We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Sale - 15% off
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Wailea
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“A Piece of Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for my last four days in Maui. My total trip was two weeks and wanted to end it in a luxury hotel. My room was garden view and had to change (please see below). The manager, Isabella was great!!! She totally understood and got Kai on it right away. They showed me one room, which was ocean view and I did not like it. They showed me another ocean view which I loved and they took care of moving everything for us as it was an inconvenience. They said they would show me rooms all day until I was happy!!! I was delighted with the speed and professionalism! Everyone from valet, pool service, bell service etc go out of their way to make your stay pleasant, constantly greeting you by name. We ate in Ko which is so so. The two bartenders were awesome though!!! We ate Nicks twice!!! I got the lamb two nights and my husband got pan seared scallops and pork belly one night and the next he created a surf and turf for $100 yes pricey but very good . The chef gave him filet instead of sirloin and the manager who was more than sweet immediately comped the steak and also gave us free dessert. She was justo
Promoted and she will go far she is wonderful!! Service is five star in Nicks. The servers are attentive and know the menu. Go to the beach when here . The staff on the beach will do anything for you for a small tip . You get agree chairs, umbrellas, tables, paddle boards, boogie boards, amazing, free water, sun tan lotion, huge but dangerous waves... Don't turn your back on them !!! Pool is nice! Lawn chairs are all wicker.. Unlimited white towels. Drinks at pool area super slow. It is not the waiters!!! They have one bartender during the day and it is not enough. You order your drink ad it takes about 20 minutes, so don't take it out on server ! Do try the pomegranate mojito it's amazing!!! All in all you get your money's worth! Rooms are a bit out dated and its expensive to eat there! We bought our own sodas, waters, beer and snacks for the room and that helped. Cafe Ciao is good for a light breakfast and lunch. Hope this review helps"

Room Tip: If you get a garden view room find out first if there are functions or conventions, if there are ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We’re so pleased to hear that you had such a great stay with us and enjoyed so much the resort has to offer. We pride ourselves with knowledgeable and friendly staff and we are so happy to hear that Isabella and our staff provided you with a very memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes and mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,072 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,392
    447
    141
    73
    19
See reviews for
657
776
21
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

No regrets at spending 5 nights at this Fairmont! As usual, very professional staff, beautiful grounds, clean rooms, clean beach that offers easy water access. Our room had partial ocean view and was very quiet. This is an all-suite facility, and we loved having the extra space, in addition to a microwave and small refrigerator. Loved the large washroom, but we had so much to do I never used the gigantic soaking tub! Two lighted closets in addition to an entry closet with safe. Large television, and all the media hookups you might need.Large lanai with large table. And this is a beautiful area of Maui - we liked it better than what we saw in the Lahaina area. Would definitely recommend this Fairmont for special occasions!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My family and I stayed here just under a week. I recently read a review stating that the rooms are dated, but I have to say the lay out is preferred over your boxy run of the mill rooms that you'll find at many other hotels. No the room wasn't chic modern, but Fairmont still pulled it off with style and flair. Eventually some rooms will need updating but I still found our room better than the one we stayed at in Lahaina (another hotel 4.5 star) which was recently renovated. The washroom is huge, and the products Fairmont uses are of top quality. We were floored to come back to our room one afternoon to find all of our laundry had been neatly folded and placed in the drawers. Wow. So much care is taken...I'm not sure how much Fairmont invests into their staff training but it certainly pays off. Everyone everywhere is so pleasant and polite...they'll do whatever they can to help and they'll do it fast. Very impressed with that especially after staying at other hotels that rank the same as this. The restaurants here are great and the location is unbeatable. We seawalked all around Wailea and found we liked this location the best. The Grand Wailea has the small advantage with the pools for kids (also a small beach for kids), but the atmosphere is so much better at the Fairmont (as is the food and service...way better). Love the grounds and the beach is amazing here too. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Fairmont Kea Lani in February for 8 nights for a romantic and relaxing vacation; we are high-end luxury travelers and don't speak highly of properties too often but this was a wonderful property with a wonderful staff

We stayed in an Deluxe Ocean View Suite which was huge and spacious with an amazing balcony and view of the Ocean and the property itself...highly recommended room class.

Observations/Compliments/Complaints:

- Perhaps the best concierge at any resort we've experienced. We used the concierge to arrange snorkeling trips, rounds of golf, restaurant reservations, etc. There were always multiple people manning the concierge desk and they all were extremely helpful.

- The Suite was huge and had a humoungous bathroom, but the shower only had one shower head and no shelf to put your shampoo/soap on...weird but a quibble nonetheless.

- Highly recommend playing Wailea Gold and Emerald golf courses right across the way from the resort...the resort shuttle takes you right over and brings you back when you're done.

- In terms of restaurants, we really liked Ko and had a bad experience at Nick's Fishmarket. Food was mediocre and service was lousy...had a server come over and ask us what course we were waiting for...should never happen at a good restaurant. We spoke with another staff member about it who said "I've heard that before, 99 times out of 100, its great, but that one time its bad, everything is bad" guess we were unlucky!

- Highly recommend having a drink at the lobby lounge and eating at Spago at the Four Seasons

- Staff was wonderfully friendly and accomodating. I wish they had a few more servers around the pools as at times it was hard to find someone

All in all though, these are just minor quibbles on what was a wonderful vacaiton for us. The grounds are beautiful, the pools were wonderful, most of the food was excellent and the service and stafff were awesome. If you're going to stay in Wailea, we highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your detailed and kind review. We’re thrilled to hear that your experience was wonderful overall and that the resort exceeded your expectations in many ways. We sincerely appreciate all your positive comments, especially regarding the exceptional service you received from our concierge staff. Please know your suggestions and feedback will most definitely be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just got back from a fantastic vacation to Hawaii (started in Kauai, then The Big Island) and ended with a week in Maui, at the Fairmont. WONDERFUL property, gorgeous grounds and a nice strip of beachfront property to utilize. My husband did go with his company, on an incentive based trip, so much of the day-to-day was planned for us. When we arrived, the property was beautiful, great customer service and welcome. Rooms were the best of all the places we did stay at – large, wonderful views, well appointed and checked on twice per day (one full clean in the AM, one to straighten up in the evening). Rooms were quiet and you were certainly able to keep the door open in the evening for a nice sleep (we did not face the pool, faced the Four Seasons/ocean. Pools were nice, and we did mix it up a bit by being at both the adult pool and then the swim up bar (in the kiddie pool, that was a bit odd but worked out). Beach was a great option as well with easily accessible location, good water to swim in, plenty of umbrellas, etc). Breakfast buffet was delicious with many options. Good location to the local shops/restaurants. Restaurants within the property are top-notch (Ko just was voted best restaurant on the island among other accolades). Staff was all very pleasant and friendly. LOVED our trip to Maui and this was a great property to experience!

Room Tip: Had the partial ocean view - faced the Four Seasons and had a great clear view of the ocean. Quiet i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful property with an attentive staff and great on site dining. My wife and I are currently in Suite 274 and are very disappointed as it is very dated. The room smells of foul and we cover the couch with a bed spread to make it suitable to sit on.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We’re very sorry for your initial experience at the resort but appreciate you notifying the front desk so a hotel manager could immediately address your concerns . It’s wonderful to hear that you are enjoying your new suite. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Love this hotel. Spent the days being waited on near the beach. Great service and friendly staff. Everyone staff member was friendly and went out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#3 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Kea Lani is Hawaii’s only all suite and villa luxury oceanfront resort, situated on 22 acres of tropical landscape in sunny Wailea, Maui. With the newly-opened 9,000 square-foot Willow Stream Spa, three swimming pools including an adults-only pool, two activity pools connected by a 140-foot waterslide, various beach activities and nearby championship golf, it’s the perfect place for a Maui vacation. Both fine dining and casual options may be found in the resort’s four restaurants, which include a gourmet bakery and deli and the award winning signature restaurant, Kō. Other hotel amenities include a 24-hour fitness center and classes, a year-round kid’s club, boutique shopping, wedding coordination services and 36,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.