We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for 2 hours and went to Four Seasons ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Sale - 15% off
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Wailea
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Stayed for 2 hours and went to Four Seasons ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

Maui was our last stop on our 2 week honeymoon. After staying the Halekulani in Oahu, one can understand why our expectations were high. I will warn readers that I stay at some great hotels in the US that set my standards - Pennisula, Four Seasons and Ritz. If you are used to second tier hotels, this property will probably be great for you. If you are used to staying at the top hotels, you will be very upset what you get for the price.

The minute we walked into this hotel, I had a horrible feeling about it. It is set up poorly and the staff is lethargic, bordering on pathetic. At the front desk, the gentleman was extremely rude when checking in. Another note, I am from New York and I do not mind rudeness very much. However, this guy was really a jerk. We waited for 2 hours for the room, after being told that there were no upgrades available - without even checking. Had a medicore lunch at the pool restaurant with weak service. While there, we noticed maybe one server walking around the pool.

We booked a full ocean view room for a hefty rate and told them that this was a honeymoon trip. Once we got our room, we realized that the view was once of an ocean...45 degree BUT it overlooked a construction zone - dirt mounds and all. It was the weakest room that I have ever been put in for that kind of money. We called the Four Seasons and booked a room there. This is probably the worst part of the story...when I went down to inform them that we would be checking out, the guy ONLY said, "OK, we hold a two night deposit and we will send a bellman up to your room in five minutes." That is it! Not a question about what was wrong or if they could do something. NOTHING, just see ya.

Upon our arrival to the Seasons, they immediately upgraded our room to an ocean front, huge room and sent champagne later in the evening. The scary thing is that price was the exact same! The property is utterly beautiful and food is great. You never need to leave the grounds.

The Fairmont, however, could be fine for a large family. All the rooms are suites and they have a large water slide etc. At teh same time, if you can afford it, the Four Seasons has an amazing rec room for kids complete with a video game room.

I spent only two hours at the Fairmont and knew it was not for us. I would not recommend it to anyone, not will I ever stay at a Fairmont in the future.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,057 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,380
    445
    140
    73
    19
See reviews for
651
774
21
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, FL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

We had our daughter's wedding here on the Polo Lawn. We were suppose to have it at the gazebo, but the film festival was having a cocktail party near there and we were worried about the noise, so the hotel was nice enough to move us to the lawn. I am glad they did because it was beautiful there looking out on the water. They were very helpful with phone calls through the months and never got tired of my questions! The pictures on the grounds turned out beautiful.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

This is my first visit to Maui, and I initially had reservations to stay at a place in Lahaina, where I thought all of the action was supposed to be (at least that's what I read in the guidebooks). My first day here I couldn't get through to Lahaina because of a brush fire that closed the highway - I hear that's not too uncommon (maybe once a year of so). At any rate, I ended up jumping hotels, from the Diamond resort to the Maui Prince and finally, the Fairmont.

Of all the places I stayed, the Fairmont was by far the locale that made me feel most pampered, which was exactly what I needed for this trip. I'm not much of a shopper, so the shops themselves weren't a big deal, but I love to eat, and I am picky about accommodations (especially a sucker for nice pools and pristine bathrooms).

The Fairmont delivered in every way - the Prince was nice, but I wasn't wild about the outdated bathrooms (think old tiles and wooden cabinets) or the pool, which was small. The Diamond resort was really nice as well (I liked it more than the Prince), but very isolated (the Japanese restaurant was barren when I was there). Their pool was also small.

It's been awhile since I've been on vacation, so I was a bit shocked at the prices for all accommodations, but when I finally let my desire for a truly nice place win out, I chose the Fairmont and am so happy I did.

  • Liked — Bathrooms and pool
  • Disliked — Prices
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

Our stay at this resort was one I will remember for a long time to come. Our room was absolutely unbelievable. I don't understand the negative reviews about the dated furniture. You're in Maui -- chill out and just get over yourself.

As with the review before mine, my husband also earned this trip to Maui through an incentive program at work. We are already planning our next stay at the Kea Lani. (He doesn't know it, but I'm thinking next year!!) The staff was very helpful and accomodated us with whatever we needed. We enjoyed an excellent dinner at Nick's -- you have to try the strawberry flambe dessert -- it was beyond words.

We golfed at both Makena South and Wailea Emerald. Both were challenging courses and well maintained. Wailea did have better views, but Makena's #15 was breathtaking.

The Fairmont Kea Lani was without a doubt - first class. The grounds were immaculate. The pools were exceptional. The drinks were great. What more can I say? You WILL enjoy your time here. Aloha!

  • Liked — Spacious rooms and great bathroom
  • Disliked — I didn't dislike anything!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

I booked the Fairmont for my wife and I to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. I must say this was the best trip we have ever had together! The Fairmont is absolutely beautiful, the staff was friendly, the food was excellent, and the pools are exquisite. If we return to Maui, we will definitely be booking the Fairmont again. It also helps that Maui is beautiful and we had perfect weather the entire week we were there. If there are any negatives, it would only be the expense of staying at this property. Nick's is very good, but pricey. The food that you can order by the pool is also quite expensive. One great option if you are trying to manage your food budget is to eat breakfast and lunch at Cafe Ciao Deli - while still expensive not nearly as much as the main restaurant. The Cafe is right by the adult pool so it is easy to walk to the Deli and get your own food and drinks.
Overall, I think the Fairmont is a good value for the money - after all, you expect your vacation to be expensive if you choose a 5 star property!

  • Liked — The rooms are awesome
  • Disliked — The food prices
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

Fairmont Kea Lani is a beautiful resort in Wailea. Service is outstanding! Quiet rooms and beautiful surroundings. All rooms are suites with a huge bathroom and small refrigerator/microwave bar area. Pool area is fabulous and beach area is good for snorkeling too. Self parking is free. I would highly recommend this resort. Check out the hotel website for specials. Our plane did not leave until late at night and they have complimentary hospitality rooms for you to shower and clean-up. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Pool area and room size
  • Disliked — Nothing- it was all wonderful
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

Like the previous reviewer, I was recently at the Kea Lani due to an incentive that I earned through work. My wife and I were there from June 17-22, and we had a great time! In all honesty, this review is tempered with the fact that we did not pay for this trip, which may have made me less picky??? We stayed on the 3rd floor in an oceanview room, and it was "updated" and huge. My wife said that she woke up every morning, walked out on the huge lanai, and said "another day in paradise". We were treated very well by a knowledgeable and friendly staff.

Let's face it - the place is beautiful, but it should be for $600+ a night! Be prepared for EVERYTHING to be expensive... $19 hamburgers at the grille by the pool (not including cheese?).

We ate banquet style with our group at each meal, and the food was excellant. We did not eat at Nick's, but chose Mama's Fish House on the North Shore for our "expensive" meal ($100 lunch for 2 w/ no drinks). The scenery at Mama's just can't be beat and the food was great!

To sum it up, if you can afford it, it is a gorgeous place. But if were my tab, I would never pay this much. At $600+ per night, it makes my Marriott timeshare look like an even better deal!

Another FYI - If you are going to stay here, join the "President's Club" at the "Fairmont.com" website. It costs nothing, and you get a free daily paper, hi speed internet, and discounts in the Fairmont store.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Green Hotel in Wailea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#4 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#4 Business Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Kea Lani is Hawaii’s only all suite and villa luxury oceanfront resort, situated on 22 acres of tropical landscape in sunny Wailea, Maui. With the newly-opened 9,000 square-foot Willow Stream Spa, three swimming pools including an adults-only pool, two activity pools connected by a 140-foot waterslide, various beach activities and nearby championship golf, it’s the perfect place for a Maui vacation. Both fine dining and casual options may be found in the resort’s four restaurants, which include a gourmet bakery and deli and the award winning signature restaurant, Kō. Other hotel amenities include a 24-hour fitness center and classes, a year-round kid’s club, boutique shopping, wedding coordination services and 36,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.