We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good alternative to the more expensive properties in Wailea.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3700 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Wailea
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A good alternative to the more expensive properties in Wailea.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Wailea is a very quiet and relaxing destination. Though we holidayed during the US school holidays we were not bothered by children and getting reservations to restaurants etc was not a problem. The Marriott has an adults only infinity pool; maybe that was why kids were not a bother....
The hotel has a check in time of 4:00pm which is somewhat inconvenient since the majority of holiday makers arrive in the morning or early afternoon. We arrived at noon, tired and emotional after traveling for 16 hours and could not get access to the room for 4 hours. One of our number (a group of 7) had to wait until 4:45pm Big minus for that! Check in and checkout can take some time even when there only a few people at the check in counter. We noticed only one or two staff members manning the desks most of the time though there are more check in stations that could be utilized.
The hotel public areas are spacious and impressive. The hotel is situated on a large meandering property with a beach nearby and the Shops at Wailea mall immediately outside the hotel. Apart from shops there are a few restaurants in the mall – we can recommend Tommy Bahama’s Restaurant. Another recommendation is Sarento’s On The Beach. It is best to book these restaurants in advance, particularly Sarento’s
The rooms at the Marriott are large. They were clean, comfortable and well equipped with plenty of storage but did not have a 5 star luxurious feel. Our room was on the ground floor facing the adult infinity pool which was very convenient.
There is a Starbucks on site for coffee, snacks and some convenience items. WiFi is available at a cost but can be accessed free in the public areas outside Starbucks, reception and the outside foyer.
Service in the main was very good. We made a dinner booking from the reception desk for 7 people at the Kumu Bar & Grill, a hotel restaurant, but the message did not make it to the restaurant. Nevertheless they were able to accommodate us after a wait of 10 minutes.
Poolside service at the infinity adult pool was very good. See Terry for great service and a laugh.
Overall we had a very enjoyable stay. Compared to other 5 star hotels in the area it is not as luxurious but then again it is somewhat less expensive and represents good value.

Room Tip: A ground floor room facing the Infinity pool is very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,925 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    792
    683
    279
    110
    61
See reviews for
406
1033
36
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Staying at this resort makes you realize why Marriott is regarded so highly in the 'resort' community. This resort is an absolute gem. It's gorgeous, connected to the beach, has an infinity pool, has great recreation options, incredible food, and beautiful rooms. It's also situated in a community surrounded by golf courses and options to scuba dive.

Loved the resort. It's a tad pricey but there's a reason behind it. Also, they have their own Luau which is AMAZING. Had such a blat and Marriott made this one of the best vacations we've ever had. The concierge was fantastic too and took care of all our needs while there.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the water. Makes a HUGE difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is a mix of the great and the mediocre.

The exterior of the hotel is awful, but the rooms are spacious and comfortable, although the beds squeak. There are three separate pools, each with a different look: one has a pool bar, another is an idyllic infinity pool, where one swims in complete peace, the third has a great ocean view.

The staff are cold and distant, but usually helpful. The hotel encourages rental car drivers to park themselves, shunning valet, for which they charge: The Four Seasons, this is not.

Note: Forget using T-Mobile. It is only worse on the Big Island. This matters because the business centre is a disaster: a Self-help land where helping oneself is far from easy and plenty frustrating. Do not go to this hotel if you want to work whilst you play.

And warning: if anyone, whether at Avis or at the concierge recommends the road to Hana, prepare to ride on the road to nowhere! It is hard to enjoy the stops along the way when the winding road takes forever at speeds so slow, that a roadster feels like a bicycle. If you want to truly relax, skip the never-ending road and take a catamaran to snorkelling.

So, forget work and take in the scenery. The hotel looks out on a perfect expanse of sea and small islands in the distance. And, it is a short walk from the Four Seasons, where a drink at sunset is very civilised.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This has become our favorite place to stay while visiting Maui. Location is the biggest draw, Wailea is quiet, lovely beaches, the shops, and many restaurants are an easy walk or short drive. Starting each day with a walk on the path in front of the hotel is a treat. We're always happy to return to the Marriott after walking in front of the other hotels - its simplicity and Aloha spirit are what we are looking for while in Hawaii.
True there is no beach front, but we always stop at Boss Frog on the first day and pick up beach chairs and an umbrella so its easy to spend the day on the beaches to either side of the hotel, or take a short drive to one of the other beaches. We end every day at the Adult pool, Teri has become a friend and is a delight as she serves drinks. Don't miss sunset from the pool - you won't find a better view on the island.

This trip we were especially impressed with the freindliness and cheerful service of the staff. When we checked in they were updating computers so there was a bit of a backup. But management was out front, greeting guests, informing of the issue while passing out small drinks from the Starbucks to ease the situation. Sam chatted with us while we waited to check in, and then accompanied us to our room, delivering a few treats and making sure everything was fine. We were impressed at their efforts to overcome the inconvenience. The front desk cheerfully accomodated our request for a tower room with a view. Every time we passed any employee on the property we received a warm greeting and a smile. One day a maintenance man was in the elevator with us. We chatted a bit and he sincerely thanked us for staying there!

We love the tower rooms. They are showing a bit of wear, it would be nice if carpet were updated, and the couch in our room was very worn. It's time for an update, but given the beach location the wear is understandable.
Housekeeping did a fantastic job. Our room was well cleaned, plenty of towels replaced, fresh amenities each day. True, the bed is low and soft. I have a bad back and had no problem.

We love the Wailea Beach Marriott and come back as often as we possibly can! It's our first choice of the island!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent four days in this beautiful hotel in December 2012. This long overdue review has been spurred by my beginning to post reviews after many years of meaning to but not getting to it.
We had two teenage boys with us and we all loved this hotel. The grounds have to be seen to be believed. It is beautifully landscaped with tropical flowers everywhere, beach frontage, several pools, some full of activities for kids and one stunning adult pool. The breakfasts were not special but in my experience, not unusual for the US. More sweet than healthy options and very crowded but this was the only drawback and it's not major.

The rooms were very large and comfortable with a great outlook even from the entry level rooms we chose. The service was great and the position, on a busy but fun beach and a walk to a great outdoor mall with trees and good restaurants, made our hire car almost redundant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel was on our tour of 4 different Maui hotels, scouting for locations for a business meeting. This one won hands-down for best location on Maui because of proximity to beach, walking distance to the Shops at Wailea, and easy drive to/from the airport. The guest rooms are divided into several different Hanas, and ours did not have an elevator, so we had to lug baggage up and down stairs. Keep this in mind if you have a lot of luggage and/or kids, and you don't want to have to ask for help from the bell desk. Great meal and service at the restaurant Mala for both dinner and breakfast. We found the adults-only pool a little snobby for out taste, truth be told. Had to listen to other couples talking/complaining rather loudly the entire time, so it wasn't very relaxing. Better to go find a spot on the beach! Meeting spaces are great. Would recommend for a family vacation, though a bit pricey for the overall experience. See my review of the Makena Beach Golf Resort if you want more for the same price! Still a nice place to stay, though other than location it was not our very favorite.

Room Tip: Rooms in hana closest to beach are furthest from the lobby, but we enjoyed the roar of the ocean all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights this October. The location and grounds of this hotel are spectacular. The views out to the ocean are beautiful and you get a real "resort" feeling the moment you step into the hotel. We stayed in the tower on the 6th floor and we had distant ocean views from the balcony. When we checked in my husband and I were told that they only had a room with two queens instead of one king. Since we were there for our wedding anniversary we weren't happy with this. She then gave us the option of another room with a king with not quite such a good view. We booked and paid for a premium ocean view so not sure if what we were given was what we paid for. The person who checked us in did not seem very willing to make us feel welcome but just did what she had to. She was polite. Nevertheless the room was clean and seemed to have been updated in the not too distant past. The beds in this hotel are definitely an issue. I had read this on previous reviews and had thought " how bad can they be?". They are really bad believe me. I can sleep anywhere and in fact at home sleep on a water bed which is soft of course. The beds at marriott are so soft and lumpy you just sink in a bad position. My husband and I are both going home with bad backs. This hotel is really close to the shops at wailea where they have fantastic shopping and eating. We had most of out dinners there. There is also an ABC shop there where you can buy everyday necessities. This hotel could be really spectacular as they have such great grounds and location but their lack of attention to detail and failure to provide guests with with any extra care than what is basically required makes it just ok.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 3700 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#6 Family Hotel in Wailea
#7 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#7 Green Hotel in Wailea
#7 Business Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Beach Marriott Hotel Wailea
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Wailea
Wailea Marriott
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.