We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kea Lani suite was our nicest room in Hawaii” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui to your Saves list
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
A Great Gift Sale - $229
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Kea Lani suite was our nicest room in Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

We stayed at the Fairmont Kea Lani for 5 nights beginning on August 29th and were very pleased with our hotel choice. We were upgraded to an ocean view room when we checked in (after reserving the cheapest) and LOVED the room, which was huge. There's a kitchenette right when you walk in with an empty fridge (we stocked up at Walmart ahead of time), sink, microwave, etc. The bathroom is huge and it was really nice having a separate living room from the bedroom, both equipped with nice TV's and DVD players. The Lanai was gigantic and had an awesome view of the adult pool area and ocean. We were staying there with our toddler and the hotel provided a nice crib.

The restaurants were all great, especially Nick's Fish Market which was one of our favorites. (We went with our little one and they brought him lots of fun snacks). The wine list was huge and the food was incredible. We really liked lunch at the Polo Lounge next to the "upper pool", but the prices were kind of steep. (Try the nachos!) The regular breakfast dining area was closed for renovations, so the daily breakfast buffet was moved to a function room near Ko. Didn't love the location, but the food was pretty good. I liked the little market they have there, was convenient to be able to run down and get things that we needed.

The beach and the pool at Kea Lani are both perfect. I've read reviews about the beach being too small, but it is a lot bigger than we expected (And it's not shared with other hotels like at the Four Seasons!), we ended up spending every afternoon playing in the waves and making sand castles. The pool is really nice, but could use an update at some point in the future. The waterslide is fun and we were glad that they had a shallow "baby pool" where our little one could play with other kids his age. The staff around the pool is always walking around with fresh pineapple and offering drinks to all the hotel guests.

As for negatives about the hotel, I was disappointed with the fitness center which is really tiny and not well-equipped. The parking lot (which is free) has a weird layout making it difficult to park when it's really full. We had problems with our room keys not working and it was annoying that the breakfast room was in a weird place, but this seemed like just a temporary thing.

Overall, the staff was first class. The girls at the concierge desk were always willing to go above and beyond and helped us with lots of restaurant recommendations. Only bad staff was the mean bartender at the bar outside Ko - would it kill you to smile once in awhile? This was our first trip to Maui and I think we would definitely stay at the Fairmont again when we go back. I'mnot sure I would pick it for my honeymoon, but it is beyond perfect if you're heading to Wailea for a family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,622
    488
    149
    75
    21
See reviews for
770
893
23
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

We used the Fairmont as a central location/hotel for our family of 15 to stay at for our wedding. We had children under 6, teenagers and adults. This hotle had every amenity one would need. Nick's Fishmarket is located in this hotel and is one of the best seafood restaurants in all of Maui. This hotel also had one of the most exclusive beaches compared to the neighboring hotels. All around we were very please with our 6 days stay here.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Going into trip and viewing the website for the hotel wasn't sure what we were getting into. From the moment we arrived to the time we left it was great. The staff was one of the nicest and friendly staffs we have encountered in our travels. The room was great for a family. The views were amazing and most of all we got to relax and enjoy the time there.

They really have a great atmosphere for kids to enjoy water and foods. Our 15th month only had one great time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Probably one of my favorites! It is great for adults and kids alike. With it's adult pool and poolside massage to kids camp and waterslide, it's a great place to relax and enjoy the wonderful weather.

THey have complimentary introductory diving in the pool and from there you can go get your feet wet in the ocean. Th staff is always friendly and helpful and the seafood is definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Fairmont for our honeymoon. We first went to Oahu and were very happy we went there first, as we would have been very disappointed staying there after being in Maui! Maui was so much more beautiful and more relaxing for a honeymoon! Upon arrival we received a lei and a cup of POG juice, delicious! Our room was spacious and well cleaned everyday. We loved the turn down service! On our first night we returned to the room to find the music turned on, the lights dimmed and a letter and picture frame waiting for us as a honeymoon gift. We also loved the buffet breakfast everyday, however, we would not have eaten there if it were not already included in our room rate. It was 30 dollars a person, not worth it otherwise! Birds were waiting for you to leave your seat to feed on your left overs. It was pretty obnoxious, especially when I was the one sitting there when my husband went up for seconds. The staff was very prompt in removing plates, as they knew about this problem. The hotel was crowded with children but we hardly noticed since we spent most of our time at the adult pool. Sunsets could not be beat! This was by far a memorable stay and the nicest hotel we have ever stayed. We hope to come back soon but it is quite expensive.
I recommend staying in September or October when all the kids are back at school, that is if you are staying on a honeymoon. Also, we highly recommend booking the free outrigger canoe excursion! This was one of our favorite things we did and it was only a short 15 minute trip. The man who runs this was amazing. He taught us Hawaiian language and history. We paddled out pretty far and then he provided us with goggles and we all jumped out into the ocean. We had already taken a snorkel trip to molikini but this was pretty fabulous and it was free!! Sign up as soon as you arrive, it books up fast!

Pros:
*Beautiful grounds
* Adult pool
*Yummy drinks
*peaceful
*Beautiful beach
*outrigger excursion
*Waliea is the best spot to stay in Maui! It's definitely more of a ritzy area compared to Lahania.
*friendly staff
*breakfast buffet

Cons:
*Many children
*expensive room service and restaurants on the grounds
*expensive drinks by the pool. $12 to be exact.
*Don't waste your time eating at Mulligans at the Grand Waliea. There was lots of hype about this place but our service was absolutely terrible and we were clearly not the only ones complaining! Not worth it for the food or price!
*Rooms smell a little musty on the bottom floors.

*

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

We stayed in a one-bedroom suite and the room is large and comfortable for a family of four. Nice amenities like fridge and sink. The patio was a great place to watch the sunset. The true highlight of the resort was the grounds and pools. The main pool gets a little busy but is big enough to accommodate everyone and the slide was pretty fun. We spent most of the time in the upper pool or adult pool. The beach in front of the hotel was nice and there were plenty of chairs all over the resort so it never felt crowded. Snorkelling was pretty decent but better on the left side. The only issue I would raise is that you had to pay for beach umbrellas and cabanas. Otherwise, it was a great stay for a week getaway.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed here on a business rewards vacation. We were incredibly impressed with the entire property. From the moment you step into the lobby you are aware of the attention to detail and the absolute beauty of Maui.
Customer service was clearly a priority. Food, drinks, pools were all wonderful. Highly recommended. We had a partial ocean view and were quite satisfied.
Do see a sunset in Lahaina and most definitely take your camera and do the Road to Hana trip. The spa was impeccable.!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Kea Lani is Hawaii's only all suite and villa luxury oceanfront resort, situated on 22 acres of tropical landscape in sunny Wailea, Maui. Enjoy Travel + Leisure Magazine's 2014 Top Spa in Hawai'i at the resort's Willow Stream Spa, three swimming pools including an adults-only pool, two activity pools connected by a 140-foot waterslide, various beach activities and nearby championship golf, it's the perfect place for a Maui vacation. Both fine dining and casual options may be found in the resort's four restaurants, which include a gourmet bakery and deli and the award winning signature restaurant, Ko. Other hotel amenities include a 24-hour fitness center and classes, a year-round kid's club, boutique shopping, wedding coordination services and 36,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.