We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE! Oceanfront means nothing!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3700 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“BEWARE! Oceanfront means nothing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This is our family's 3rd stay in the last 14 months at this hotel. This review is based on our current stay.
For everyone who says that being a Marriott Elite member gets you perks, think again! We are Platinum Elite (the highest rating) we reserved an oceanfront room this time after staying in Deluxe Oceanfront the other 2 times. Our current room is NOT oceanfront by any definition of terms! We were placed on the main tower which all rooms on our side face away from the rest of the property. We're overlooking a small parking lot and the delivery bay for trucks below our room. We get to hear the loud beeping of trucks backing up all day, with a side view of the ocean of in the distance. Some treatment of their loyal members huh? Not even just Marriott loyalty but loyalty to this particular resort. Needles to say I'm quite disappointed and will be reevaluating my loyalty to Marriott. We did not receive what we paid for at all!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    903
    374
    144
    78
See reviews for
547
1,342
47
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

So I have been travelling to Hawaii for the last 12 years - usually go at least once a year and try to stay at least 10 if not 16 days. I do not always make it by Maui - but when I do I always stay at this property and I have seen it evolve over the years (use to play in the grass that is now the infinity pool). I am also a lifetime Marriott Platinum Premier member who spends about 200 nights a year in a hotel somewhere (hence how I can afford to spend so much time in Hawaii) - so I have a better feel than most what kind of service you should expect from a hotel.

One of the great things that I have always enjoyed about this hotel was that I could sit out on the grass in a lounge chair and watch the whales and the ocean in a peaceful environment. In the past there were always a set of lounge chairs randomly set up around the property to allow for this. It was always first-come first serve and was usually not a problem to find at least one chair. On my last visit I noticed that the basic lounge chairs had be replaced with much nicer "cabana" style chairs and they were now by reservation only. I inquired about this and was told that now I had to pay $80 a day (only $70 if you have the resort card that you are required to buy to stay at the hotel - so not sure who is expected to pay $80). Now I know that I am not paying for my room (on points but the hotel is reimbursed by corporate) and the hotel is the #1 destination for PP members - but now to do what I use to do for free - I have to spend $70 a day (even if I just want to do it for an hour). If I was a full paying customer - I would be even more annoyed that I paid $300+ a day for a room, $25 a day for being at the resort, and now $70 a day to use the chairs. BTW - during my week at the resort I only noticed one couple using the chairs. The point of this is I should have the option of using the basic chairs for free or "living large" by using the cabana chairs. I not a cheap person by any means but I also don't like being "nickle and dimed" every time I turn around.

So now I have said my piece on the thing that annoyed me about their recent changes. The thing that has not changed is everything else that matters - the property was great, the room was great, everybody was extremely friendly and went out of their way to make our trip great. I should also note that the cleaning staff must have had my room on a watch list because no matter how short our initial time was away from the room in the morning - they managed to get in there and clean it without us ever coming back with them in the room. This is even more impressive when you consider we were all over the place on when you left our room.

For those that don't know - this hotel does not have a beach but there are two on either side that you can use (just doesn't have any service nor any chairs for Marriott guests). The hotel has multiple pools with the usual problem of people "reserving" their chairs first thing in the morning and then barely using them (never been to a hotel this was not an issue). One of the pools does not allow children in the area to keep things more peaceful but there is a much more kids friendly pool that they go to anyways. The property also has a lot of green space to wonder around along with some great areas to snorkel and generally play around in. While this might seem a odd combination but the hotel seems to do great with both couples and families without either bothering the other. This resort does not have the over-the-top kiddie pools that some other hotels offer but what they do offer is great for the kids (we use to travel here with our son as early as 6 years old).

The hotel is right beside a high-end shopping center that is an easy walk to and it has a decent area of shops to visit. There is also Kihei just down the road where you will find a lot of great places to eat and shop.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms on the first floor by the walk paths. These rooms seem to have no privacy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Came to Maui to celebrate 50th b-day...eight days at this location and two days at Ritz Carlton. This hotel will not disappoint, especially if you are Marriott Reward Members. The rooms are spacious with great views, staff is friendly and conveniently located...walking distance to Wailea shops and many restaurants. Try not to eat at Mala too often or you could definitely blow the budget. Walk over the Cheeseburger Restaurant for breakfast special of $5.99 or Longhis. The beach location is wonderful...Wailea has the most beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Facility is old but updated and very well kept. Fantastic service and friendly staff. Lobby and common areas are wonderfully open air. It is worth noting that self parking is very close and convenient. Very comfortable rooms, with balcony with seating for two. Rooms are also all tile, which is nice for cleanliness but be careful when you come in wet. The impression I got from other reviews and photos before we went was that the resort sits on a hill , far from the beach but this is not the case. There is a beautiful footpath that goes between the hotel buildings and is right on the water. It is short stroll to a beautiful beach and the views across the water are stunning at sunset. Pools are very nice, and kids pool is fantastic with three slides. Spent many an hour there (not by adults'choice) but can keep the kids busy for quite some time. Laundry facilities is a major advantage esp with kids. Walking distance to Shops at Wailea, short drive to Kihei. Business center and gym are both simple but convenient, and Starbucks on site is a major plus for jet lagged travelers, again, esp with kids!!! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the kids pool if you know you are going to be using it. Luau grounds are by Hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My family just returned home from our second stay at this hotel. We requested and were given the same room as our first trip 4 years ago because we loved it so much. There are beaches to both sides of the property which are great for swimming and snorkeling. Immediately in front of the property is a lava formation which my son loved climbing and exploring. This also attracts sea turtles which we looked at in the evening before the sun set.
We used Marriott points to stay here both times but would have chosen it any way.
We did not eat at the main restaurant but did have a couple of things from the pool area which were typical hotel food. There are many wonderful restaurants within walking distance. We also drove (and walked) to Kihei for restaurants with a large variety of styles and prices.
This trip we did a load of laundry while there which was convenient and only cost us $7 total for wash and dry. We also took advantage of the hospitality room on the last day so the kids could hang out at the pool after check out.

Room Tip: We liked room 2201 because it is private and you can walk straight out to head down to the water and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We decided to start our trip with a bit of luxury for 3 nights (too many) with this hotel in Wailea on the south coast.
Nothing to criticize if you want to be a lost in acrowd of turists....except the price
!
The serenity pool is luxurious, The best mai tai I had was at the pool bar. The room comfortable and boring had a view on the pool and the sea. Sand beaches near by.
There is a mall within a walking distance and a string of luxury hotels all along the coast.
We even indulged in the hotel turist Luau which was surprinsingly good and entertaining ..I got really upset when on top of the $380 room and th $30 daily "resort fee"' they charged $15 a day for wifi ! That is a deal breaker for me even though there is a starbucks on the premises . Question of principle
The weather is not as good as in the west coast, so retrospectively, it would have been better to sunbask in Laihena .

Room Tip: ask for a ocean view but there is of course a surcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Being an east-coaster used to Carribean hotels, the Wailea Marriott was a breath of fresh air - excellent service, clean and up-to-date rooms, terrific (and quiet!) infinity pool, and great location close to shops. Note that the beach is a short walk away, but I consider this a plus given how quiet it is by the hotel pool. Breakfast was excellent, lunch items less so. There are some less desirable rooms, but several couples I knew requested changes and the hotel was happy to oblige. Having dined at the Four Seasons, I can certainly see what makes that a "superior" hotel, but not at three times the price. If I'm lucky enough to return to Wailea, I'll stay at the Marriott again - terrific value (except the spa - save your $$).

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter and farther away from the children's pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.8 mi away
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
0.3 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
23.2 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 3700 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#6 Family Hotel in Wailea
#6 Business Hotel in Wailea
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#7 Green Hotel in Wailea
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Wailea Beach Marriott Hotel Wailea
Marriott Wailea
Wailea Marriott
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.