommend it when in this area.

Room Tip: Rooms in front of the hotel could get a view of the harbor - which, I am told, was once the home of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We always try to meet all of the requests of our guests, especially our Platinum members. It is difficult to do at times when the hotel is full, but I am pleased to hear the staff was able to provide you with a suitable room that met your needs. The staff would like the chance to welcome you again in the future if you are in New Bedford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Attended a wedding in New bedford... Didn't. Want to impose on family so we make our destination here .. Was so happy I made the choice .. Close to everything and my family .. Enough though we just showered and slept here it was a four star ...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for chosing to stay with us! Please visit again if you are ever in the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is clean and inviting. It is wonderful that New Bedford now has hotel right in the city, making it easy to walk to sites of interest and restaurants. The staff were especially attentive and courteous, going out of their way to make things work for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is great to have a hotel in New Bedford! Our staff is great, and I'm happy to hear you were able to experience that first hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Easy to access from I-95.Sparkling clean; friendly, helpful staff;comfortable beds; nice breakfast; coffee and tea in room; and close to historic attractions of New Bedford. Be sure to try the Waterfront Grille right across the street. Food is good but the views of harbor and fishing boat fleets are even better. Eat outside, if weather permits. I would stay there again if I am in the area and need a stop-over.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased that your stay was enjoyable, and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is right accross the street from the harbor. Lots of fishing boats docked there with much character. Rooms were clean and nice size. Staff friendly. Waterfront restaurant accross street from hotel is very good. All in all, a pleasant stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are excited that you were able to appreciate our wonderful working harbor. Our staff is always happy to hear that our guests enjoy their stay with us. We'll see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford

Address: 185 MacArthur Drive, New Bedford, MA 02740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > New Bedford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford Hotel New Bedford
Fairfield Inn And Suites New Bedford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.