We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dated definitely not a Fairmont” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3700 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“dated definitely not a Fairmont”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

in need of serious renovations to the pools ,elevators and public washrooms
definitely not a 4diamond resort,more like a 4 star.Location good but no beach.Resort fees ,wi-fi and parking charges excessive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaileaBeachMarriott, Manager at Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Aloha sirgons,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. The Wailea Beach Marriott is certainly at the heartbeat of Wailea, just steps from world class amenities such as two beautiful golden sandy beaches, the Shops at Wailea, Wailea Tennis, and Wailea Golf. We appreciate your feedback on the condition of the property, and we are excited to share that we are reinvesting in our resort with new updates coming soon. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest Aloha,
Wailea Beach Marriott Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    842
    347
    137
    73
See reviews for
495
1,259
43
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

2 nights we are moving! No beach. Not allowed in the restaurant because of private party. Could not get served a drink even in the cheap seats! Tower run down like old Vegas. Here for ten days , but changing resorts after 2.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaileaBeachMarriott, Manager at Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Aloha Mitchellene1,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay. We are pleased to let you know we are investing in our resort with new updates coming soon, and will continue to enhance our resort and the service we provide. Again, we are very sorry we disappointed you, and we hope you will give us the opportunity to earn your trust back in the future.

Warmest Aloha,
Wailea Beach Marriott Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

It is a big resort and we had a long walk to the lobby and parking garage but it was worth it for the ocean front. We have stayed here twice now and enjoyed our stay but it sounds like it depends on the room that is available when you check in and we lucked-out twice. We were in 7208 which was close to the kids pool and Wailea beach. The sound of the waves at night were great and our room was a good size with 2 queen beds. We did activities in the morning (snorkel trip, road to hana) and went back to the pools in the afternoon. We enjoyed both the infinity/adult pool and the other pool near the pool bar that overlooked the ocean. We could watch the whales breaching from the pool. We ate at the pool bar (the food was expensive like the other hotels) but it was a good. We ordered out food one night - Maui Brick Oven Pizza. Be careful, we didn't read the description and it is gluten free which is great if you eat gluten free but my kids wouldn't eat it. We saw Train do a concert on the beach (a few hotels down) one night which was amazing. We would stay here again it is a beautiful resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is nice enough. Rooms are decent, ocean view is ok. We felt like we were holed up in a lame high rise in the city. Maybe it was because we were younger than most, but there was nothing fun at this hotel. The Luau was horrible! Horrible food, and in the end it was about 45 minutes of mediocre dancing/singing. We were told to get there around 4:30, just so we could sit, and wait...wait...wait...for 3 hours until the act begins. My husband and I have experienced amazing performances at all-inclusive resorts with their nightly activities that were free when staying in the caribbean. The pathetic non-authentic luau was a rip off (over $100 per person) and a waste of an entire evening. Oh yes, evenings-just about everyone turned in for the night around 8 or 9. Do not expect any nightlife or fun, unless you go to the next town over (which was great)! The hotel food was expensive. We don't mind pricey if the food is good, but we can make better food at home. So, best place for food is unfortunately the mall. Yes, a mall to eat dinner while on vacation. Ugh. No reason to get dressed up to eat dinner at a mall, while staying at a Marriott, in Hawaii. No romance to be had with an environment like this. At least the shopping was good. We would definitely recommend renting a car to escape! Last major complaint is the lack of a beach. No beach means that you must go to a beach on either side of the hotel. There is no shade, so if you want to stay out of the sun, you must cough up $20 for a beach chair. No matter where we've been in the world, we've never had to pay $40 a day (until 5:30 when they collect them) for chairs when staying at a hotel/resort. Thank goodness we were able to leave early and made our way to North Beach in Oahu! We walked for miles without interruption along the beach and finally felt free and on vacation here!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaileaBeachMarriott, Manager at Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Aloha BlondBeachGirl,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa. We are sorry to have disappointed you. Please know that our entire team is committed to enhancing our resort and providing new activities that appeal to all of our guests. We hope we will have the opportunity to share these exciting enhancements with you in the near future.

Warmest Aloha,
Wailea Beach Marriott Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights in February, 2014. I'm a Lifetime Platinum Elite member, but we paid for the room (rather than using award points). On arrival we were told we had been upgraded to an Ocean View room. The room was spacious, with good amenities and while it was more beach view than ocean view, it has a balcony overlooking the lawns to the south. We arrived on a Saturday, so we had a good view of the Saturday evening luau.

When we woke the first morning, we were sore, and attributed it to a long flight. It wasn't until the 2nd morning that we realized it was because the beds are so soft that we both had backache. We did not sleep well the entire stay. We also realized that we were on a busy corridor with the ice machine right next to the door and the guest laundry 2 feet beyond that. With that and the stairwell opposite, it was not a restful stay.

The grounds are well maintained and the 'adult' pool is nice with a great view of the ocean. Service was terrific, particularly Terri who looked after us really well. The bellhops and other staff members were friendly and helpful. The property is ok, but could do with freshening up in some areas. During our stay the bathroom above ours had a pipe leaking so we had paint coming off the ceiling above our bath, with water dripping into our bathtub.

We did not eat in the hotel, because we prefer to eat outside in local restaurants which are invariably less expensive with great food.

The hotel is next to the Grand Wailea, Four Seasons and the Fairmont, all of which are accessible from the beach path in front of the resort. They are more impressive resorts but more expensive. We were considering staying at the Ritz Carlton in Kanapali but i'm glad we did not go - the Marriott is in a much nicer location.

We'd come again, but only if we could get a true oceanfront room and one with a bed with some support. It sounds like the soft beds are a recurring theme.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 7227 - classified as ocean view - but more like beach view. Very Soft bed, ice machine 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Loved this place... tho was worried due to reviews that it was old and needed updating etc. The room we had was Ocean View but upgraded to ocean front. It was not fancy, ground floor but super clean, lovely comfy beds, good linens, nice bathroom, mini fridge and big TV etc. It was perfect for us. The staff were superb... friendly and everyone greeted you wherever you went. It did not seem crowded like the other Wailea resorts... multiple pool areas and tons of green space so it really seemed quiet. We walked the fabulous pathway that conjoins all the resorts and beaches and thought how much more cramped everyone esle looked. The restaurant MALA was awesome as were the shops and basically everything. Highly recommend it for families or couples... there is no beach directly in front but it really does not matter at all.. beaches all around to find a secluded spot is easy. Looked like a great kids pool area and again, lots of alone space and beautiful grounds. I recommend ALOT to take a drive south past all the resorts and Makena beach... keep going as the road gets narrower... there are houses on the beach and the road is right on the ocean... many places to turn off, snorkel and have a picinic lunch. Don't miss it.... and we wished we had gone to the end of the road and hiked and swam in an area that has dolphins (in the AM) ... ask a local or probably at the hotel about it. It is not a far drive and it is such an amazing sight. You go thru these unbelievable lava fields that look like something you have never seen.

Room Tip: Pay for Ocean View and ask for an upgrade... we did this thru their website and talked to someone ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The grounds of this resort are just beautiful and the staff was very helpful. My only complaint is the mattresses are not great. Very soft. Otherwise very clean and the restraurant was also very good.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell the ocean view was there for most rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 3700 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#6 Business Hotel in Wailea
#6 Family Hotel in Wailea
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#7 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Wailea Beach Marriott Hotel Wailea
Marriott Wailea
Wailea Marriott
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.