We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real 5 star Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Sale - 15% off
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Wailea
GreenLeadersBronze level
connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A real 5 star Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Having stayed before at the Fairmont Mayakoba property in the Mexican Rivera, I expected great things out of this resort. Turns out, I was right. First off, let me comment on the resort's architecture. It was beautiful, and it made me feel like I was staying in a palace. The staff the entire time could not have been any better if they tried. Every trouble, question, or request we had did not go unanswered. The resort has 2 family pools and 1 adult pool. On top of this, it is also located right on the beach! Now on to the rooms, they were HUGE. You had a living room area, bedroom, full bath, and a large 180 degree balcony. This was truly a great experience and I would recommend this to anyone looking to have a great time in Maui.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,058 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,381
    445
    140
    73
    19
See reviews for
651
774
21
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I took our 7 year old son for their first trip to Maui. Son could have cared less about half of it, but LOVED the pool. Easily could have played from morning to night. And I would have been happy to stay there with drinks, pineapple cubes and cold washcloths to keep me company all day. We were upgraded to a partial ocean view. Partial it was, but lovely nonetheless. My mistake is never calling to confirm room choices, so we wound up with 2 doubles with no ability to change. The hotel was 'full'. Husband had one bed, I had the other and son was on the sofabed. It worked out but I was severely bummed to not have a King size bed. Parking spaces were super tight in the lot. We had great help in reserving a dinner at Nick's and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. Food was great - worth doing over a luau for us. There were loud noises above us a couple mornings - it sounded like people moving chairs all the time. Smoking guests on a neighboring lanai were also a way to keep us inside vs. out. Despite a variety of kids at the pool, I didn't notice any tantrums or overly loud kids and finding a chair was never a problem though we were up early. I'd definitely stay again, it was a fabulous place to call home for a week. Oh and I didn't like the bath products - no roses for me.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor of the north side at the very far back. Never noticed any guests next to us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Aloha. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments of your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience at our resort however, we would like apologize for the issues you did had encounter while visiting. We appreciate all of the feedback and look forward to you visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii, USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Sit at a romantic outdoor table setting or get a booth inside and watch the action at the 15 seat bar. Fun times had by all!
Fresh fish rules at this special occasion location.
Staff makes special effort to satisfy patrons. You won't be disappointed with the presentation.

Room Tip: All good there are 2 pools to look over one adult (quieter), one family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Family of 8 stayed at the Fairmont Kea Lani in Deluxe Ocean View Rooms. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The beds were very luxurious and made a very restful night. The pools and beach were so inviting and the grandkids had the best time. The best part of our stay was the service. The staff were very professional, friendly and accommodating. Housekeeping did a wonderful job in keeping our rooms clean. The concierge always took good care of our needs. The staff at the pool and the beach were wonderful. If I could give this rating a 6 star I would. That's how good the service was! We certainly will be back again and again. Thank you Fairmont Kea Lani for taking good care of my family. It was truly memorable and you really made our vacation stay one to remember. Mahalo!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Unexpectedly booked late into a suite at the Fairmont Kea Lani on Nov. 14 after a bad stay at another Island property (Inn at Mama's - ugh). There is a reason we keep coming back to Fairmont properties, and it's because they always make us feel so welcome. Accommodations were top notch, The Kea Lani is fantastic and if you are a runner, you will especially appreciate Wailea because there are so many places to go.

I know there is a bit of debate -- Wailea vs. Kanapali. Both are incredible, but Wailea to me just seems more serene and less hurried. The South Maui Beaches are sublime.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was a hotel I was excited to stay at, I had heard amazing things about it and after having a 1st class stay at The Orchid on the Big Island I was expecting alot. The rooms are great with the extra living area feels like a mini apartment and the lanai's are huge so it's like an extra room! The hotel itself has a big resort feeling and you do have the sense that alot has been squeezed into a small piece of land. 3 pools, one of which is adult only which is a relief as this is a family orientated hotel and lends itself well to cater to families and there are alot of families so as a couple it was hard at times to find that quiet little spot away from the noise. The beach attached to the hotel is a public beach and can get busy even though we were here during one of the quieter periods, there is a nice coastal paved walkway to the other hotels which is popular throughout the day and night and you can find some lovely vantage points to watch the sunset. Eating in the hotel can be limited if you're not in the mood for fine dining at Ko and Nicks Fish Market, your only option is the deli store which does do great Italian orientated foods "boxed-to-go". The hotel is very popular for weddings, events and conferences and if your room is in this area be prepared to run the daily gauntlet of these events being set-up, the event itself and then being dismantled - consider the option of re-routing your walk to the pool area. At times we felt awkward walking through these events dressed in our beach attire - we just wanted to relax during our entire stay! The hotel offers plenty of complimentary activities although we couldn't book the daily canoe ride as it was full for our entire 10day break - maybe look at planning ahead for this activity. All in all we enjoyed our stay but if I was to return to Hawaii I would be heading to The Orchid on The Big Island.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel is white, airy and beautiful; the grounds are gorgeous! We were lucky to have a lovely suite, with patio doors to the balcony (lanai) from both the bedroom and the living room and overlooking the adult pool, the huge garden areas, and the ocean. We could also see several other islands in the distance, watch boat traffic and other water activities taking place down at the beach. (Polo Beach) The hotel, the restaurants, the beach were not crowded during our stay. There was plenty of room for our rental car on the roof of the parking garage where the stalls are a bit wider.
Staff and management were very friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed being taken care of'. A special shout-out to Jasmine at the Concierge Desk. Thank you for all your good advice, travel maps, help with booking activiies.As well, a big thank you to Percy of Housekeeping, whose smile lit up the room.She made sure our room was always clean and very tidy.
Mahalo to everyone we interacted with! It was a real pleasure to meet you and your beautiful island.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on a higher floor with an ocean front view. The hotel kindly provided it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Green Hotel in Wailea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#4 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#4 Business Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Kea Lani is Hawaii’s only all suite and villa luxury oceanfront resort, situated on 22 acres of tropical landscape in sunny Wailea, Maui. With the newly-opened 9,000 square-foot Willow Stream Spa, three swimming pools including an adults-only pool, two activity pools connected by a 140-foot waterslide, various beach activities and nearby championship golf, it’s the perfect place for a Maui vacation. Both fine dining and casual options may be found in the resort’s four restaurants, which include a gourmet bakery and deli and the award winning signature restaurant, Kō. Other hotel amenities include a 24-hour fitness center and classes, a year-round kid’s club, boutique shopping, wedding coordination services and 36,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.