We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience, Highly Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui to your Saves list
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
A Great Gift Sale - $229
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience, Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel was amazing from start to finish. The rooms are beautiful (and much larger than rooms at the Four Seasons next door) and most have great views. The concierge and staff in general were extremely friendly and helpful, taking an interest in knowing all of their guests. The beach is by far one of the best beaches in that section and the restaurants are incredible.

We went there on our honeymoon which was wonderful but also noticed a lot if families.

Definitely take advantage of daily activities and salt water pools.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,622
    488
    149
    75
    21
See reviews for
770
893
23
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The lobby and the surrounding areas are astonishing and offer a great view into the ocean. The friendless and professionalism of the staff shows that the staff training is very good.

The rooms are big, the two double double bed was enough space to sleep with a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 teens). The living room offers enough space for a family to sit and watch TV and a working desk for office needs. The balcony is also huge and offers a great Mountain view or Sea view. A small downside is that the carpet in the room is quite dirty and should be changed soon. We realized it because we use to walk around bare footed and then in the bathroom we saw how black our foot sole became.

The bathroom is huge and the shower area is hidden but so well organized that no water splashes out into the main bathroom area. The bath tub is also great. A big plus is that the bathroom is accessable from the living room and from the bedroom. But a small minus is that that there is only one bathroom, might be a tight for a family of 4.

Pools are a bit small but there are 3 of them to choose from. If you plan to stay the entire day at the pool think about renting a Cabanna for 150$.

The beach is also in an private atmosphere and offeres great sunset experiences. From the beach you can walk along and walk to the other Wailea hotels like Four Seasons, Grand Wailea and the Marriott.

The location has all its benefits being in Wailea and close to all Wailea related locations. With Kihei (next bigger town) in 10 min driving distance you find all needs like a 24-hours grocery shop (safeway - Walmart similar big shop) and the all existing ABC Store (in Waikiki area you find them every 200 meters). With a big free parking there is no stress of parking. Anyway a car is recommended in Maui to get around.

The restaurants are great but a bit expensive (but it is normal for a 5-star hotel in Maui). The breakfast buffet is also ok, have seen better ones in South East Asia but no complains at all.

Overall it was a great experience in Maui and would certainly return. The price-performance ratio is a different thing but in general Hawaii is a much more expensive location than South East Asia for example. So one should consider those facts before comparing hotel vs. hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We left Maryland with our car buried under snow and our mile long road almost impassable. Got to the Fairmont Kea Lani after more than ten hours flying, arriving in the dark after midnight. Next morning tip toed out to our balcony and thought it must be a mirage of a picture perfect Hawaii.

Our stay was sublime, the details of the hotel are conveyed in other reviews, but our take-away was the gracious hospitality of the Hawaiian staff. They seemed as delighted to see us as we were to be there.

The hotel is expensive. The food was great. Our dinner at Ko was memorable, including delicious purple mashed potatoes with coconut cream, incredible steak, Hawaiian style. Good wine list.

We arrived back at Dulles airport where it was 19 degrees with a stiff wind. Big snow coming in two days. But in between these storms it was like we went to heaven, and we didn't want to leave. We will be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. There is truly no greater compliment than knowing you were touched by our staff's aloha spirit. We work hard to provide our guests with exceptional service and memorable experiences, so it is extremely gratifying that was accomplished. Stay warm in Maryland and please visit us again soon. Best wishes and mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We went to the Fairmont for our 10 year wedding anniversary. The hotel gave us an upgraded ocean view room and had a special treat for us in our room when we arrived. We absolutely loved our stay. It's such a beautiful hotel and the staff were great. I would definitely stay at this hotel again if we went back to Maui.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a lovely, traditional, all-suite beach hotel in Maui. It is well-suited for families. The service, concierge and food are all excellent, as are the facilities, pool and beach access. Fairmont Club members get free wifi, which is good. There is a resort fee though. Suites are roomy, bathrooms well appointed and bed is comfortable. There is a big balcony with two sliding doors from the living room and bedroom alike. My only beef is that the furniture in the living room looks like something out of that 70s Show - not attractive. With some of the newer properties on the island, Fairmont should rethink the design and remodel. Otherwise, a great resort for family stays.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Aloha! Thank you for your review. We're very proud to learn that our staff's excellent service and cuisine added to your recent vacation. Please be aware that the $30 daily resort charge bundles many popular amenities including high-speed Internet, overnight parking, daily snorkel equipment and more, making it a great value for guests (if all services were purchased individually they would total approximately $100/day). As many reviews have noted, we are also in the process of a suite renovation. Looking forward to welcoming you back next time to a refreshed guestroom. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Recently stayed here and asked for a front facing room , instead got partial view at the side of the hotel.

Rooms- Rooms are large but overpriced in my opinion. Decor is old and needs work,and doesnt have a cosy feel to it .

Food- Very expensive, breakfast 60 dollars per couple, dinner insane prices. Although food was expensive i was happy with the quality of the food so ok i suppose.

Beach- supplied suncream and after sun which i thought was a great idea.

In i came back to maui , probably wouldnt stay here again

Room Tip: ask for a room that is centered towards ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Aloha. Thank you for your review. We certainly very much regret your disappointment with the suite view that you were assigned for your recent stay with us. Please be aware that when guests visit as part of an organized event, room categories are decided upon by the organizer prior to arrival. We’re sorry to learn that you were disappointed. As many reviews have noted, we are in the process of further updates for our remaining suites. This will be the final stage of a $70m enhancement program across the resort, which will result in a new, refreshed look throughout. We hope you will consider visiting again in the future. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We spend a week at the Fairmont. Our stay was very pleasant. The place is organized and clean, service was excellent, staff knowledgable and friendly.
The food was really good too. They have an adult pool that is nice and quiet if you are traveling without children. The beach was great and not overcrowded.
I will go back anytime.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Kea Lani is Hawaii's only all suite and villa luxury oceanfront resort, situated on 22 acres of tropical landscape in sunny Wailea, Maui. Enjoy Travel + Leisure Magazine's 2014 Top Spa in Hawai'i at the resort's Willow Stream Spa, three swimming pools including an adults-only pool, two activity pools connected by a 140-foot waterslide, various beach activities and nearby championship golf, it's the perfect place for a Maui vacation. Both fine dining and casual options may be found in the resort's four restaurants, which include a gourmet bakery and deli and the award winning signature restaurant, Ko. Other hotel amenities include a 24-hour fitness center and classes, a year-round kid's club, boutique shopping, wedding coordination services and 36,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.