We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm & Character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard Street Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Bedford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchard Street Manor
Save
You added Orchard Street Manor to your Saves list
139 Orchard Street, New Bedford, MA 02740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 New Bedford B&B and Inns
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charm & Character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We hadn't planned on spending the last night of our Massachussetts holiday in New Bedford but it seemed destiny pushed us there and into the arms of Al and Suzanne at Orchard Street Manor. Both genial and knowledgeable, Al provided a fascinating history of both this heritage home and the historic city it resides in, with dozens of fabulous old homes lining the streets on either side of the B&B (definitely worth a stroll!). A charming and comfortable room, a superb breakfast, uncommonly fine common areas...I understand New Bedford has very few hotels but why would you want to book one anyway when there is an alternative with such charm and character waiting for you here on Orchard Street?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Al and Suzanne Saulniers are the most amazing and wordly innkeepers I have ever met. They are gracious and laid back which makes the Orchard Street Manor even more comfortable, if that's possible. The Manor was built by a whaling ship captain many moons ago and is a stunning, elegant estate overlooking New Bedford harbor. The history and architecture of the Manor is amazing enough but Al and Suzanne have added their own eclectic style that comes from living all over the world and it works very well. Al is the resident historian and can talk for hours just on the history of the estate itself. With both innkeepers being multi-lingual, most foreign travelers are immediately referred to Orchard Street Manor by the New Bedford Visitors Center as evidenced by two German bicyclists who were biking across the United States and stopped in on a Saturday night to see if there was an extra room for rent...fortunately for them, Al/Suzanne took them in with open arms and made their trip to New Bedford that much more memorable. The Orchard Street Manor is a 5-star B&B and Al's gourmet breakfasts are magnificent. This is a must stay when in New Bedford or anywhere near it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCOTT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Al and Suzanne have brought their love of New Bedford's history and their years of living abroad together in this fabulously restored home. Al will tell you about the sea captain who built it and the subsequent owners who led the various economic fields that dominated the city for periods--whaling, textiles, banking, and so on. The oval dining room paneled with hickory (a wood no longer available) was a great place for breakfasts. The rooms were quite comfortable. We would have appreciated some afternoon snacks to accompany our conversations with friends, but we thoroughly enjoyed our conversations with our hosts and being in such a stimulating environment. Thanks for a great visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, MA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This place, and Al Saulnier especially, does more to promote New Bedford and it's marvelous history, than any advertising campaign or magazine ad. Even as a native born Massachusetts guy and lover of the South Coast beaches and villages, here's a city I've traditionally ignored as a dying factory town, and so I was completely amazed by its graceful, historic, and fascinating downtown.

We arrived at the Manor after a long, damp and dreary day of boatwork over at Westport Point, and so coming through this beautiful neighborhood was an interesting lift for us. Tired and worn out, we only wanted to eat and crash to get ready for another work day tomorrow, so when Al checked us in and started to point out some of the decorative features and architecture of his place, I thought to myself "Uh-oh, here comes a tedious historical tour," and prepared to trudge along until we got to our room.

As soon as we walked out of the office area, however, I knew this place was something special. The building's incredible architectural texture and authentic historical feel was immediately transporting. OK, I'd go along with the house tour for a while, then fall on the bed as soon as possible.

Now Al's an educator, and maybe it was his skill in that area, or maybe it was the immensity of New Bedford's history as one of the richest cultural U.S. cities in America's 1800s, but either way, I found myself more and more fascinated. The house seemed just as it might have been a hundred or more years ago, and the long list of its inhabitants and their stories awoke a historical curiosity in me, and before we actually reached our room, I was ready to wander around. To my amazement, I found myself developing a real connection with New Bedford's long and storied history. I really wished I weren't going to be working all day tomorrow...this would be a wonderful place to explore instead.

We ate at the incredible Margaret's restaurant just across the harbor in Fairhaven, recommended highly by Al, and living every bit up to that recommendation. Returning to the manor stuffed and tired and looked around as much as we could before we ran completely out of steam and crashed in the beautiful Green Room.

Well, we DID head back over to Westport the next morning, but not after exploring the neighborhood a little, and vowing to come back again when we could to spend some real time in this richly endowed city.

Thanks Al and Suzanne, for opening your house and your town to us. Oh, and for the excellent breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I agree with all the other reviewers that the Orchard Street Manor is a gem not only for the amenities but also for the owner, Al Saulniers. The whaling captain's home is beautifully and tastefully restored. All of the bedrooms were beautiful and ours included a large bathroom with double sinks and a footed bath tub.There are so many interesting pictures with the history of New Bedford to enjoy. Al is a wonderful host and has a wealth of information about New Bedford. He and his wife have lived all over the world and the conversation was most interesting.

The breakfast in the lovely,large oval dining room was delicious. Al joined us and we continued our conversation from the night before. He had given us a tour of the home along with history the night we arrived. I would recommend this B and B to everyone. Give yourself a treat!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariners04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

My fourth visit in a year attests to the fact that this is indeed a lovely destination. The innkeeper's suggestions for antiquing in the area were extremely helpful. The Glass Museum he introduced me to was an unexpected pleasure.
Spicy Lime Tai restaurant and The Ugly Gallery nearby added to my list of places to revisit the next time I'm in New Bedford.
A book in the living room with stories about Euell Gibbons and his food explorations was a fascinating read. The food is great, the rooms are period and charming and the inn keeper is a wealth of knowledge about the area.

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Artbrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Maybe we should keep this a secret so others won't book the place, but that would not be fair in the spirit of Tripadvisor. The interior of the property is gorgeous - an expansive whaling mansion decorated with the keen eye of the host and hostess. The furniture and decorations range from the historical in keeping with the New Bedford whaling tradition to the various places around the globe where the owners lived - Morocco, Pakistan, Peru and Zaire. Our host was delightful, and we wished we had met his wife who was on a consulting assignment overseas. The breakfast was wonderful - fruit in a strawberry sauce along with fresh baked muffins. The best part was the dialogue with the owner. The B&B is located near the historical mansions which you can take a walking tour of. Don't miss the Whaling Museum and the National Park Service tour around the area near the Visitor Center - both are well worth the visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gparch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Bedford
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford
1.4 mi away
Seaport Inn and Marina
Seaport Inn and Marina
#2 of 3 in Fairhaven
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bedford / Fairhaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn New Bedford Dartmouth
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dartmouth Inn
BEST WESTERN Dartmouth Inn
#2 of 5 in North Dartmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Street Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Street Manor

Address: 139 Orchard Street, New Bedford, MA 02740
Location: United States > Massachusetts > New Bedford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in New Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"#1 B&B, New Bedford" Standard-Times reader poll. Exceptional, historic, globetrotter-run lodging with elegant public areas and individually decorated rooms. Experience New Bedford's past in Whaling Captain Benjamin Clark's 1840s home expanded in 1903 by Cotton Baron Henry Tiffany. Harbor views, private baths, AC, cable, WiFi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing