We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serendipitous Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard Street Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Bedford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchard Street Manor
Save
You added Orchard Street Manor to your Saves list
139 Orchard Street, New Bedford, MA 02740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 New Bedford B&B and Inns
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Serendipitous Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

How often can one experience family history in a place one has never been? Orchard Street Manor is loaded with history, beauty, eclectic art and two of the most enjoyable highly educated innkeepers one could ask for? But do we love B&B's because of the hosts or because the place if spotless, comfortable, quiet, safe? I suspect both and Orchard Street provides it all. And of course the breakfast... delicious, inventive, and served in a beautiful dinning room.
We are not often drawn to B&Bs, but we will return to Orchard Street anytime we can. Nothing was wrong - okay, the plastic water glasses were a bit below standard. We loved it and stayed an unplanned extra night. Without reserve we recommend this treasure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al S, Owner at Orchard Street Manor, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
What a wonderful visit we had when a guest’s family background intersected that of the house’s first owner! We traded historical information about captains of the same whaling ship and scions of whale oil manufacturers of old New Bedford. Great fun! Please do come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
14
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently spent a night in New Bedford on our way from New York to Maine. My husband had been stationed in New Bedford when he was in the coast guard and wanted to visit, but had described it as a "rough town," so I was a bit dubious. My worries were quickly put to rest, both by the town and the Orchard Street Manor.

The B&B itself is beautiful, and the rooms (we stayed in the green room) was very comfortable and enjoyable. Our hosts were interesting and informative, and breakfast was beautifully presented and prepared. The B&B is in a beautiful location, in an area where streets are lined with well-restored homes, Victorian and earlier, and it's an easy walk to the waterfront, which is an active fishing port. We will happily stay at the Orchard Street Manor on our next trip up to Maine.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the green room, but we had an opportunity to see all five available rooms, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al S, Owner at Orchard Street Manor, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
It's always great to welcome back folks that have ties to New Bedford. The city is always changing and we love to share current news with them as well as any interesting historical tidbits. Glad that you had a good time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, RI
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I called on short notice. A room was available. The B&B is a decent location, well presented, well maintained and the room was comfortable. The breakfast was very good and not institutional but rather prepared and presented with care and pride. The most outstanding point is the hosts, both of whom are highly personable, with excellent local knowledge and a pleasure to have met under any circumstance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Top Contributor
384 reviews 384 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

On the way to the Cape, we decided to take an extra day and see some more of the coast. We found the web site for the Orchard Manor house to be inviting and the rooms to be well appointed. We were not disappointed in the rooms. We choose the Green Room which was nicely decorated, spacious and very clean. The room is as bright as the picture on the website and plenty of room to spread out. The bathroom even has a double sink.

We were given an extensive tour of the house and its unique architectural design and history. There are many pictures of the house and the town and complete with an explanatory note on the wall.

There was a little balcony off the main staircase, where we could read and enjoy the breeze. The bed was very hard but was fine for one night. The breakfast that takes place at 9 AM was an artfully designed plate of fruit, a slice of this, a puree of that.. and a muffin. The owner provided us with a full description of his working in the governments of Morocco and Peru. As an American adviser, he seemed to play a direct role in the foreign governments.

Driving to the inn, we were routed though some less desirable sections of New Bedford. The neighborhood of the inn, is a pleasant place to take an evening walk. There are many large restored houses but also some in desperate need of restoration.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. It is a pretty, well-maintained B&B. The host, Al, was very gregarious and regaled with stores and history of the home. We stayed in the Blue Room which was spacious, but sounds could be easily be heard through the door to the joining room. My neighbor joked to me that she thought I was I in her room with her. The bathroom was very small. The window didn't open. So, we had to use the a/c even though we did not need it. I was surprised to find that a clock radio was not available. The breakfast was the same each morning with a slice of melon with a fruit puree and a homemade muffin. Cereal was also available. Our host was very helpful in assisting us to find restaurants. One of the rooms on the main floor has a pool table which was fun. There was a small porch on the second floor which was pleasant for a predinner drink. The Inn is an historic district. We took walking tours of the surrounding area and were able to walk to the downtown to our restaurant (less than a mile).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Again I had the pleasure of staying with Al Saulniers and finally meeting his wife Suzanne, whom I wished lived down the block from me in CT so we could continue our conversations. They are an enchanting duo, each brilliant in their knowledge of things like Pakistan, antique rugs, furniture, rare baskets, not to mention being excellent inn keepers. Both of them zeroed into my interests and sent me on my way to wondrous museums, open studios and restaurants, and at the end of the day sat around and chatted with me abut discoveries, both theirs and mine,. At breakfast, which is always delicious and prepared specifically for each guest, I inquired about Fairhaven and received the best impromptu history lesson on that area. This is the home of two brilliant caring people who can really make memories for you. In their very elegant restored Whaling mansion you feel you have arrived home after a long time way, and home is better than you remembered.

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning, private and desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We hadn't planned on spending the last night of our Massachussetts holiday in New Bedford but it seemed destiny pushed us there and into the arms of Al and Suzanne at Orchard Street Manor. Both genial and knowledgeable, Al provided a fascinating history of both this heritage home and the historic city it resides in, with dozens of fabulous old homes lining the streets on either side of the B&B (definitely worth a stroll!). A charming and comfortable room, a superb breakfast, uncommonly fine common areas...I understand New Bedford has very few hotels but why would you want to book one anyway when there is an alternative with such charm and character waiting for you here on Orchard Street?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Orchard Street Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Street Manor

Address: 139 Orchard Street, New Bedford, MA 02740
Location: United States > Massachusetts > New Bedford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in New Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"#1 B&B, New Bedford" Standard-Times reader poll. Exceptional, historic, globetrotter-run lodging with elegant public areas and individually decorated rooms. Experience New Bedford's past in Whaling Captain Benjamin Clark's 1840s home expanded in 1903 by Cotton Baron Henry Tiffany. Harbor views, private baths, AC, cable, WiFi. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard Street Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.