We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise In South Maui ~ Well Done again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui to your Saves list
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fifth Night Free Offer
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wichita Falls, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Paradise In South Maui ~ Well Done again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I can't say enough good things about the Kea Lani.

When you arrive after your long trip from the mainland and airport (didn't the chickens at the airport make you laugh?, they did me) you are met by a smiling face, a tube rose lei and tasty juice to quench your thirst, the check-in process is seamless (I did check on mine the week of our trip, which might have helped) and the staff is egar to get you to your room so your vacation can start. As you walk to the property it takes your breath away, it is beautifully landscaped and if your lucky enough to arrive at sunset as we did, you might just stand there and literally feel all the stress from getting to this point just fade and the Island takes over providing a picture post card backdrop you will never forget.

This was our second stay in this Island paradise Resort. I can't imagine any view would be awful unless you were looking directly over the parking lot and each room is a suite which is a rare find. I will say If you can afford the Signature Kilohana Suite, do it. We were on the 6th floor in room 602 on the right side of the property which overlooked the Villa's, Resort beach front, the most extraordinary sunsets and fantastic sunrises. The left side of the very large wrap around Lani looked back over the resort property and pools which at night was also a tropical paradise picture. Day or night we were very pleased with our room and relaxed and believe it or not the crash of the ocean can be heard clearly, even that high up. The drawback? It is a bit of a walk to this room from the elevator so if you have a condition that prohibits a generous walk the room might not be for you. The air conditioner had a few issues while we were there but the maintenance staff responded very quickly and was genuinely concerned that our expectation's were met.

The other great thing is that even if you don't have any Island excursions planed you will not be disappointed in this Resort because you can get up order room service or attend a delicious breakfast buffet with many local dishes and fresh fruit (cost 35.00 but worth it and not much more than you would spend eating out. Plus if you came all this way it wasn't for the dollar menu at McDonalds). Then take the Resort offered Cultural Canoe experience, it was one of our favorite activities and we didn't even have to leave the resort ( make sure to book this as early as you can, only 4 passangers ride at a time). Then since your a little damp, go to one of the many pools and swim, take in the beauty, visit the gift shop and maybe have an appetizer and cocktail at the swim up bar. Go up and have a shower in your giant bathroom and eat at Nick's or Ko', but because of our view we choose room service on our Lani. This year I purposely, left 3 days open just to enjoy our room, view and the property. It says a lot about the property and staff in my opinion if you choose to stay in your resort while in Hawaii.

Other than the great staff, cleanliness of our room, the property and great views we were lucky enough to watch a pod of Humpback Whales breech directly from our Lani on the last night before heading home. Yes, there are cheaper places to stay on Maui but once you experience the Kei Lani you will always be looking for away to get back to this piece of paradise.

Thank you Fairmont Kei Lani, your comitiment to providing a tropical oasis is greatly appreciated. If I could make one suggestion, it would be to leave one bar and the Jacuzzis' open for those that have excursions for dinner cruises or daytrips to Honolulu. When you return to the Resort it would be nice to partake in a cocktail after a long day of Island fun or even a dip in the Jacuzzi. I understand the Resort is not trying to create a party atmosphere but most guest we encountered or spoke with between 9-11 felt the same. The bar revenue alone could most likely cover running the jets a little later on the Jacuzzi. Nobody wants to come back from a long day and go across the street for a nightcap. Next time we will be proactive and stock our room but really the Luna bar or outdoor bar would be nice late night. Just a suggestion.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up will give you a better room and ground level floors on the right side of the propert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your fantastic review! We are thrilled you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed all the resort has to offer especially our signature Kilohana Suite. We appreciate your thoughtful advice and information for our future guests and pointing out everything that makes our resort so special. Please know that all of your suggestions will be shared. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,634
    490
    151
    75
    22
See reviews for
777
900
23
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed for 10 days and loved the experience. The hotel is lovely and the staff is above and beyond accommodating. I enrolled our daughter in the day camp and was super impressed. The facility is great, the staff is professional (Carrie and Bonnie - yeah!) and taught our girl all kinds of neat Hawaiian info. I actually wish I could have stayed with the kids camp for "lizard day". :-) Relaxed stay, great food and quiet cool room. The ocean is warm and sandy bottom entry with great snorkelling.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We are thrilled that you loved your entire experience of the resort and appreciate you recognizing the high level of service from our staff. It's wonderful that your daughter enjoyed Keiki Lani Kids Club - your kind words will be shared with Carrie and Bonnie. Thank you again and we hope to see you and your family again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had planned to celebrate our 1 year anniversary at the Fairmont for 5 nights. Two days before our scheduled departure, I had an emergency cerclage forcing us to cancel our trip. We had pre booked the room in order to take advantage of a fantastic room rate. We feared at best we would be able to recoup only a portion of our stay.
Not only did the Fairmont refund our entire trip, they did so with grace and class.
We can't wait to rebook our trip sometime in Spring 2014 and bring our whole family. Happy to spend money with a property that still values its customers

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We are so sorry to learn of your unexpected emergency prior to your stay. Wishing you a quick and healthy recovery and we will look forward to welcoming your family in the spring. Happy New Year, Hau’oli Makahiki Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcohen75
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

No, they are not the best, newest or nicest hotel in Wailea but they are darn close. The rooms were very nice, beds comfortable, tons of space, huge bathroom and very nice staff. I highly recommend you sign up for the Presidents Club. We got a lot of different perks with our membership (Free).

The hotel has a shuttle to take you around Wailea, access to bikes (but they were not in the best condition, and they will give you a bottle of water any time you ask.

Pools were great, always found a chair

We did the canoe experience. The guys who took us were awesome. We were able to do some snorkeling and they helped us find a turtle.

Oh, don't miss the buffet breakfast at Kea Lani Restaurant. I would call it expensive but it was right in line with the cost of all the other breakfast buffets in the area and to say I was impressed is an understatement. The food was good, it changed every day. The fruit was fresh and they had lots to choose from. This is one of the better hotel breakfast buffets we have been to.

The staff was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It’s fantastic that your stay exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Thank you for all your suggestions to future guests and we look forward to seeing you again! Best wishes and aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont for a few nights on our honeymoon. The property was gorgeous - great pools, and the beach has some of the softest sand I've encountered. The rooms were spacious and well laid-out, and most of the staff we interacted with were very friendly and helpful. We were there over Thanksgiving weekend, with the hotel apparently "sold out", but it didn't feel crowded, and we didn't have any problems finding pool chairs even mid-day.

The old downside was the location of our room. We had booked a "deluxe ocean-view" suite to get the best view, but ended facing the pool instead, with just an angled view to the ocean from the lanai. I'm sure that even within a room category, some rooms have better views than others, but we were disappointed given the sizable premium we paid for the "deluxe" view. Since all the rooms apparently have the same floor plan, my recommendation would be to book a regular room and hope for an upgrade, rather than paying extra for a view that might not be that great.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for an "upgraded" view - we booked a "deluxe ocean-view"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The property is fabulous with open courtyards and lobby. The room (suite) was spacious and had a large balcony. Very cordial staff and loved the free chairs on the beach. Only complaint was the number of kids, but it was Thanksgiving and couldn't be helped. I would definitely return to this property. Wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. It’s outstanding that you enjoyed your stay, especially your spacious suite and lanai (balcony). We're proud that our staff's friendly service added to your experience and look forward to your return soon. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Booked an Oceanview Suite here for a week and used my Fairmont President's Club suite upgrade certificate to upgrade to a Deluxe Oceanview Suite. They let me keep the upgrade for the whole week even though the certificate is only supposed to be good for 5 days. The suite is quite large and it included a large lanai with panoramic views of the pool and ocean. An annoyance with all of the Fairmont properties I've stayed at is that they don't provide slippers and this property was no different. Poolside service was attentive and friendly. There weren't enough poolside lounges, however, as much of this prime real estate is taken up by cabanas for rental. Most of the lounges were on the lawn and most didn't have an umbrella. Complimentary water and sunscreen stations were very convenient. Staff brought around fruit and Freezies every once in a while which is pretty standard nowadays for a higher spend resort. The fitness centre had a wide selection of modern equipment. WiFi was complimentary for Fairmont President's Club members and pretty reliable even at poolside. The beach was rather small and snorkeling wasn't that great although there were a lot of turtles in the area (in addition to some recent shark sightings.) While they weren't able to accommodate a late checkout, they allowed us to use a hospitality suite for 45 minutes prior to our departure and allowed us to freshen up before our late night flight. The only other real negative that I can think of for this hotel is that they are planning on introducing a resort fee which would have likely cost them a star had they already done it while I was there. I suppose they aren't the first hotel to do this but I won't be surprised if hotels started charging baggage fees in a few years.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review. We're very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your suite and received attentive service throughout your stay. However, we’re very sorry that you were disappointed with the number of lounge chairs available around the pools and can assure you that we have enough chairs to accommodate every guest at the resort. Also, please be aware that the 2014 resort charge will bundle many popular amenities such as cultural activities, shuttle service, snorkel rentals, self parking, Internet and more, making it a great value for guests (the value of all services, if purchased individually, would total approximately $100/day). We appreciate your valuable feedback and will communicate your concerns with the appropriate teams. We hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Kea Lani is Hawaii's only all suite and villa luxury oceanfront resort, situated on 22 acres of tropical landscape in sunny Wailea, Maui. Enjoy Travel + Leisure Magazine's 2014 Top Spa in Hawai'i at the resort's Willow Stream Spa, three swimming pools including an adults-only pool, two activity pools connected by a 140-foot waterslide, various beach activities and nearby championship golf, it's the perfect place for a Maui vacation. Both fine dining and casual options may be found in the resort's four restaurants, which include a gourmet bakery and deli and the award winning signature restaurant, Ko. Other hotel amenities include a 24-hour fitness center and classes, a year-round kid's club, boutique shopping, wedding coordination services and 36,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.