We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort, Beautiful Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now, Save Later 30%
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort, Beautiful Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed in one of the 3-bedroom villas with a full kitchen and private plunge pool. Picturesque. Just steps from a wonderful beach and a nice, paved beach trail that winds past The Four Seasons, Wailea, and Andaz (great for morning walks or runs). Really great housekeeping staff -- and staff in general. Only complaint was that the pool drink service was a little slow. And the beach services (chairs and umbrellas) seem to be outsourced and with a less-enthusiastic staff.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Aloha Jerry. We're delighted that you enjoyed your villa experience – it’s very special and unique. However, we do apologize for the level of service you received at the beach and pool areas. Please know our staff is held to a very high level and there is no excuse for providing anything but friendly and accommodating service. All your comments will be shared with the key departments, especially your kind words of the housekeeping team. We truly hope to welcome you back in the future. Mahalo and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,494
    468
    145
    74
    20
See reviews for
731
805
23
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a great resort if you enjoy the pool. The beach lacks a little but the overall experience and restaurants were fabulous. The shuttle service was easily available for shopping and restaurants in town. Staff and spa were fabulous

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kula
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Fairmont Kea Lani was the only hotel in Wailea that we could find to help us celebrate our sons seventh birthday. They allowed us to have his birthday party by their pool and went above and beyond to make sure our party and our stay was wonderful. We recommend them highly. The Kea Lani staff takes extra steps to make sure your stay is personalized and gives you the feeling that each guest is cared for this way. Our family loves the Kea Lani! The Hustons from Kula, HI

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Aloha Danielle! Thank you for choosing to celebrate your son’s very special day with us and sharing your experience! We work hard to provide our guests with a personal level of service and a very memorable experiences, so it is extremely gratifying to know this has been accomplished for you. We look forward to welcoming The Huston family back again soon. Happy belated birthday to your son from the Fairmont ohana. Warmest aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved our stay here. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are clean and kept nice. My husband and I did a couples stone massage at the spa and to this date it was the best massage I have ever had. The beach area in front of the hotel is as good as it gets. I really have zero negatives about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was an amazing property, beautiful inside and out. Have a massage on the beach, April my massage therapist was wonderful a truly amazing person. The groundsmen are always working on this property. They have games for the adults as well as the children.

Room Tip: All rooms toward the beach are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Aloha Karyn! It’s fantastic to learn that you had such a wonderful stay with us. We're so glad that you especially enjoyed your massage in our outdoor oceanside spa cabana – we’ll be sure to share you kind comments with April. Mahalo for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Aloha and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel itself was beautiful, but customer service was lacking. Also, do not attempt to smoke anywhere in Hawaii our hotel called my unopened pack of ciggerettes "an illegal substance". The food was okay, but I expected so much more....it was Maui for goodness sake! You had to go seek out activities and the desk was not terribly helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review. We’re so sorry that you had such a negative experience at our resort. Please be assured that your comments are taken very seriously and will be reviewed with our leadership team so we can better communicate Hawaii’s Smoke-Free Law with future guests. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future and giving us the opportunity to provide an outstanding vacation experience. Best wishes and a warm aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We visited three islands on our recent visit to Hawaii and the Fairmont Kea Lani was by far the best "fit" for our family of four. First of all, the rooms are very spacious, the pools are big and one is reserved for playing ball, and the beach access is EXCELLENT! I would highly recommend this hotel to any family with older children who would like some freedom in a safe environment. We opted to rent a cabana poolside for several of the days during our stay and were thrilled with the service (coolers with juice, water, and soft drinks) and an afternoon fresh fruit tray. There is a foot path which makes it possible to walk to other properties and a good access point just past some residential units to snorkel. Overall, this was the best experience of the trip and we would definitely stay here again. Oh, and have a lava flow for us if you end up staying here, okay?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Kea Lani is Hawaii's only all suite and villa luxury oceanfront resort, situated on 22 acres of tropical landscape in sunny Wailea, Maui. Enjoy Travel + Leisure Magazine's 2014 Top Spa in Hawai'i at the resort's Willow Stream Spa, three swimming pools including an adults-only pool, two activity pools connected by a 140-foot waterslide, various beach activities and nearby championship golf, it's the perfect place for a Maui vacation. Both fine dining and casual options may be found in the resort's four restaurants, which include a gourmet bakery and deli and the award winning signature restaurant, Ko. Other hotel amenities include a 24-hour fitness center and classes, a year-round kid's club, boutique shopping, wedding coordination services and 36,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.