We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families/groups, not so for couples” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui to your Saves list
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now, Save Later 30%
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, OR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great for families/groups, not so for couples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

For couples looking for a quiet and relaxing experience, this busy hotel can come up short -- Kea Lani is filled with families and event groups. The hotel was full during our stay which made room changing difficult; our first room assignment was a "mountain view" that over looked the main street and parking garage and was over a kitchen vent that smelled strongly of food cooking 24/7 -- not pleasant for guests who prefer to sleep with open windows/doors. The staff worked hard to move us and we appreciated their efforts even though we had to pay more for an upgraded room.

In general, service was excellent from the bellmen and front desk to the beach and pool staff. Small touches were appreciated -- I loved the cold towels and pineapple snacks at the pool that others have also mentioned.

The rooms are large and comfortable and every room is a "suite" with a living room and bedroom, and the bathroom contains an enormous bathtub and separate shower. Two screened sliding glass doors allow for lots of fresh air and open onto expansive decks, making the living space feel even larger. The microwave, fridge, coffee maker and bar sink are a huge asset and provide familes a less costly way to eat as the hotel restaurants are excellent and expensive.

Unlike other Hawaii hotels where we have stayed, Kea Lani orients itself to the 3 pools (one thankfully for adults) rather than to the ocean and beach. An "ocean view" room offers a long view of the beach and ocean but it is quite far away. We were disappointed that the core of the hotel feels so far from the beach, and that there is no beach-side food or beverage service.

The hotel location is an asset: Wailea is a pleasant resort area with nearby golfing, shopping and dining options and Kea Lani offers a complementary shuttle making a car unnecessary. The beach boardwalk path in front of Kea Lani offers a great walk/jog place with wonderful views and is well used even very early in the morning. We walked daily and were able to get some exercise before hitting the decadent breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,546
    476
    146
    75
    21
See reviews for
742
847
23
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

A family vacation at Thanksgiving for some warm Hawaii sun and water. We've stayed at the Kea Lani about a dozen times. Each time has been good - good service, restaurants, public areas and room. Great location with large and beautiful pools, water slide, and great beach with easy access to snorkel with plentiful fish and sweet graceful sea turtles. The new Ko restaurant is definitely worth trying - especially for the Ahi seared at table on a hot stone. The fresh local catch is also a no brainer.

A few cons: the mattresses were saggy, but in all fairness, we didn't complain or ask that they be replaced. The water pressure has been ratcheted way back. I congratulate them on conservation efforts, but it is now difficult to wash.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel because of it's luxurious, family friendly hospitality without being 'Disneyesque'. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our one week at the Kea Lani, Maui was a great experience in a region with many "luxury" hotels to choose from. The rooms, with sitting room & bedroom, are spacious and well outfitted with coffee maker, tea, microwave & bar size refrigerator. The bed was very comfortable with tropical weight linens. Especially apreciated was the Caffe Ciao for simple breakfast pastries or light dinners. The multiple pools and the lawn overlooking the beach were diverse enought that we never felt crowded. The lovely beach has umbrellas and chaises available by request at the beach pavillion. All staff, from front desk, concierge, pool staff and housekeeping were cheerful and accommodating. Extra touches such as the pineapple chunks on a skewer and the cool cloths that were passed out by pool personnel sets the Kea Lani apart.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Having stayed before at the Fairmont Mayakoba property in the Mexican Rivera, I expected great things out of this resort. Turns out, I was right. First off, let me comment on the resort's architecture. It was beautiful, and it made me feel like I was staying in a palace. The staff the entire time could not have been any better if they tried. Every trouble, question, or request we had did not go unanswered. The resort has 2 family pools and 1 adult pool. On top of this, it is also located right on the beach! Now on to the rooms, they were HUGE. You had a living room area, bedroom, full bath, and a large 180 degree balcony. This was truly a great experience and I would recommend this to anyone looking to have a great time in Maui.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I took our 7 year old son for their first trip to Maui. Son could have cared less about half of it, but LOVED the pool. Easily could have played from morning to night. And I would have been happy to stay there with drinks, pineapple cubes and cold washcloths to keep me company all day. We were upgraded to a partial ocean view. Partial it was, but lovely nonetheless. My mistake is never calling to confirm room choices, so we wound up with 2 doubles with no ability to change. The hotel was 'full'. Husband had one bed, I had the other and son was on the sofabed. It worked out but I was severely bummed to not have a King size bed. Parking spaces were super tight in the lot. We had great help in reserving a dinner at Nick's and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. Food was great - worth doing over a luau for us. There were loud noises above us a couple mornings - it sounded like people moving chairs all the time. Smoking guests on a neighboring lanai were also a way to keep us inside vs. out. Despite a variety of kids at the pool, I didn't notice any tantrums or overly loud kids and finding a chair was never a problem though we were up early. I'd definitely stay again, it was a fabulous place to call home for a week. Oh and I didn't like the bath products - no roses for me.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor of the north side at the very far back. Never noticed any guests next to us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Aloha. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments of your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience at our resort however, we would like apologize for the issues you did had encounter while visiting. We appreciate all of the feedback and look forward to you visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii, USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Sit at a romantic outdoor table setting or get a booth inside and watch the action at the 15 seat bar. Fun times had by all!
Fresh fish rules at this special occasion location.
Staff makes special effort to satisfy patrons. You won't be disappointed with the presentation.

Room Tip: All good there are 2 pools to look over one adult (quieter), one family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Family of 8 stayed at the Fairmont Kea Lani in Deluxe Ocean View Rooms. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The beds were very luxurious and made a very restful night. The pools and beach were so inviting and the grandkids had the best time. The best part of our stay was the service. The staff were very professional, friendly and accommodating. Housekeeping did a wonderful job in keeping our rooms clean. The concierge always took good care of our needs. The staff at the pool and the beach were wonderful. If I could give this rating a 6 star I would. That's how good the service was! We certainly will be back again and again. Thank you Fairmont Kea Lani for taking good care of my family. It was truly memorable and you really made our vacation stay one to remember. Mahalo!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Kea Lani is Hawaii's only all suite and villa luxury oceanfront resort, situated on 22 acres of tropical landscape in sunny Wailea, Maui. Enjoy Travel + Leisure Magazine's 2014 Top Spa in Hawai'i at the resort's Willow Stream Spa, three swimming pools including an adults-only pool, two activity pools connected by a 140-foot waterslide, various beach activities and nearby championship golf, it's the perfect place for a Maui vacation. Both fine dining and casual options may be found in the resort's four restaurants, which include a gourmet bakery and deli and the award winning signature restaurant, Ko. Other hotel amenities include a 24-hour fitness center and classes, a year-round kid's club, boutique shopping, wedding coordination services and 36,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Splendia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.