We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as everyone says” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $1000 Resort Credit
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Wailea
Scottsdale
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“As good as everyone says”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We only stayed here for 2 nights, but they were wonderful! The service is excellent, from the moment you pull up, the valet and bell staff are all over you. The welcome flower lei's were a pleasant surprise and the front desk staff very personable. We upgrated to an ocean view room, some trees blocking the ocean view, but still nice, big lanei, looking into an inner courtyard and close to the elevator and all the action. The bathroom is big and just so lovely!!
Housekeeping the best. 2x daily cleaning, I don't know how they do it, but they do! We loved it here! The breakfast which was included for us, was well worth it. The beach service with chairs and umbrellas a plus. We never tried to go to the infinity pool, since we had a child with us. We go to Hawaii for the beach, not the pool anyway. Pools to us are an afterthought. We enjoyed stargazing one night, and even saw Saturn! That was awesome. We ate at Spago, I'll review that separately. We checked out and went to the Ritz, I'll review that one as well. Hands down, Four Seasons is the winner.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are great, but if you have little ones, close to the beach/pool area is g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,053 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,589
    291
    100
    50
    23
See reviews for
657
1644
42
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had an amazing time in Maui! I was looking for more of a wow factor when pulling up to the Resort. I expect the Four Seasons to be more luxurious on the outside it was very plain. But they did greet you with a beautiful lei. Our room was ready when we arrived at 1:30 so we had a drink and enjoyed sitting by the beach. They guarantee check in by 3 and our room wasn’t ready at 3:30 so they upgraded us into a better room, well worth the wait! The staff was so friendly, everything was “yes”, yes we have that, yes we can accommodate you. The staff is constantly walking around with cold scented towel to cool you off. When leaving the hotel they always asked if we need water bottles and towels are our day. We loved the Four Season and will defiantly stay again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary here at the hotel staff treated us extremely well. When hearing it was a special occasion, they upgraded our room to one of the finest on the property! They also sent champagne flowers the whole nine yards. It's truly a special place!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a nice, expensive hotel - probably as good as it gets in Maui. But after experiencing amazing hotels in places like maldives, tahiti and turks and caicos, you´re left wondering how underexplored (from a luxury service point of view) hawaii is.
This is a big hotel, with lots of rooms...therefore lots of people everywhere! No sense of exclusion, privacy or exclusivity.
When you pay over 1000 USD for night and you have to face lines for breakfast or you can´t find a pool cabana I can´t avoid wondering if the price is worth it.
Don´t take me wrong, this is a very confortable hotel and the staff is extraordinary. The beach in front is awsome with clear, warm waters.
However, all public and pool areas are always very crowded (they should have at least twice the number of pools to accomodate the number of guests) and although breakfast is excellent, lunch and dinner offerings are not memorable at all. The gym is very good and there are several activities to keep you busy.
Rooms have a very nice size, with huge bathrooms and a lanai (we had a full ocean view, but it would be more honestly described as a partial ocean view...).
I stayed for 4 days and 2 of the days we arrived at breakfast after 8am which implied waiting for a table to be free (and the hotel wasn´t full). Also, we couldn´t find a seat at the bar in the evening so we ended up not experiecing the bar. The mini bar inside the room only had 2 bottles of water, which is a bit strange - you have to order any other drink from room service.
In summary, a nice and expensive hotel (with excellent staff) but that fails to exceed expectations. I would not return.

Room Tip: Don´t have big expectations on the ocean view from your room - due to construction angle, only ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSMaui, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Aloha from Maui,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback, and are disappointed to hear about your concerns with our business levels and food. If you would like to discuss your concerns, please contact me at 808.874.2212 or konrad.gstrein@fourseasons.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,

Konrad Gstrein
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Altho I have stayed at other 4S resorts none (that I have been to yet) have had more aloha than Maui!

Everyone was super helpful and I dont drink coffee, so it was nice to be told about the tea service! I was upgraded to a lovely room with a GORGEOUS ocean view!

The 4S is my new addiction!

Room Tip: I got upgraded to the fabulous ocean view room (see photo) Just ask they are always happy to assist!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at FS Maui with our two boys, 8 and 11. We had mountainside rooms on the 6th floor, which were nice big rooms but very average looking at the car park roof. They were also miles away from the lifts, painful if you forgot something.....We did ask to look at other options and were offered a suite, but kids would have been in rollaway beds and it was going to be extra $$$...... Games room fantastic, open air gym and separate weights room excellent. Breakfast at Duo good (Halekulani better) and lunch at Ferraros good. The main pool very average for a five star resort, doesn't compare to similar style properties in Asia PAC. Service by the pool good. Serenity pool nice but gets very windy from lunchtime onwards, as does the beach. Tennis coach Darin fabulous and a great asset to this resort. The hotel has its own cars to take you to whichever restaurant you are dining at and will pick you up, an excellent service. We did the outrigger canoe also, which was complimentary and very enjoyable. Fitness classes ie spin etc also a great facility.
Very enjoyable resort but the main pool would probably deter me from rushing back.

Room Tip: Mountainside rooms are a long way from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSMaui, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Aloha from Maui,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm sorry to hear about your concerns with our pool facilities. If you would like to further discuss your stay, please feel free to contact me at 808.874.2212 or Konrad.Gstrein@fourseasons.com.

Warmest Mahalo,

Konrad Gstrein
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Fantastic visit to the Four Seasons last week. The photos do not do the resort justice - it is breathtaking. The serenity pool is actually upstairs and has the best views of the island and ocean. The Blueberry monitors are very good and the service at the cabanas fantastic.
Nice large rooms and plenty of lovely open air specs throughout the hotel. Loved their free shuttle service within 1 mile of the resort at all hours.

Room Tip: Book through whatahotel.com to get the free buffet breakfast t DUO each morning and a $100 credit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea

Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wailea
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#1 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Tingo, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea
Wailea Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.