We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...just hope the construction ends soon!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   185 MacArthur Drive, New Bedford, MA 02740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Bedford
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location...just hope the construction ends soon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Overall close by to many locally owned bars and restaurants. Easy walking. Thought the price was a little high at over $200 a night for such an area. Otherwise staff was excellent and even borrowed me an umbrella for the night. Would suggest Pier37 as a dining and live music option.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are in a very central location to local eateries and bars, and we could not agree more about the construction. It will be complete very soon and will greatly enhance our downtown area. Please visit again to see the final result!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    65
    24
    3
    6
See reviews for
60
45
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our wedding was at Sakonnet Vineyards and the Fairfield was the closest hotel that could accommodate our guests and was affordable. The free breakfast was of good quality and plenty of healthy options (they had a variety of fruits and yogurts, hard boiled eggs and healthy cereals). The front desk was very helpful and the business center came in handy to print out last minute items. The downtown area of New Bedford is within walking distance and it will be easier to navigate once the construction is done. The hotel was clean and the rooms were nice. We didn't utilize the fire pit or the pool but those were nice added touches to the hotel. Great experience overall!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are thrilled to hear that we contributed to the success of your wedding weekend! Our hotel does have many great ammenities to offer, and we are happy you were able to utilize some of them. Congratulations on your marriage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I recently stayed a couple of nights here while attending a friend's wedding. There was plenty of room, everyone was able to stay in the same place. The rooms were clean and modern. I requested a mini fridge and they were able to accommodate that bringing it to my room just a short while after I checked in. I don't think there is a bar there, but it's close enough to Union Street where there are plenty of places to hang out. the only downside was that they're doing a lot of construction in the area, but that just means it will be even better in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear your stay was pleasant, and you were able to explore our local nightlife in downtown New Bedford! The contruction, though frustrating now, will absolutely make the area better when complete. Please visit us again when it is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel is super close, within walking distance of the high-speed ferry to Martha's Vineyard. Judy, the front desk clerk is outstanding, answering all questions making you feel welcomed. When in New Bedford, this is the best hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. We were excited to hear that your stay was enjoyable, and our staff was knowledgable on the area. Our staff looks forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My family and I took two rooms for one night at this property before taking the ferry to Cuttyhunk Island. We had several children with us. The staff was warm and accommodating. The rooms were clean and spacious; the AC worked well. We didn't use the indoor pool, but it looked nice. There was plenty of parking. The breakfast wasn't fancy, but there was plenty of hot and cold food.

If there were one area to improve upon, it would be that one of the first rooms we were given smelled of disinfectant or air freshener. The second one was better but didn't smell 100% fresh.

All in all, we will definitely stay at this property when we return next summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are happy to hear your stay with us was satisfactory. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding recently. The hotel is quite new and pleasant-looking, with a good location right at the waterfront and across from a couple of restaurants. However, most of the rooms smelled either mildewy or of disinfectant. We had requested a king bed but only doubles were available (two full-size beds, not two queens as one usually encounters). There was no mini-fridge in the room, which we needed on this trip (used the ice bucket instead, with moderate success). Breakfast was included and that was fine. Also, we were happy that there was a fitness center, which we used. My mom was in a room with a special doorbell for the hearing-impaired (which she is) but the doorbell didn't work. Basically, the hotel was fine but I thought it should have been better.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for a room facing the water. Only one side of the hotel has the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations. We do have extra refridgerators available for use, you just need to request one. If you are in the area again, please give us a second shot to give you a perfect stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

OK the road-works are a real pain, call the hotel and get advice – I didn’t and wish I did – it was only an extra 10/15 minutes but I could see the hotel throughout the delay! Anyway plenty car spaces, fast easy check in, up to a big room, fresh modern, clean, plenty good towels, good harbour view (do these fishing boats ever leave harbour?). All good.
Downstairs to the free breakfast, ok it was really busy and a bit of a smash and grab but the skinny girl (sorry!) who was there mid-week worked faster and harder and did a better job than the 2 who were on duty Saturday morning. I was perfectly happy with the range of breakfast options although if I was paying extra for it, I’d have something negative to say about it.
Nearby there is the Grille across the road where I had the best mussels in white wine sauce, we went to Cork for a cocktail beforehand and it was great too.
I’d definitely use this place again; maybe they’ll put in a bar?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The road work can be frustrating, but it will be completed soon and will greatly improve the downtown area. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford

Address: 185 MacArthur Drive, New Bedford, MA 02740
Location: United States > Massachusetts > New Bedford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites New Bedford
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford Hotel New Bedford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.