We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Hawaii” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3700 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Daily Credit
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
veggiedancerjess
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Heaven in Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

This was the most relaxing, beautiful, serene, friendly, and quality hotel. It is simple yet a luxury. It is not tacky or overdone like neighboring hotels. Its simple and elegant decor makes you focus on the elements of the nature there which makes it so much more beautiful than any other hotel in Wailea. The rooms are perfect, with lanais and comfortable beds. I would specifically ask for a room with privacy. The front desk let us check 3 different rooms before we picked ours which was with a view of the end of the hotel's ocean area rather than a room right off the luau grounds which was more busy and more appropriate for a family with kids in my opinion. It was private and so beautiful to look at as well as to hear the ocean every morning. The sunset is stunning especially when sitting at the adult infinity pool. The best time of day at the pool is between 5-6 pm in my opinion.
This brings me to the best feature of the hotel which is the adult infinity pool. It is great to rent a cabana right on the pool for the whole day ($100 with 20 % off) and comes with a fruit platter and water. Or you can get a blue soft cabana for $25 or the lounge chairs are just a perfect and free. There is amazing waiter service at every seat by this pool. They will wait on you all day long and are not pushy yet can always be easily seen if you want something from them. This was my husband's and my honeymoon and we spent a bunch of days just lounging by this pool. Food and Drinks were all great and the pool itself is serene and stunning
The days that we didn't lounge by the pool we traveled to Kihei which is a little bohemian and fun, seemed local to us. We also went on Road to Hana, (halfway anyway which made it easier and worth it to us.) This way there was no pressure and we could go back to our lovely hotel and enjoy ourselves there most of the day. We ordered room service that night and other nights which was always delicious, well-portioned and quick. One thing I will warn you about hawaii is if you are a new yorker like me and are used to ordering food all the time, any time -- you can not order delivery in hawaii. You have to pick up, which is why we utilized room service often. We were lucky the room service was very good quality.
The restaurant was incredible. We are vegetarians and the chef specifically altered some of the menu items for us i.e. he made the coconut shrimp into coconut tofu for us. They were so accommodating. This was our favorite restaurant in Wailea. We also had the breakfast buffet included in our package every morning which was superb. Eggs, omlettes, fresh fruit, baked goods, waffles, etc. it was also a little different each morning which was kept it interesting. If you want a drink "to go" after your meal the waiter will bring it to you in a plastic cup with a straw. I would usually get an iced tea or water to go.
The best way to buy water is actually at the gift shop which sells liter bottles of 99 cent water.
We felt that this hotel was even nicer than the more expensive ones nearby and that it is well worth its price which is not high compared to most hawaii prices. This is a perfect honeymoon spot or family spot. It all depends on the location of your room and what you want to do.
The beach "not being on the property" as some have said is really a silly complaint since it is only maybe 10 steps away form the edge of the hotel and feels like it is on the hotel property. There is one to you left which is by the grand wailea and you can rent chairs from (it is annoying to pay for chairs, but it is hawaii) and that water is calm which is very nice. The beach area to the right is more of a local beach and much more rough. There was a pretty strong current when my husband and I went in and had to get out of there. It was okay though because we just went back to our infinity pool. Most of the beaches in Hawaii have pretty strong currents unless they are in a cove which is why I would rather be at a more public beach that is a little more calm like the one to the left of the hotel. You can see the water from most of the hotel and it is so blue and beautiful. You can see the island of Lanai across the water and also part of Maui (Lahaina area) in the distance.
Actually, one night we drove to Lahaina and ate at "The Maui Brewing Company" which had great beer and very good food. They have a bar with a strip of ice to put your beer down on. Overall our service in Hawaii was very nice.
I am someone who is from a big city and doesn't like to drive but driving around Hawaii is very nice and beautiful and was actually a relaxing and special part of our trip. We enjoyed navigating around the island together and taking in the scenery. We went to Kauai after Maui and while Kauai was beautiful I like Wailea in Maui because it wasn't as populated as Lahaina but was more central than Kauai. It had a feeling of remoteness by the resort area but you could still go to stop n shop or a shopping center if you needed one.
The gym was nice and so was the spa. The spa was expensive but for our honeymoon was worth the splurge. We did the couples lomi lomi massage in a room with a view of the ocean and the hot tub in it for after the massages. It was very relaxing and the spa was very tranquil with everything you could need. It was funny because we actually exercised every morning here (which is not like us when on vacation) because the grounds are so beautiful and the trail to run on is so breathtaking. I ran more than I had run a long time just because i was so thankful for being able to run while enjoying such a great view, breathing clean air/watery scents and seeing people smiling all around. I would run starting from the condominiums to the right of the hotel to a little ways past the four seasons which gets a little steep but has a good path. I wouldn't run up there at night though because it gets dark and you'd want to see where you are going since you are so close to the rocks and water. Walking and lounging by the water at night though was fine. My husband and I actually got food "to go" one night from the restaurant and had a picnic under the big banyan tree by the water under the stars which was super romantic. By the way, the stars are incredible. We could see Mercury so clearly from our room every night!
All in all, the hotel was incredible. best vacation ever and we have been to places like Atlantis in the bahamas, etc. I hope to come back to this resort again sometime soon. It was truly heaven in hawaii!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    765
    312
    124
    66
See reviews for
445
1,157
39
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NE TN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We booked with points. We probably spend 50,000 a year on business travel with Marriott hotels, year after year, and are definitely loyal customers. We have a family of 5, and we were guaranteed a rollaway bed on arrival. However, when we arrived after a long trip (flight problems delayed our arrival by one day, that is a whole other story) to check in, we were given a hard time by the front desk staff about the rollaway bed. They refused to give us one, and told us that we would have to upgrade our room to a suite (which still really sleeps 4) at cost to us of over 100 a night. However, the mandatory upgrade would not be available until the following day, so for the first night we slept three on one queen bed, sideways so as to fit but our feet were hanging off, and two on the other. this was hardly what we expected for our first night in such a pricey hotel. The following day we were awake by 3am and decided to pack all of our stuff and check it at the front desk and drive to Hana. When we returned around 4pm the mandatory upgraded room was still not available. When we finally moved in, we were not thrilled that the new room had a view of a large hedge, period. And there were grounds maintenance workers out early in the morning to trim those hedges, as well as trucks driving an unseen service road on the other side of the hedge. Bad news is that trucks beep loudly when backing, and we were regularly subjected to this noise. The suite had one King bed and one full size pullout sofa. we have teenage boys so sleeping in the bed with mom and dad was not their idea of fun, so two crammed onto the pullout and one made a makeshift bed on the floor with couch cushions. SERIOUSLY!!! To make matters worse, while looking through the guest services folder it clearly stated "Rollaway bed provided upon request". My husband complained to Marriott corporate directly and only then did management call to try to make things right. No other suites were available, of course, so we were stuck with the noise and hedge. Fortunately we found other places to be most of the time so we spent little time in the room. Housekeeping was adequate but they were never done with the room before late afternoon. Extra towels and linens provided on request, there were none in the room to make the sofa bed with. Resort fee was excessive, 25 dollars a day, and the only real benefit was parking and a bottle of water every day. we got a coupon for two free drinks, total value 20 dollars. at eight nights and 200 dollars, the two drinks were not really free...and the resort fee doesnt provide internet, that is extra. If you purchase anything at Starbucks they will give you two hours free internet, but you have to be in their business to get the signal. Concierge booked our family for dinner at Mala, the hotel restaurant, and we waited 20 minutes and the only person that acknowledged us at the table was the water boy. If we are going to spend nearly 300 dollars on a meal we don't expect to be ignored by the wait staff. We walked out and went to a different restaurant. The hotel did notice our departure and offered us a breakfast buffet to make things right. Rooms are decorated in earth tones and white, king bed was comfortable but the kids on the sofa bed said it was not. the one on the floor said it was better than sleeping with us. the floor was tile, slippery when wet. We ordered room service breakfast for one of the kids that was not feeling well and "hard fried eggs, cooked all the way" somehow translated to "over easy". Nearly forty dollars for two uncooked eggs, two strips of bacon, half a cup of hashbrowns, a piece of soggy toast, and a glass of chocolate milk. I would skip room service unless necessary. I did see a small cockroach on our last full day. On checkout day one of the kids opened the door to the adjoining room (closed on the other side) and found a large, two inch long cockroach inbetween the doors. yikes.
Overall, the resort gets points for a comfy bed and awesome location. The grounds and pools were beautiful. Loses points for customer service, the hassle over the room/rollaway bed, and the bugs.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

My husband and I celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary with a trip to Maui, and stayed at the Marriott in Wailea. The rooms here are quite simple (floors, walls and bedding are all white), but the beds are super comfy, and the views outside are fantastic, including the beautiful grounds. We had an ocean view room overlooking the infinity pool, and there are beaches on either side of the hotel. A sidewalk runs through the resorts in this area, so it is really easy getting to the beaches and other hotels. The rooms have comfy beds, in-room safes, and a small refrigerator. Only thing extra that would have been nice was a microwave.

We ordered lunch poolside from the bar and grill on site, and it was very good. Also had dinner at Mala one night, and it was one of the best meals on our trip. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. The staff was always friendly and accommodating, and we loved the location. The mall next door was also very convenient, great for dinner (definitely try Tommy Bahamas for dinner one night) and picking up some nice souvenirs. Mandara spa on site was also wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We traveled to Maui after getting married on Oahu (Waikiki)...boy what a nice change of pace! The whole area in and around the Marriott Wailea is beautiful, calm, and quiet. The hotel is located within steps from the "Shops at Wailea," where my new husband and I frequently shopped, ate dinner, and watched nightly entertainment.

The quality of service we encountered from Rachel at the front desk upon check-in deserves to be recognized . Our travel agent failed to request an upper-level, king bed room for us (boy, she was horrible, but that's a whole other story!) ...and at first Rachel told us the best available was a room with 2 beds on the 2nd floor in a building quite far from the pool/spa/gym. She could sense our disappointment and frustrations (not with her at all, but with everything we had been dealing with regarding our horrible travel agent), so she called management and was able to get us a room on ground level with a king bed in an awesome location/Hale (I can't remember the number, but it overlooked the Infinity pool). At first we thought this would be awesome, to literally be steps away from the adults-only pool...however, as soon as we walked into the room we realized it lacked privacy we had hoped for, being our honeymoon and all! (when sitting on the bed looking out onto the patio you can hear/see everything going on at the pool). We felt horrible calling Rachel, but we did, and expressed our concerns and she worked her magic and got us a 3rd floor room in the same building, with a king bed! We truly loved how helpful she was! On a side note though...if you book a ground level room, consider it's location because you may not get the privacy you desire!

We ate at the breakfast buffet each morning (included in our travel package), and it was superb! Omelette station, tons of fresh fruit and breads, different meats and styles of eggs each day, etc! For lunch, we frequently ordered poolside while sipping on Mai Tais and Margaritas. The service at the adults-only pool was friendly and quick, and as long as you are like us and come to Hawaii expecting everything to be quite a bit more expensive than what most people are used to, you'll find it to be a very relaxing place to spend your afternoons!

There were a few slight downsides:
-We received oceanside couples massages (roughly $300 total), and I must say....the location they give the massages (next to the Infinity pool inside a blue tent area) isn't as private and quite/serene as I would have liked. It was right by a path/walkway, so we consistently heard peoples' conversations as they walked by. If we went back, we'd probably stick with a massage indoors!
-There is no direct access to the beach. This can be considered a positive though, because it forced us to walk along the beautiful oceanfront path and provided us with great scenery and a good tour of the Marriott property, as well as the neighboring hotels!
-When inside our hotel room, we did notice the walls are fairly thin. We could hear dressers next door banging shut, and kids crying on the balconies neighboring us.

That being said.....overall, we would DEFINITELY return. The Wailea area is beautiful, and far more laid back/less crowded than Ka'anapali. The Marriott provided us with a clean, affordable (from Hawaii standards), and memorable place to thoroughly enjoy our first week as a married couple :-)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Used our Marriott rewards points and they asked us if we were celebrating anything special, stated we were on our honeymoon and they assured us of a nice room. Received a room outside the elevator and over the valet parking in the front. All night heard people getting out of there cars or talking outside the elevator. Asked to change rooms the next day and they seemed extremely put out. Asked for the room change at 530 a.m. before leaving for the road to hana and returned at 5:00 p.m. and the room was still not ready. That wouldn't have been so bad but talked with a couple at the bar and they just happened to mention that the last two times they stayed with their reward points they were put in a room by the loading docks or had the view of the street. Marriott, if folks are using their reward points then I'm pretty certain they are your "loyal" customers, and have been for quite some time. Why do you stick your "loyal" customers in the back alley? Also, pool workers push their "maui jims" sunglasses to hard. They booked a helicopter tour for us and we went back to the room and later found if we had booked it on line it was $80.00 cheaper....really, do you feel the need to rip off your guests that bad? When we went to cancel Connie gave us the third degree about why we were canceling. Don't need to be hasseled like that from the staff. Valet also charged us $ 25 valet parking and $ 20 self parking each day. We stated we had self parked from the first day and have our car keys as well. Told us they would review their records before issuing a credit. Also need to check out your air conditioners, room are way too humid even rooming the air on all night. Glad we checked out and went to Napili Kia for the rest of the trip. What a shame that they are not on par with other Marriotts I've stayed at. Would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed in Hale 6 with a view of the ocean. Loved that we had a great view, no pools, luau, etc. Our son loved his ukelele lesson & Rachel let him borrow a ukelele for the rest of the week. Grounds are beautiful. Starbucks every morning was yummy. Smoothies at the coffee hut were really good. The bellman were a great source of information. Ask about the hospitality room for your last day if you need to freshen up. Housekeeping was very responsive to our requests. Cons: The conceirge was not very helpful! In fact, it really seemed like we were bothering him to ask questions. Would have used him more and tipped him appropriately if we hadn't gotten attitude from him. The elliptical equipment in the fitness room was not what you would expect for a high end hotel. Pretty poor quality. Ended up running on the walk along the beach and it was pretty crowded. The Wailea beach is on the left and Ulua on the right. Ulua had great snorkeling and Wailea was great for people watching. Wish we had known earlier in the week that we could rent beach chairs/umbrella set for $30 a day right behind Wailea beach at the second blue umbrella (not with Marriott). They will set them up on beach for you. Resort fee is excessive. I think they should just add the cost into the room rate and be done with it. Overall a very good experience.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

This location of this hotel is great and the ocean/mountain views are amazing! It's very accessible to other hotels with good beach access, etc. However, one should know that the Marriott does not have beach access or beach chairs/umbrellas provided. You have to go down to one of the other hotels (beaches are public so this is completely acceptable) and rent your own chairs/beach umbrellas (which can be done at off-site locations, aka Snorkel Bob's, etc). The rooms are all tile and very noisy - we got up early each morning to see the sunrise and spent very little time in the room so this was not an issue for us. However, if you are one to sleep in or enjoy an afternoon nap you will not like the noisy nature of this facility. The infinity edge pool is nice but the service is just okay. We watched the sunset from the pool one night and it was beautiful! Also, each morning we sat near the water and drank coffee/read books... this was one of our favorite part of the trip but again, the chairs provided by the Marriot are NOT cozy and are wet every morning because of the water sprinklers. Overall - nice place but if you are looking for over the top comfort and amenities, you are better off down the beach at the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 3700 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#6 Business Hotel in Wailea
#6 Family Hotel in Wailea
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#7 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#7 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Wailea Beach Marriott Hotel Wailea
Marriott Wailea
Wailea Marriott
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.