We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wonderful Service"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Sale - 15% off
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Wailea
GreenLeadersBronze level
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“"Wonderful Service"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Another beautiful Fairmont with outstanding service not to mention: "Location, Location, Location!" Of course you will pay very generously for it. There is little lacking, though, if anything. You will have a great time here so you're decision may come down to value. Prices for everything are super premium to the point of gouging like most resorts. A good example of one of my peeves is the super high prices on room service items that add an extra 20% tip/surcharge plus a $5.00 delivery charge! (Optional additional tipping if you don't want to appear cheap). Of course no one is making you order in and this is common practice. But caught off guard, this can really taint the experience. Maybe I shouldn't expect better from the caliber of Fairmont. Even when you can afford this level of accommodation and service, it's not good to feel gouged.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,445
    454
    144
    74
    19
See reviews for
699
786
22
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had a great experience at this Fairmont property! The service and reception of the hotel was exceptional. A great place to catch up with friends to have a reunion and enjoy the surroundings. This hotel added to the great ambiance of what Maui has to offer and definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed at the Kea Lani for the first time (usually rented condos in Kihei) - decided to splurge and stay in Wailea.

Pros - loved the location (nice walks, close to Wailea Shops and golf courses), lots of pools (found one that did not have any kids so a bit quieter), had a few restaurant choices, rooms were very large and was plenty of room for 2 people. Felt quite luxurious getting ready in the huge bathroom!

Cons - self parking. The stalls are ridiculously small and the lanes are so tight, you would have problems parking any mid-size vehicle. Other complaint would be the reservation of loungers at the pool. There were people reserving prime loungers all day and never show up. We actually watched 4 loungers be reserved from 8:00 am to 3:30 pm and no one showed up. While they allow 2 hour reservations (so that you can go eat), they really should not allow people to re-reserve for another 2 hours when they never showed up in the first place. The pool was quite busy and it was making people pretty annoyed that loungers were empty but not available for use.

Other than that, really nice resort - also has beach access so that was nice too. Would definitely stay there again (and rent a smaller car!).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your review. We’re so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the resort overall. However, we are sorry to learn about your experience at the pool. We take reviews like yours seriously and can assure you that your comments regarding the lounge chairs have been passed along to the Beach & Pool Department. We’re also happy to report that just last week, we re-striped the hotel’s parking lot making the parking stalls much easier to access. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plano, tx
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was our second visit to the Fairmont Kea Lani. We stayed in November of this year and last year too. I was a bit worried that this second trip wouldn't be as good as the first but it was. The hotel location is perfect. Polo beach is just the right size and has good snorkeling. We watched dolphins and whales from our loungers on the lawn several afternoons. We did not have the breakfast buffet as part of our package this year but did pay to eat there for one breakfast. There are still many great options. And the birds still fight you for what is on your plate but all in all it was a good meal. The price is quite high so we opted for breakfast in our room most days. Although we did venture out into Kihei for breakfast some too. We also utilized the Caffe Ciao on the terrace level for sandwiches and gelato. And also their delicious macadamia nut shortbread cookies. The room was comfortable and the location fine. The room could have used painting but I wasn't bothered by it. You don't go to Maui to sit in your room. All the lanai's have a table and chairs for four as well as a lounger. It was a great place to eat a meal or watch the sunset. The room has a microwave, keurig, and mini-fridge so it was easy enough to keep things in the room to eat/drink. We stopped at the Safeway on 31 before checking in at the hotel for cereal, milk, soft drinks, etc....The rooms are very quiet and almost never heard any outside noise in spite of the fact that there were two wedding receptions practically underneath us on two different nights. Housekeeping does an excellent job. All in all it was a great stay once again. By the way...if you are in need of a massage you should request the lomi lomi massage with Noelle in the spa. Excellent!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

First time in Maui celebrating my Birthday and Anniversary. My boyfriend loves the Fairmont! We honestly have nothing but great things to say! Kea Lani is definitely exquisite and truly feels like an oasis. We can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We have eaten at Ko several times during our visit and it is one of the finest restaurants that we have been in . The food and service are exceptional. It has panoramic views of the ocean and a beautiful decor that is themed in contemporary Maui ambiance. We have tried many others but we keep on coming back to Ko.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, Illinois, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had an amazing vacation he week after Thanksgiving with my husband and our 2 daughters, 9 & 7. Our room was amazing and we had upper pool walkout access, so we did not have to use the elevator the whole week (this does not sound like a big deal, but it really was!). The facilites were lovely and the suite was a perfect size. In our many walks on the Wailea walkway, we would wonder why people paid to stay at the Grand Wailea or the Four Seasons, the rooms are smaller and frankly in looking at what they offered beach and poolside,the Fairmont,seemed so much better! For the week we were there, we were assured the hotel was at capacity, but it felt more like it was only half full. We could never figure out where the all the people were. Thekids dida half day and evening of the KeikiLani kids club and loved it. My husband and I each visited the spa and had some very relaxing treatments. As far as eating, we had some deli lunches to go from the Caffe (kids loved the pizza and be sure to try the "Made is Maui" Chic Natural Dry Roasted Chic peas -awesome snak food discovery for kids) and ate one dinner at Ko. It was outstanding. Very impressed with the food and service.
Had a wonderful trip, were some of the drinks and food expensive? Yes, but you are in Maui, where even the hole in the wall type restaurant charge $2.75 for a carton of milk!

Room Tip: Go for the ground floor on the upper pool side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#3 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Kea Lani is Hawaii’s only all suite and villa luxury oceanfront resort, situated on 22 acres of tropical landscape in sunny Wailea, Maui. With the newly-opened 9,000 square-foot Willow Stream Spa, three swimming pools including an adults-only pool, two activity pools connected by a 140-foot waterslide, various beach activities and nearby championship golf, it’s the perfect place for a Maui vacation. Both fine dining and casual options may be found in the resort’s four restaurants, which include a gourmet bakery and deli and the award winning signature restaurant, Kō. Other hotel amenities include a 24-hour fitness center and classes, a year-round kid’s club, boutique shopping, wedding coordination services and 36,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.