We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went here for my honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Unlimited Resort Credit
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Went here for my honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I first went to Lanai and then to Maui during our honeymoon. We stayed at the four seasons and had the most amazing experience. It is a beautiful hotel, the restaurants are amazing, and the service is great. We spent most of our time at the infinity pool. The only problem is that you have to get there early or you will not get a seat. Luckily, we were on Eastern Standard Time so we were always up REALLY early. If you are planning your honeymoon, do not stay anywhere else. Also, while in Maui we went to Mama's Fish House restaurant which is definitely worth going to and also rent a car and do the road to Hana!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,065
    358
    140
    69
    28
See reviews for
821
1,964
54
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (900)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here in June with 2 kids. The resort is absolutely beautiful. Wailea is a beautiful quiet place. Beach is awesome. Pool is awesome. Every person who worked there was also great. The cons are the food. It's expensive (to be expected) but not very good. Also be very careful which room/side of the hotel you stay in. We stayed in a suite on the side that faces the grand wailea and we basically could not use our balcony. They are doing construction and the noise is awful. I will go back but I will be sure to stay on a different side of the hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

To me honest, I was kind of expecting The Four Seasons to not live up to it's reputation. I just couldn't imagine how a hotel at this price could be so much better than a regular $200 room. I was SO WRONG. This hotel is the definition of understated hospitality. There is always a very polite, smiling, man or woman to bring you a drink, a robe, or a menu, answer a question or just point you in the right direction. Our room was impeccably clean and our unseen, but very appreciated, housekeeper had an answer for everything. Left out your sunglasses? Here's a cleaning cloth for them. Left out your makeup? Here's a little tray to put it on. She didn't miss a beat. The fresh flowers around the hotel were amazing. The pool staff was very helpful and let us know and helped us move when an ocean cabana had opened up. The regular pool was so quiet in September that we didn't even have to go to the adult pool. Restaurants were good- we ate out and about pretty often but the pool cafe nicoise salad was amazing as was the poke at our luau. Overall, an amazing vacation. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Our room looked out over a grassy garden area with water features. It gave direct access to some ham...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Well, here is the problem with this place. Once you stay here, staying at any other hotel is like staying at a motel 6 on the side of an interstate. First, the resort is amazing. The pools, grounds, restaurants and bars are great! There is not a spec of trash anywhere. The building is well kept. Sure, is there bumps and bruises from luggage carts on a piece of trim, yes, its to be expected but its nothing that looks worn. Some of the previous reviewers need to relax. The lobby bar was our favorite place to hang. Great music, awesome view, and awesome drinks. I could sit there everyday.

The beach was awesome. Beach guys were super attentive and we never had a problem with chairs and umbrella. The snorkeling off the beach was the best I have seen in a while and I have snorkeled all over the carribean and bermuda. There was plenty of fish and the sea turtles were always hanging around the rocks every day. There is more fish here than at the molikini crater. The water service at the beach was great too.

The serenity pool was amazing. We never got up early for a seat but we typically put our name in around 9 and usually had a chair by 11-12. NEver had a bad experience here. Awesome service, food, and drinks. The view was amazing. It was pretty peaceful.

The room was huge. We had a mountain view (748) and it was great. Had a view of the golf course. The parking garage below never bothered us as it was well hidden. Unless you looked down (why would you when you have the golf course and mountain), you never knew it was there. The bathroom was a hit with the wife. It was great as was the closet. The towels were great.

Food - we had the bed and breakfast package and it cost us an extra $50 on our reservation per night but so worth it. The buffet at duo was great. Plenty to choose from and we always left full. We ate dinner at DUO on market night and it was good but the best meal was Ferraro. Awesome food, service, view. We only ate here once and we should have eaten here twice.

Other perks - the car service was great. Getting shuttled around in a 7 series BMW or Escalade to and from Wailea was awesome. Everyone was super friendly. The valets were great.
The concierge were so helpful. They booked everything for us and had great advice. Use them if you go! There service was impeccable.

The staff everywhere was great. Always calling you by name and smiling. I have never experience such service anywhere ( I have stayed at Ritz, JW hotels ) and the 4S was amazing.

Just a brief note, after 7 days here, we moved to a hotel on the northshore of Oahu (think turtle) and it was like night and day with respect to service. It really made us appreciate the 4S and everything it had to offer. Granted, it cost more but you get what you pay for in life.

If you have the means and are going on a honeymoon, stay here. Get a mountain view and enjoy the place. It is well worth it. It also was great for families too.

Thanks 4S. You ruined every other hotel for us!

Room Tip: Mountain view are affordable. 748 was a great room. Get the bed and breakfast package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for our summer get away for a week. We've stayed here before, but I must telll you if you are visiting Maui to enjoy yourself to relax, look no further and book Four Seasons. They welcome you from the moment you step into this hotel starting with beautiful orchid lei with refreshing drink.
Ther resort has beautiful views from everywhere you walk around and the staff were all extremeley welcoming. Impeccable service everywhere on the resort. Yes, it is an expensive resort, but I feel like you really get what you pay for here. The guest rooms are good size with huge bath room which is very functional, not to mention it looks very nice. I travel a lot and have seen so many beautiful bathrooms, but they often had some kind of inconvenient factors like inspite of the large size but yet no place to put things, or not enough water pressure or something. But for me, this one was very easy to use and nothing inconvenient while using it. The bed was very comfortable and patio off the guest room was lovely with recliners and the ocean view.
We have dined at all of their restaurants and they were all wonderful. Pool side lunch was lovely and convenient. We liked thier nachos and sample platter.
We enjoyed staying in cabana half a day and ordered massage in there. It was relatively reasonble in price and quite relaxing. I highly reccomend the Serenity pool for adults ( you must be 21 years or older to enter this area). The view is spectacular and the pool is in infinity pool.
I found the water temperature slightly warmer than main pool which made me more comfortable also. You can order cocktail here and it sure is quiet with no children around. Way to relax!
Spago was wonderful with great food, and Ferraro, the Italian restaurant by the beach, was lovely with great Italina food at dinner time. Duo's seafood dishes were wonderful.
It is very easy access to the beach where they set you up with shade recliner chairs.
I don't know what there is to complain about this resort.
We can't wait to go back there again for total indulgence. Best of Maui. Highly reccommended.

Room Tip: I reccommend a partial ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

One of the best Hotels I ever visited. Great location, perfect service and the suite we stayed in was fantastic. The hotel is situated at a beautiful beach where you can easily spot the whales passing by and some dolphins. Just around the corner you may even discover some turtles in the morning. Looking for a perfect holiday location? You just found it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have to say that the resort is wonderful in most every way, though we are not overly impressed with the food as a general statement. DUO is good, Ferraro's is marginal, Spago is ok but not a value for the money.
KO remains our favorite restaurant on the island, we ate there twice during this most recent trip.
The rooms are nice but seem tired.
The lounge is a hot spot and our favorite of the property.
We usually stay at The Kea Lani but chose FS this time simply as a matter of change, we prefer the neighbor down the street as there is more engagement with the staff and a sense of comfort without formality, FS feels a bit uptight for us.
Just a matter of personal taste, this is a wonderful place and the company has incredible hotels in many locations that we visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.3 mi away
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
26.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
22.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea

Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#1 Green Hotel in Wailea
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#1 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Amex, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea
Wailea Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.