We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui to your Saves list
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fifth Night Free Offer
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pacific NW US city
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice property for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We reserved a deluxe ocean view room. I was very disappointed with the first two rooms we were given, as the views were not unobstructed; in fact, one room (on the third floor) was directly behind another building. However, the room we finally got after two trips to Reception had a gorgeous view -- similar to what you see on the website. I think this room was definitely worth the extra $$ -- the others were not so I'm not sure I would pay the extra unless I was assured of a full ocean view.

The room was spacious and clean -- fine for two adults and a child/teen. We ate at Ko one night and the food was very good, service was excellent. I highly recommend the free morning canoe trip. A pod of whales came within several feet of the boat. Amazing!! The beach is crowded -- the chaises are very close together. First day, I forgot my wallet to tip the beach crew. Didn't make that mistake again -- you get much better service with a nice tip...Did the luau at the Marriot -- food and drinks not very good but the entertainment was fun.

By the way, we had sun the whole time, while it was raining in other parts of the island. All in all, if you like larger hotel properties, I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better for ocean view rooms. Not all deluxe ocean view rooms are equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,822
    533
    166
    78
    28
See reviews for
881
1,000
25
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

What a beautiful hotel ! Amazing landscaped gardens....we had a seaside villa with private plungepool/bbq and the bonus was that we could see Humpback whales breaching in the sea from our bedroom and the balcony.

The service was amazing in all aspects...poolside service was attentive, valets were spot on, Nicks fishmarket waiters were some of the best I have ever seen, the cleaning ladies for the villa were fantastic and so were the beach guys with getting sunbeds and umbrellas. We also had the pleasure of undertaking a personal training session with Clive Lobo on the beach...he was great and I highly recommend him.

The only negative was one night in Ko, we asked for a table and then they sat us at the bar and didnt inform us when a table was ready, then they sat people who came later than us. We eventually ate at the bar and the food wasnt great.

But overall we had an amazing trip in an amazing location ! One of the best Fairmont properties we have ever stayed in...we loved it so much we hardly left the resort...and it was the perfect place to shelter from Nemo which was battering Boston while we were away !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to write such an amazing review. We work hard to provide our guests with exceptional service and memorable experiences, so it is extremely gratifying to know this has been accomplished. And how wonderful that the whales put on a show for you! Please know that your comments about Kō will absolutely be shared with the manager and that we value you feedback. Stay warm in Boston and please visit us again soon. A hui hou kākou! (Until we meet again!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butte, Montana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

First, let me say this is a truly beautiful property which has deservedly earned it's very high accolades from the travel industry. We had the opportunity to spend time both in our suite as well as in a villa. The all-suite property provides plenty of room to relax and enjoy the aloha spirit of the beautiful island of Maui. The numerous pools and perfectly manicured landscaping provide a breathtaking paradise.

We ate at all of the property's restaurants, with the exception of Nick's. (We'd eaten here previously.) The restaurants were delightful with a nice variety of selections... all well prepared.

The staff was friendly and open. They seemed to genuinely enjoy interacting with each guest. And, they provided so many services and amenities. Each member of the staff seemed to genuinely enjoy their employ at the resort and many have been working there for years.

We really appreciated the friendly, prompt shuttle service that was provided by the Kea Lani. They were very happy to take us to other resorts and restaurants in the Wailea area. When we were ready to return to the property a call provided a prompt pick-up.

I only have two negative comments. We travel to Maui at least once a year. We understand that, especially if you are staying at a fine property, you will have to pony up the dollars to eat and socialize. However, these prices seemed extremely high. The first evening at the property my husband and I had cocktails in the lobby bar before going out to dine. Hubby had two domestic beers. I had two glasses of Riesling (nothing fancy). Our tab was $63!!!! Needless to say, we picked up some beverages at Safeway and found ourselves (and our friends) enjoying our beverages on our lanai.

Second. We LOVE to do extensive walking each morning while on Maui. The Wailea walking trail is very narrow. We walked single-file most mornings along the path. The land on the south side of the island is very hilly and unless you are quite fit, you may find the incline of the trails and sidewalks to be somewhat challenging.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked the 2 bedroom ocean view villa for a group of five (2 families). Excellent accommodations and we are right on the beach, within a few steps. Not sure I could ever recommend paying out the higher rate for ocean front villas - not much of a difference in experience but certainly in price. We loved our 7 night stay. Beach is fantastic and it has the amenities. Water is warm and snorkelling is amazing. And Wailea has the sun. People staying on the other side of the island come to Wailea to get the sun, where it does not tend to rain. Recent renovations at the Maui Fairmont were evident in the 2 bedroom villa kitchens - we were here 3 years ago - loved it as it was but we noticed some nice improvements. Absolutely highly recommend this place, and the villas specifically because you get your own backyard, plunge pool, lounge chairs and table and BBQ.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a week at the Fairmont Kea Lani Maui. We stayed in Villa 7 which is a 3 bedroom oceanfront villa. We travel with our family of 4 adults and 2 teenagers. All of us LOVED the resort!
We flew in mid morning, so we arrived well before check in time. We enjoyed the lei greeting...our teens were especially pleased. Since our villa wasn't quite ready, we were encouraged to just relax and enjoy the resort until they called us (which we did!).
Upon receiving the call that our room was ready, we checked in and were met at the villa by Joey who placed our luggage in the villa and gave us a tour of the villa and it's features. We were very pleased with the welcome goodies provided by the resort which included fresh pineapple, macadamia nuts, bread, cheese, granola and more. The villa is immaculate and furnished beautifully. The beds are comfortable and the bedrooms, bathrooms and closets are very spacious. The one negative for the 3 bedroom villa is that it only has 2 bathrooms (which we knew going in). Most of the time it wasn't an issue, but when you are getting ready to go out to dinner, and are sharing the bathroom with 2 teenage girls, it can be a little tricky! Luckily, there are double sinks and also the 3rd bedroom has a wide counter and mirror area which can be used for make up and hair prep. The villa is located just a few steps from the beach which is perfect! We also enjoyed the private plunge pool.
The breakfast buffet was included in our package and we pigged out every morning! There were tons of choices each day, including made to order omelets. Everything was fresh and delicious! We loved the variety of daily special juices.
One thing that our entire family commented about was the amazing staff at the Fairmont. Everyone was friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make us feel pampered! The folks at the concierge desk were especially helpful in booking restaurant reservations and an incredible private sailing, snorkeling and whale watching tour.
We could not have been more pleased with our vacation and we will definitely return to the Fairmont Kea Lani Maui!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

An excellent hotel!
Good points:
- The outside was more than beautiful! Swimming pool super, wonderfull beach etc
-breakfast EXCELLENT
-best service ever!!!!people was SO Nice and Housekeeping was unreal because TOO perfect!they took care of Every details (put ur clothes at The right place, put ur stuff in The bathroom right place, shoes straight etc...) they come before u sleep to put some news products cosmetics and open ur bed and turn on radio and curtain on.....
-perfectly clean
-very confortable room

Badpoints:
-room decoration little bit 80'
-breakfast to expressive

À place to go definitly!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Consistent with Fairmont experiences, the Kea Lani offers luxury and personalized service! From booking to arrival and through your stay, the Kea Lani staff takes extra measures to ensure a rewarding vacation even if you have to bring work with you. We arrived in the morning much earlier then check-in; but, the staff and concierge had arranged an outrigger canoe trip for us and also ensured we had access to wifi and the business center to wrap up work related loose ends before starting a quick weekend trip that fortunately felt longer as we basked in all the amenities and sun the Kea Lani had to offer. Though too many to list, the highlights of our stay included the super huge suite accommodation with spacious lanai; the quiet adult pool (1 of 3 pools); and, conveniently located and delicious Ko Restaurant! I hope to have the opportunity to stay here again in the near future!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Kea Lani is Hawaii's only all suite and villa luxury oceanfront resort, situated on 22 acres of tropical landscape in sunny Wailea, Maui. Enjoy Travel + Leisure Magazine's 2014 Top Spa in Hawai'i at the resort's Willow Stream Spa, three swimming pools including an adults-only pool, two activity pools connected by a 140-foot waterslide, various beach activities and nearby championship golf, it's the perfect place for a Maui vacation. Both fine dining and casual options may be found in the resort's four restaurants, which include a gourmet bakery and deli and the award winning signature restaurant, Ko. Other hotel amenities include a 24-hour fitness center and classes, a year-round kid's club, boutique shopping, wedding coordination services and 36,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.