We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3700 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Parker
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Nice quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice time during our recent stay at the Wailea Beach Marriott. Staff were all very helpful and polite. This is a perfect resort to whale watch, right from your ocean front room. We saw a mother and baby whale playing just offshore within our first hour there. We only had one dinner there so can't really speak to the food, but what we had was excellent. Our room was average size with plenty of storage. The bathroom was a bit small and only had one sink. There was an ironing board and iron in the room along with a wall safe for your valuables. The mattress was super comfortable as we're the pillows. Wish I had both at home. The only downside would be that they don't have their own beach. What they have in front of the property is rocks. This was a good choice regardless.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    842
    347
    137
    73
See reviews for
495
1,257
43
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott this week for 5 days while attending a conference in Maui. Had a ocean facing room (room 7333). The hotel is on a very large property with multiple units. The check-in was seamless. They do impose a compulsory resort fee of 30 dollars (that includes self parking and you have to pay it even if you don't have a rental car). The room was spacious, clean and spacious. The room was right off the ocean walk and within a few steps you are on your way to the beach (which by the way is not off the hotel but is a short walk away). All beaches in Maui are public so within a short walk you are at the beach. The beach is right off the Wailea resort which is the adjacent hotel. Though the conference was at the Wailea hotel I opted to stay at the Marriott as it was more reasonable and am a gold member. There are scattered pools in the hotel which were well kept and within a short walk from the room. I used the health club which was adequately equipped. There is Starbucks in site which is plus and it opens at 5:30 am in the morning. Had dinner at the Mala restaurant with a breathtaking view and excellent food. Shops at Wailea is short walk with good restaurants as well as a reasonably priced convenience store.

Room Tip: Try to get a ocean view room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Top Contributor
430 reviews 430 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We watched whales and dolphins from our window everyday and the sunsets were nice. The staff provides efficient check-in and check-outs. The conference facilities are decent. They have a Starbucks on premises with 3 hours gratis Wi-Fi per day (hotel charges $18 per day). Hotel also charges $25 luggage portage. I did not realize it was this much as we also paid the porter $10 as a tip. The two pools are small but one of the waitresses kindly let us have a bottle of our own Rose Champagne to have by the pool (we paid for a covered chaise - worth reserving in advance at $25 for the whole day). One drawback is the fact that to access a beach, you must walk to the Grand Wailea (not a far walk, however). Like the other large hotels in the Wailea area, you can access a communal paved path that runs the length of the area. A full round-trip must be about three miles or so. It can be crowded but it is a lovely length to walk or run. The gym is OK, we did not try the restaurnats, too many other good ones in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, WI
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very nice property in south Maui. Right on the ocean. Wonderful walkway along the ocean...made a morning walk very enjoyable. No beach front but there is a beach right next to property ...easy walk to it. Property is beautiful but the rooms could use some updating...no table in room but there is on your balcony, however no lights on balcony to use at night. No smoking on the balcony either...in fact the entire property only had 3 small areas in which to smoke which was fine for my husband but I do smoke. Staff was very friendly except for our front desk check in lady. We checked in at 10:45 pm & was told right away that we were the next to last persons due to check in that night & that they were 100% full...she seemed like she wanted to go home & that we were keeping her there late. The bar was shut down for the night & when asked if there was somewhere to go close by..she said no...all is closed around the hotel which we found out next day was not true....the Shops of Wailea had a couple bars that were open at night & right next to the hotel!! But all other staff were very nice at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

If you long to stay in sunny Wailea but can't afford the Four Seasons- the Marriott Wailea is the perfect hotel for you. It is a bit older but there is one awesome advantage of its age and that is its proximity to the water. New Hawaii laws require hotels to be set back off the water- not the Marriott! You can hear the whales breathe from the pool- seriously!!!! The rooms need a bit of love. They are very clean but just bland. People paying $400/night want color and light. These rooms are dull! Also understand what Marriott calls ocean front you and I would call ocean view. If you want a room overlooking the ocean- you need to upgrade to Deluxe Oceanfront rooms. The property itself is beautiful! The whale watching is spectacular. Spring for a cabana at the pool and spend the day watching whales breach in the water! If you are trying to decide between Wailea and other areas remember Wailea gets less than 3 inches of rain a year...Hana gets close to 300. If you want to do everything in your power to ensure a sunny vacation- go to Wailea. We have been to this property 3 times now and loved each visit!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Well, we used much earned points to stay here for five nights and were not disappointed! The Marriott has a great location and beautiful well kept grounds, the groundskeepers working daily to maintain the beauty. It has a very grand entrance down a winding tree lane with a beautiful open air lobby. Our check -in took longer than usual because Whitney tried very hard to get us the best room available. She was wonderful and couldn't be more helpful.

The hotel was at 100 per cent occupancy, and we stayed in a ground floor room in Hale Building 6. Our room overlooked a grassy slope with views of the ocean. (Originally we were to be overlooking the children's pool which we would not have enjoyed) I was not sure how we would like being on the ground floor but it was really great and extended our living space. My husband loved it! It was nice to walk out on the lanai and down to the ocean! Yes, as other have noted the beds are low, but we were comfortable. The rooms seem spacious to us, very simple decor but beautiful view. The houskeeping staff was always polite and pleasant, they handled all all requests promptly. Since there are not many rooms in this building, is was very quiet and peaceful.

We enjoyed walking down the path daily to enjoy the whale sightings and take a walk to go to the beach. Since we did some sightseeing during the day we enjoyed the pool after 3pm and would stay to watch the gorgeous sunset each evening. The serenity pool is just beautiful. What a place to watch the sunset!

I can't really comment on how crowded the pools were during the day since hanging around the pool during the hot afternoon is not our thing, but we never had any problems finding places to relax in the later part of the afternoon.

I would also like to mention that one of the managers, Frank, is constantly visable in the lobby and talking to guests. He came to speak to us after noticing that we were at the desk longer than usual during our check in and asked us if there had been a problem. No, we told him, the clerk was just trying to find us the best room. We were surprised to have a beautiful fruit platter sent to our room with a nice note from him latter that day. That was extremely thoughtful.

We did walk through the Four Seasons and the Grand Wailea to see the properties. They are newer and appear more grand but I am sure much more expensive and seems like it would be more crowded. Don't know for sure since we were there early mornings.

My negative comments would be regarding the resort fee, the additional charge for Wi Fi (ridiculous) and for me personally, the ceramic tile floors in the rooms are hard on the feet. Other than that, the title of my review says it all! We would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We liked Hale building 6 - quiet and nice views. Loved the ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Having come from Kuaii Marriott Beach Resort & Spa expected more, esp. given higher price. Reception and Conceirge staff rude, way overpriced $35 chicken stir fry and nothing of value comes with the resort fee. The worst part are the beds- futon style and very uncomfortable. We almost left after 2 consecutive nights of poor sleep. Not the normal Mariott beds!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 3700 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#6 Business Hotel in Wailea
#6 Family Hotel in Wailea
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#7 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Wailea Beach Marriott Hotel Wailea
Marriott Wailea
Wailea Marriott
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.