We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Resort on Maui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now Save Later: 30%
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Wailea
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Best Resort on Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just got back, spent our 10th and 30th anniversary at this fine resort. Let me start by saying this place is accommodating, everything we needed was provided without question. The pool and beach are the best. They provide options for all and make you feel like its your home. We did walk to other property's close to the Kea Lani and although they were very nice they were much more crowded. I recommend stopping at foodland prior to getting to the resort to pick up some adult beverages. Drinks are pricy at the resort, a few is fine but mixing a few on your own never hurts and they always seem a bit stronger. :)

Try Buzz's steakhouse great place to eat.

Have fun!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are great but partial are just fine. Use the $$ saving for special drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,272
    424
    132
    70
    19
See reviews for
586
730
18
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a wonderful resort. Romantic, Delicious, Personal Touch, And THE BEST !

This truly was the best vacation that we ever had! We already can not wait to come back.

The property is massive, but each friendly hotel staff and service member knows exactly who you are. We felt like we were home. Thus, we extended our stay from 9 days to 11 Days. Traveled in mid-July 2013 for a vacation. If we could, we would have stayed longer.

The beach, pool, and property are amazing. The pool food is very tasty, and highly recommended. The waiters are pleasant. The trail walk that you can take, and the activities were delightful. Stargazing with Deborah was a romantic treat. The water and weather was perfect.

Evan Hounsell, the Front Office Manager, and Sosa were extremely nice, professional, and meticulous. They took care of all our needs, and went far beyond our expectation.

Karen at Kea Lani Breakfast Buffet (till 11AM) was a sweetheart. She knew that I loved fresh mint, and Ranch so she made she to always have it for myself. On the last day of departure, she offered to box up a sandwich for a long flight that we had coming up. Also, I loved Grilled Cheese so I asked for a Yummy Grilled Cheese w/ extra cheddar cheese. They over-delivered that as well, and made it delicious.

Stayed in the amazing, gorgeous, massive corner Suite 540 . There was a small technical AC issue in our Suite 540, that the front office manager Evan Hounsell, took care of perfectly by moving us to the incredible Villa 15, with its own plunge pool. That was beyond words magical. We were extremely grateful. Soon after, the manager Mr. Charles Head ( I believe that is his name ) called us back to make sure everything was resolved and we were happy. Which we were.

Nicks Fishmarket was a great restaurant, and catered to each and every one of our requests. Fairmont KeaLani offers a complimentary shuttle to the mall, and nearby hotels. That was very convenient.

We would definitely stay at the Fairmont KeaLani again, and again, and again. The energy was fantastic. There was a cozy feeling to the hotel, even though it is a big and beautiful property. There was no feeling of pretentious or judgments. Weather you wanted to wear casual wear, or get dressed up. Everyone was nice, and no problems.

BEST VACATION EVER… We wish we were still there.
-Suite 540, Then Villa 15

Room Tip: All the rooms are suites, very nice. Corner rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We're truly honored that your "best vacation ever" was spent with us! We sincerely appreciate you recognizing our team members by name and will absolutely pass along your kind words. Thank you again - we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes and aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailea, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel could not be better! The rooms are huge, the property has a lot of space. The restaurants are unbelievable including Ko and Nick's Fish Market. Best food you will ever taste. The staff is incredibly friendly and makes the experience even better!

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor are more convenient and allow you to return pool items to the room and to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! It’s outstanding to learn that you enjoyed your stay and especially loved the resort's two award-winning restaurants. It's very rewarding to learn that our staff's friendly service added to your vacation experience. Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Kea Lani for 5 days, which was the first 1/2 of our Maui trip (other 1/2 at the Ritz Carlton Kapalua- see seperate review for that property). We've stayed several hotels in the past in Wailea, Kaanapili, and Kapula and by far, the Kea Lani quickly became our new favorite and had everything our family of 4 needed. We traveled with our 2 boys (early teens). The property was expansive, location perfect, rooms great size, and service was personal and impeccable. Yes, many travelers commented on dated rooms but the bathroom was huge & brand new, bed was very comfortable, so we had no complaints. The rooms are all suites, so for price, we got much more for our money compared to the standard rooms at the same price at other hotels. It's a big hotel, so it's quite a walk from the beach to the room. The best perk was the beach boys who provided chaises, towels, umbrellas, and set up at the beach (no fees) and monitored the occupants (i.e. noone could stake out chairs and retain them for longer than they planned to actually be there). We took a complimentary (reserved) Hawaiin culture canoe ride; my boys favorite activity of the week. We had nightcaps at the outdoor bar past the lobby and were remembered by name by the waitresses. We ate off-property by took advantage of the complimentary shuttle. On "light" eating days, we grabbed salads and sandwiches at the nearby market and ate on the spacious patio watching the sunset. Thank you, Fairmont Kea Lani, we'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Rooms are huge and outside has a very fancy appearance, but rooms and hallways to them appear dated. Bugs and lizards in hallways, roach and foul odor in room. Paid extra for mountain view room and was given a room overlooking parking lot. Came back after being out all day to find a roach crawling up the wall. Called front desk and they asked if it was large or small ( sounded like they experience many). Moved us to a partial ocean front room and sent a basket of goodies. The service was excellent though, there were treats in my room for my birthday, and at night, they turned on hawaiian music in our room while we out. They tried hard to please, but after sleeping every night with the lights on, packing and sealing all our food , and staying up until 2 am shaking out and repacking all our clothes to ensure we did not return home with roaches, no good service would make up for me feeling depressed to return to our room at night. And the bad thing was, it wasn't cheap!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We're so sorry that your experience at the resort was less than perfect. In any tropical destination, pests can absolutely be a nuisance. That being said, the hotel has rigorous pest control procedures in place. Despite our efforts, we do see an occasional pest or gecko when lanai doors are left open or in our corridors, many of which are outdoors. We are so sorry that this had such a negative impact on your vacation, but do appreciate your comments regarding the high level of service throughout your stay. Please consider returning in the future - we would love to welcome you back. Best wishes and aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful property. You will not want to leave to see any of the rest of Maui! The staff is friendly, attentive, and considerate. We stayed in an ocean front villa with our family of 6 for the second time in six years, and we will certainly return. The beach is a little more secluded and protected and therefore has a surf that is much calmer than some other beaches, so relaxing in the water in easy. The location is convenient to restaurants and shopping. As is the case with much of Maui, it was an easy drive to our activities from the hotel.

Room Tip: A villa is best if it fits your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

After alot of researches where to stay in Hawaii on out honeymoon, we have decided to stay at the Fairmont. Without a doubt, we made the perfect choice. On our arrival, we were welcomed by flowers necklaces and a welcome drink. The hotel is exactly what you expect from hawaii, a local beachy vibe combined with an elegance mood. On our stay we visited other nearby hotels for lunch and dinner and they are all crowded with kids, so if you are looking for a romantic escape fairmont is by far the place to be. The adult pool only, the sunset drinks, its location straight on the beach, the delicious breakfast buffet is everything you expect on your honeymoon!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review. We recognize that there are many options for accommodations on Maui and are delighted that you chose to spend your honeymoon with us. It’s terrific that you found the hotel perfect for a romantic getaway - your compliments are greatly appreciated. Congratulations on your marriage and best wishes for the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Kea Lani
Kea Lani
Fairmont Wailea
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Kea Lani is Hawaii’s only all suite and villa luxury oceanfront resort, situated on 22 acres of tropical landscape in sunny Wailea, Maui. With the newly-opened 9,000 square-foot Willow Stream Spa, three swimming pools including an adults-only pool, two activity pools connected by a 140-foot waterslide, various beach activities and nearby championship golf, it’s the perfect place for a Maui vacation. Both fine dining and casual options may be found in the resort’s four restaurants, which include a gourmet bakery and deli and the award winning signature restaurant, Kō. Other hotel amenities include a 24-hour fitness center and classes, a year-round kid’s club, boutique shopping, wedding coordination services and 36,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.