We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3700 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Nightly Credit
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Wailea
Wilmington, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This resort is really spread out over many acres with an open air lobby and 4 pools. Really loved the fact that they have an adult serenity pool as well as a children's pool. Views are amazing! The last 4 days there have been sea turtles in the ocean in front of the pool. The whales are gone this time of year but I was trying to imagine how delightful it would be to sit at the pool and watch the whales during the winter. Bring your binoculars. Also, Beautiful sunsets.
Food not so great although I did have a good salad for lunch at the pool. Mai Tai at the pool was tasty and they did not skimp on the alcohol.
Nice to have the Wailea shops next door. Nice upscale shopping with a couple of restaurants with great happy hours.

Room Tip: Room was nice size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    781
    680
    277
    110
    60
See reviews for
401
1027
35
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel needs to be razed and reconstructed from the ground up. It is one of the most dated hotels I've ever stayed in. The rooms are long in the tooth with dated finishes, bathrooms and everything. We were upgraded to a room very close to the ocean but it was ver,y very disappointing to the point it was maddening. The furniture is old and in disrepair. The glass doors and glass top table looked dirty with a layer or greasy oily film. The room had ants and we awoke to dead roaches in our room. The faucet in the sink is so cheap, it sprays and splatters water over you as you try to wash your hands. The bathroom is very old style from the 70's with the toilet crammed in next to the tub so it feels claustrophobic. This is coming from two travelers who are very skinny and thin. The tub looks like it has been clad in cheesy cararra marble at some point in the past to "jazz" it up but it fails miserably. Cararra is awful for hotels because it is so soft and prone to etching and after so many visitors it looks bad, old, dated and worn as well. The beds are miserably uncomfortable. The breakfast buffets have sneeze guards over the buffet trays but the brass/metal support are encrusted with bird crap. I know birds are awful at the buffets in Hawaii but everyone else except this cheesy Marriott keeps them clean. I can't believe they keep the Marriott name on this property. If I were the Marriott family and corporation I would have removed my name long ago from this old dated property. This is likely a hotel built by a private corporation and manged by Marriott and the owners need to spend money completely rennovating this awful property or change the name to RedRoof Inn Wailea and reduce their rate by 70%. I will never stay at this property again and I've told everyone I know about how terrible this dated, run down property is.

Room Tip: Stay at the Fairmont or Four Seasons instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Wailea Marriott for a second time during 4th of July week last summer. The hotel was super crowded, and there were a ton of kids. Our room was not as great as it was on our first trip, and because we were traveling during a peak week, it was much more expensive. Housekeeping was inconsistent and they often forgot to replace shampoo and soap. There were never enough towels. The service in general was quite poor. I think they were just too packed.

On a positive note, we enjoyed the adult pool. It is lovely. We rented a cabana one day and a casabella several days. Wailea is our favorite place to stay on Maui, and we enjoyed the easy access to the surrounding hotels and their fabulous restaurants. Spago at the Four Seasons was my favorite, and we love breakfast at Longhi's.

On our next trip to Maui, we will definitely skip the Wailea Marriott. Grand Wailea, Four Seasons and the Fairmont Kea Lani are much better.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the main lobby. Rooms there are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just spent 6 nights with a wonderful oceanfront room with spectacular, views of the Pacific - especially beautiful at sunset. Just a note of caution, check out the property before you reserve because some of the oceanfront builidings are further from the ocean than others. We stayed in building 7, on the first floor and were literally just feet away from the ocean. There are two beaches within easy walking distnance. The rooms are a little dated, but hey -- who wants to stay in their room in Hawaii? The are nicely appointed though, with a nice flat screen tv for those rainy days. Food was so-so. Avoid the breakfast buffet. While the view was spectacular, the food was mediocre and pricey. Go to the Starbucks instead and get a coffee and a muffin and sit on your lanai! Another plus for this property is that they have both a kids pool and an adults only pool, so for those without kids you can have some nice relaxing pool time. If you've got little ones the kids pools has a mini-beach, waterslides etc. Definitely a good place and I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms right by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

room average, bed very uncomfortable, ocean views were blocked by hedges, room noisy right next to Luau, and Kids pool??? Why would they place a couple in this location? It was very expensive,and the $30 a day resort fee - what can I say,
Unless you want to participate in activities it's a rip,off. I have stayed in many places, and this sits very low on my list.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
666 helpful votes 666 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is pretty comparable to the other ones in Wailea! For example, it is along the same row of the four seasons and Fairmont. The hotel offers an open-air lobby with torches around the gardens in the evening.

The rooms are very large, 437 ft.² for the smallest room. The only difference is the view that you would get! I had an oceanfront view overlooking the serenity pool, which was ideal. The reason I state that is because the serenity pool lights up with different colors in the evening, instead of looking at a dark ocean.

All rooms have flat-panel televisions, warm greetings from the staff and extremely friendly service.

I would highly recommend this hotel! I almost ended up staying at a different Marriott in Lahaina, which is mostly a timeshare I believe. This hotel is truly a luxury hotel. I am surprised the readings are not as high as the other hotels as this hotel really delivers.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent three nights at the Wailea Marriott in late March. The concierge had contacted us prior to our arrival to ask if we would rather have free wine and cheese waiting for us in the room, or coupons for Starbucks. Nice touch!

We arrived after a long, tedious flight from the east coast to find a beautiful, spacious outdoor lobby. The staff was warm and welcoming. We were upgraded to a two room suite on the first floor, conveniently located near the lobby, with balconies overlooking the ocean. Plenty of drawers and closets (with white terrycloth robes for each of us), and flat screen tvs in both rooms. Really comfortable mattresses and pillows.

Exhausted, we decided to get something to eat at the Cheeseburger restaurant in the nearby mall - food and drinks were not good. (But maybe we were just too tired.) There was an ABC-type convenience store in the mall too so we stocked up on essentials.

Over the next three days we walked around and saw the seal living on the beach in front of the hotel. Very amusing for guests and passers-by. The pools were lovely, if busy. We met some nice people there whilst sitting in the hot tubs. We were able to snorkel right off the beach at an amazing reef off to the right of the Marriott.

The location of the Marriott is excellent - right in the middle of the best beaches and resorts, with a small shopping mall within walking distance. It's fun to take a walk up and down the coast - beautiful vistas around every corner. It does get busy at times on the path.

At Mala, the restaurant on-site, we sat at the outside terrace overlooking the beach and ordered some happy hour drinks and appetizers. Delicious. Very friendly server. Great place to watch the sunset.

My only complaint would be that breakfast is too expensive there - over $25 per person. We ended up getting coffee and a bagel from the nearby mall, the Starbucks onsite, or the beach stand nearby.

At check out, the conceirge gave me a box of chocolate covered macademia nuts. A small but thoughtful gesture.

We headed down the beach for six nights at the Grand Wailea. Both hotels are lovely. Different of course, but it would be hard to say we liked one better than the other.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 3700 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#6 Family Hotel in Wailea
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#7 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#7 Green Hotel in Wailea
#7 Business Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Beach Marriott Hotel Wailea
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Wailea
Wailea Marriott
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.