We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3700 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Nightly Credit
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in January during an island hoping vacation.

Nice property in Wailea, walking distance to the shops which is a big plus. Friendly staff upon check in and around the property. For the price its a good hotel in the area, others includes Grand Wailea, Four Seasons and the Fairmont.

The property is beautiful, but the beach is a 3-10 minute walk depending on what part of the property you stay. Pools are nice and rooms clean.

Overall good, would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaileaBeachMarriott, Manager at Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Aloha Brian C,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We pride ourselves in knowing that the Wailea Beach Marriott is ideally located in the heart Wailea, just steps from amenities and golden sandy beaches, in the perfect setting. Thank you also for recognizing our friendly staff. We are very proud of our associates and their spirit to provide service with Aloha. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warmest Aloha,
Wailea Beach Marriott Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    718
    286
    113
    63
See reviews for
436
1071
38
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This review is a few months late in the writing...the property is lovely with some very nice views. My husband and I did not mind the short walk to the adjacent beaches and the walking/jogging trail was great. $30 a night for a resort fee is pretty stiff for what little it comes with; one of the big things being a free scuba lesson but we are both already certified and didn't need that. The hotel offers scuba right off the beach but we didn't participate in that as we had already booked a scuba trip with a third party, but it was nice that was an option had our other plans not worked out. Housekeeping was substandard-- bare minimums and not many toiletries given. Mala restaurant was very nice but our service was slow and somewhat unfriendly..but could have been due to being understaffed the night we were there (our food was very good however). We love to paddleboard but the guy who took us out, Miah, was a jerk. He was more concerned with striking poses for the women than in pointing anything out of interest. My husband found him abrasive as did the other man in our party of four . He was too busy flirting and showing off than helping the beginner in our party or pointing out turtles. Gross. The bartenders were very friendly but the bars close so early. It's vacation...we want a drink after 8pm! The luau was nice and the show was good. We also enjoyed getting a couples massage at the spa but next time, we will definitely book a different hotel...too expensive for such poorly mannered and creepy staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the luau area if you don't want to hear it the nights it is going on. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaileaBeachMarriott, Manager at Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Aloha Mary M,
We are delighted that you enjoyed our on-property Te Au Moana luau. We agree, the oceanfront setting is unparalleled! Thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate your feedback as it will help our team address these areas that need improvement. Please know that we will share your comments with our management team and our partners. We are committed to enhancing our resort and the service we provide, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warmest Aloha,
Wailea Beach Marriott Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We were so happy we selected the Wailea Beach Marriott for our first Maui experience and would stay there again and again! Friendly service, amazing ocean views, spacious nicely appointed rooms, variety of amenities, well groomed grounds and pools, convenient location to all of the adventures we planned.....all top-notch and not ONE complaint for this Marriott. THANK you Wailea Beach Marriott for a vacation to remember!

Room Tip: We had adjoining rooms with ocean views from the balconies in both bedrooms and also the living area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Wailea Beach Marriott from January 10 - 15. This was my first trip to Hawaii, and I highly recommend it to anyone! After 15 hours of travel time from the East Coast, just stepping off the plane, and into the open air airport was relaxing! We booked our trip through AAA, and it included a Lei greeting at the airport. It really completed the Aloha feel for our arrival!
Upon arrival at the hotel, there was a mix up between the travel company and the Marriott, and our first room was a "Standard view" room. We had booked an Ocean View room, so we had to return to the desk to correct the situation. Intially, the said they only had an ocean view room with two queen beds which was unacceptable. Fortunately after reviewing everything they had available, they were able to find an Ocean View room with a King Size bed. I had my travel documents with me so I was able to show them what I had booked.
The room was nice and clean with tile floors and a spacious lanai. The maid came twice a day for cleaning and turn-down service.
We had dinner at Mala the first night on the balcony overlooking the pool and ocean. The food was very good. My husband had braised short ribs, and I had the Mahi Mahi special. We enjoyed both, and the service was great!
We were up early in the morning for a walk along the paved walkway as the whales played in the ocean and the sun started peeking up over the mountains. It was breathtaking!
Our package included breakfast each morning which was an omelette station, as well as a full buffet. This was served in Mala. Most mornings were were able to sit outside on the balcony, again watching the whales playing amongst the Stand Up Paddleboarders and boaters.
From the Mariott, we visited Makena Beach ("Big Beach"), Sunrise at Haleakala, the Road to Hana and had dinner at Mama's Fish House in Paia. Each day proved more amazing than the next!
I was pleased with the service and ammenities at the Marriott, and would be happy to return very soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My wife and I were there for 4 nights earlier this month. Except for the lack of swimable beach in front of the property, it was perfect. The room was clean and spacious. The grounds were immaculate. The breakfast buffet was expensive (but was included) and was quite inclusive. How many places can you sit for breakfast and whale watch at the same time? The pools were OK and a bit small. The best part was the paved walking/jogging path that was connecting the major Wailea beach front properties. In the morning or evening you could enjoy a beautiful clean walk either on the beach or paths without auditory of visual pollution. Since we rented a car, the location was fine and we drove easily to the sites we desired. Will be going back.

Room Tip: Higher, ocean view will allow for in room whale watching
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed here from 12th to 26th January and we unreservedly recommend the hotel to anyone who is planning a vacation in Wailea.

First impressions were good - the entrance to the resort is tree-lined and the check-in area is a very nice open air desk which creates a very relaxed impression. The hotel's location on the beach is superb and we booked an ocean view room which undoubtedly enhanced our experience as we were able to see the fabulous sunsets each evening. The two main resort pools are outstanding and the serenity pool is an experience not to be missed.

The resort includes a number of boutiques and a general store that sells a selection of grocery items, clothing and local crafts which is quite reasonably priced for a resort store. There are also two restaurants which are well worth a visit.

The concierge very helpfully recommended and booked several activities for us including Luau, snorkelling and whale watching (don't miss it if you are in Maui between December and March). We spent a few days on Wailea beach which is a 3-5 minute walk from the hotel along a lovely coastal path (and not the 20 minute walk that was mentioned by a contributor recently). If you are going to the beach, phone the concierge to reserve sunbeds and an umbrella for around $20 for the day.

We also used the gym and spa - both are top class.

Although this was a vacation, I would consider myself to be quite demanding when it comes to hotel quality - a legacy of spending 40-50 nights per year away from home each year on business. I stayed at the Four Seasons resort in Wailea two years ago and while I enjoyed it, overall I would prefer the Marriott for a number of reasons. The Four Seasons probably has a slight advantage in terms of room quality (although the room in the Marriott was spacious and clean) but the Marriott has better room views, better pool areas, friendlier staff and a better location in terms of facilities outside the resort.

In particular, the "Shops At Wailea" mall is a few minutes away on foot and provides a very pleasant shopping experience with wide variety of stores and several restaurants. We dined in most of the restaurants during our stay and enjoyed the convenience of short stroll back to the hotel rather than the shuttle bus or taxi required for some of the other resorts further along the coast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Just spent 10 days at the Wailea Marriott enjoying majestic sunsets, lush Hawaiian grounds, and of course, the fabulous whales!!! The sprawling layout of this hotel is ideal to enjoy all that the great outdoors has to offer in Hawaii.
My third visit to this hotel in the last several years. What brings me back are the wonderful Marriott folks who truly embody that elusive "ALOHA" spirit us folks from the mainland crave. Alot like going "home" to see "family". Visits to Marriott timeshare properties in Ko Olina and Ka'aanapali last year were nice, but couldn't wait to get back to Wailea Marriott this year where people truly make the difference.
Marriott associates here are VESTED in your vacation experience and make a sincere attempt to accommodate your every need. From Lisa in Room Service to Terry and Anita at the Infinity pool, no attention to detail is overlooked.
I have to take a minute to especially single out Terry who caters to your every whim at the Infinity pool. Note to Marriott management and executive staff: I hope you know what you have in Terry!!! No where will you find a more dedicated Marriott associate who represents your brand better than Terry!!! Enthusiastic, energetic and effusive with her love for what she does...making sure each and every Marriott customer has the time of their life in Hawaii!! Terry: Job well done!!
Looking forward to planning my next vacation to the Wailea Marriott. As a Premier Marriott Destinations Club Owner and Marriott Gold Elite Rewards member, it is Marriott hotels like the Wailea property that make me happy to be a member of the Marriott family!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 3700 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 Business Hotel in Wailea
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#7 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Beach Marriott Hotel Wailea
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Wailea
Wailea Marriott
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.