We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who is Handing out the 5 Star Ratings?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui to your Saves list
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
A Great Gift Sale - $229
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Who is Handing out the 5 Star Ratings?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2005

My husband and I and four good friends just returned from 4 nights in Waikiki (at the Hilton Hawaiian Village -- see review) and 3 nights at the Fairmont Kea Lani. We were really looking forward to the 5 star experience the Fairmont offered for $665/night. All six of us were uniformly disappointed. At first glance, the resort looks decadent. A closer look reveals a worn and dingy appearance. The rooms were nice sized, but had a lot of wasted space. The deluxe ocean view was very nice, if only slightly worse than the view we had on Waikiki at less than half the price. The private beach was tiny with an unpleasant shore break. The pool was pleasant, but the chairs and grounds were somewhat dilapidated, with peeling paint, chipped furniture and average common areas. I was put off by the $75 price tag on the poolside cabanas. The service was cool and aloof; the staff was never overtly friendly and lacked the Aloha spirit that makes Maui so charming. In general, we were made to feel like strangers. The spa services were wonderful (the massages were high quality), but the spa itself was miniscule and unimpressive, consisting only of showers and a steam room. The restaurants were only average. Breakfast buffet was $28 per person and was pretty good. My only complaint is that they ran out of hot tea and didn't bother to obtain any during my four days there. What 5 star resort runs out of tea bags? In contrast, we visited the Four Seasons and Grand Wailea for dinner. The Four Seasons definitely gave off a classy, clean, elegant feeling throughout. The Grand Wailea appeared equally nice, abeit massive, and catered more to families with children. Both of these resorts made a better impression than the Fairmont. As far as the island, the beaches were magnificent. The Haleakala bike ride was worth the 2:00 a.m. departure time (really!). Eat at Humuhumunukunukuapua'a (Grand Wailea) for a beautiful sunset and great food. In short, it looks like the Fairmont's 5 star rating was handed out decades ago. Time has not been kind to the Fairmont. When I return to Maui, I'll choose the Four Seasons for a more intimate, upscale experience. Either that or the Ritz Carlton in Kapalua. For truly discriminating travelers, believe those who questioned the 5 star rating. I only wish I had.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,625
    488
    149
    75
    21
See reviews for
770
896
23
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2005

My wife and I just returned from 4 days at the Fairmont Kea Lani. She did a lot of research and chose this hotel over the Four Seasons, which in hindsight was mistake.

Check in went smoothly and we were impressed by the lobby and the view of the ocean. We were greeted with lei's, smiles and fresh fruit juice as we checked into our room.

Everything went fine, until we actually got to our room. We've both traveled extensively and know five star when we see it. Upon entering our room, we noticed a musty smell, like the carpets had just been cleaned and were still wet. We inspected the room to find the furniture stained and dirty, the furniture on the outside veranda filthy, paint cracking in the room and out and just generally not remotely close to a higher quality resort we were expecting.

We asked to move to another room, which was done with ease and very politely. The next room didn't have the odor but, was still in need of some touch up. There was rust in the rest room, floorboards beat up, furniture placed strangely with a large area simply left open with no chair, table, etc.

We ate at Nick's one night and it followed that same theme. Great service and food. Our table wasn't level however and we struggled with it wobbling back and forth all night and the table was covered with ants from the wall it was setting next to. Another lack of eye for detail for a high quality establishment.

Walking around the facility we saw large cracks in the sidewalks, dirty walls around the walkways in the pool area, signs rusty and illegible. Generally, the place had a very low level of maintenance. If this were a Holiday Inn, I would have let it slide but, for $500.00+ a night, it's just not acceptable.

In summary, the Fairmont Kel Lani's service and staff were well trained, friendly and polite. The facility itself, however, needs some serious maintenance and someone there that has an eye for what a five star resort should look like. Just walk down to the Four Seasons and compare the difference in the main areas.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2005

This is our second time at the Kea Lani and it was just as amazing as 3 yrs. ago. It is my favorite hotel in Wailea. The rooms have all been newly remodeled. The service was excellant. The rooms are huge and the ocean view was worth every penny!!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

My wife and I spent 5 nights of our honeymoon at the Fairmont in July 2005. It's a great place, probably the best resort/hotel I've ever stayed in. I can't really think of any negatives, except the cost of food was on the high side. But they were not out of line compared with other places and Maui.

We found the service throughout the resort to be excellent-the front desk, activities desk, poolside, housekeeping, etc. As you would expect, the grounds, rooms and lobby/common areas are immaculate. The beach is picture perfect. The pools are large and well kept. We had a mountain view room, which had a large balcony, DVD/VCR players, walk in tiled shower, etc etc.

We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2005

My husband, two children and I stayed at the Fairmont Maui for five nights. In our opinion, the Fairmont has set the standard. Elegant, comfortable, never pretentious perfection. The grounds are stunning. The restaurants outstanding. The service exceptionally friendly and accommodating. The rooms are almost too nice...we had a hard time leaving each morning! We can't wait to return. When we left the Fairmont for our five evening stay on Kauai, we only wish we could have taken the hotel with us.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2005

Spacious, 800 sq foot suites. Excellent, attentive staff. Do not miss the pricey spa services. Well worth the price to leave all the Mainland woes behind. Onsite food is expensive, except for the breakfast buffet. Do not miss the macadamia nut sticky buns. Within walking distance of the Shops at Wailea, where you can get everything from a Tiffany bauble to a juicy Hamburger in Paradise. Beautiful walking path along the ocean between the neighboring resorts. Free outrigger canoe ride early in the morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2005

We loved our stay in the Kea Lani. We split our trip 5 days in Kannapalii and 4 days in Wailea.We checked into "White Heaven" July,13. Our suite was a corner suite and absolutely beautiful.Our bathroom was huge.Our room was not a refurbished one but the decor was very nice. I would not recommend this hotel for a summer honeymoon there were tons of kids which was great for us but I would not like it if I were on an adult trip. I loved everything about this resort the service was great for us maybe if you are friendly people are friendly in return.I found the service to be excellent. This is a beautiful property my favorite time was at night they light torches everywhere it is so romantic, I was surprised by negative reviews. I would give this place a 93 out of 100!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Kea Lani is Hawaii's only all suite and villa luxury oceanfront resort, situated on 22 acres of tropical landscape in sunny Wailea, Maui. Enjoy Travel + Leisure Magazine's 2014 Top Spa in Hawai'i at the resort's Willow Stream Spa, three swimming pools including an adults-only pool, two activity pools connected by a 140-foot waterslide, various beach activities and nearby championship golf, it's the perfect place for a Maui vacation. Both fine dining and casual options may be found in the resort's four restaurants, which include a gourmet bakery and deli and the award winning signature restaurant, Ko. Other hotel amenities include a 24-hour fitness center and classes, a year-round kid's club, boutique shopping, wedding coordination services and 36,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.