We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $1000 Resort Credit
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Wailea
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed for a week with my 4 months pregnant wife. Booked with Amex platinum.
Initially booked a room with an ocean view, we checked in and got a room with somewhat of an ocean view (far, between palm trees). I went back to the front desk and after discussing a bit the staff was kind enough to give us a room facing the ocean with an amazing view (couldn't ask for a better view), although it was late in August and the hotel was almost fully booked. So I was truly happy about it.
The beach was somewhat overcrowded all the more and almost impossible to get a spot with an umbrella after 10am, so the trick was to spend the morning by the pool and the afternoon at the beach. Staff by the pool and at the beach were friendly and very attentive, the food was ok during the day with a good variety of choices.
The couple restaurants for dinner were great, but I highly recommend making reservations (very popular restaurants among locals, especially on weekends. As an alternative, you can have a nice dinner by the bar in the lobby, with live music most evenings.
I would definitely go back, off peak season.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,051 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,587
    291
    100
    50
    23
See reviews for
656
1643
42
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at this resort from May 7-14 for our honeymoon. Let me just begin by saying that I cannot thank my husband enough for booking this amazing resort for us. It was incredible! We stayed in room 710 which had an ocean view, not ocean front. The room and view was amazing. The bathroom itself was larger then my childhood bedroom and came with all the necessary and unnecessary luxuries that one would need. In case you are interested in a dance party in your bathroom, there's an option to play music throughout the bathroom- a lot of fun! The king sized bed was very comfortable (i'm kinda picky with beds). Since it was our honeymoon they provided us with a free bottle of champagne upon arrival, which was a nice bonus. The room comes with a mini fridge as well incase u decide to bring food back to the room. Now on to the good stuff....the resort itself is not too big and not too small. We were not sure how they did this but I swear every staff member greeted us by name, and let me tell you our last name is not an easy one to pronounce. We were very impressed! We mostly stayed by the serenity pool which was adults only and had a breathtakingly beautiful infinity pool which over looked the ocean. Although the serenity pool had limited seating and you did need to get there early to reserve a seat, it did not bother us that much as we were still working on New York time so we managed to get there by 7 a.m. for a good seat every day. The serenity pool is heaven! Not only do they never let your water fall below a certain level without refilling it, they come around with cool towels and cucumbers for your face, a muffin in the morning, fruit in the afternoon and ice pops in the late afternoon. I cannot say enough about the service and staff at this resort. It was impeccable! During the second half of our honeymoon- we stayed on a different island at a different hotel which made the quality of the service at the Four Seasons even more clear. I never once had to ask for anything as any time i would look as if I was in need of something, there was someone right there willing to help- but not to an overbearing degree. All staff appeared happy and eager to help. I never even saw staff members congregating together or chatting. It seems that whoever is in charge of keeping the staff on their toes- is doing a fantastic job! Although it is polite to tip (most staff are dependent on tips) I never once felt pressured to tip. In fact, I overheard a staff member assuring an elderly man that it wasn't necessary for him to tip everyone as most staff members share their tips. He appeared greatful. I must say I most favorite time of the day was the breakfast buffet. It was incredible! We always requested Amber as she was possibly the most friendly, warm, and beautiful person we met on the island. It was a pleasure to wake up and be greeted by her at breakfast. The buffet provided every single food request that one could possible think of and then some! All food was very fresh!! We had lunch several times at Ferraro's and enjoyed every meal. We only had dinner once on the resort, at Duo's, and had a wonderful meal. We ate locally a lot as we found we spent most of our time during the day at the resort and felt antsy to do something else during the night time. We ate at Monkey Pod's twice (just down the road) which were most likely the best meals we had on the island. The food was incredibly fresh and delicious! Must try the Ahi Poke Tacos appetitzer...my mouth is watering just thinking of it. We had sushi at Sansei in Kihei...it was okay, not great by New York sushi standards but we spoke with others who loved it. Something you must do before you leave Maui is go to the Feast at LeLe Luau- it was incredible! Although this is the not the #1 Luau on the island...it is by far the most entertaining and romantic. It included a fire show and we got to sit by ourselves with waiter service as apposed to other Luaus which often include buffet style and seating with others. Another night we drove back to Lahaina by Kannapali beach and had sushi at Japango's which is located at the Hyatt. That was an incredible meal with an incredible view!! Be careful, the sushi rolls are very big in Hawaii- we were fine with sharing three rolls. The beach walk along kannapali beach was beautiful and do go to Whaler's Village for some shopping and dessert. Very nice area but very busy- made us appreciate the quiet seclusion of the Four Seasons. We did attempt Hanna Road but found it very stressful and anxiety producing. The roads are incredibly windy and dangerous. It's very hard for whomever is driving to appreciate anything as they can't take their eyes off the road, not even for a second! We wound up turning around by mile marker 8 as we thought it was stupid to be so stressed when we had a beautiful resort at our disposal. Whenever you do leave the resort, anything you need the parking attendants will provide- including bottled water, towels, directions, etc. We used the gym twice as it was too tempting not to. The aerobics area was all outdoors under a shaded tent with views of the ocean! Hard to complain about going to the gym when it's like that! I'm sure I'm leaving out so many great aspects about this gorgeous resort but I'm sure you get the drift...if you are lucky enough to have a chance to go to this resort- take it!! go and enjoy :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Most of the good and bad points on the four seasons have already been raised in previous reviews but note if you are planning on doing any swimming in the hotel pool give this a miss.

There's one main pool that is tiny with a big fountain in the middle and then a kids pool and a serenity pool where you seemed to have to queue up at 7am at the gate to get a spot (or later put your name down on a list and wait for them to call you.

Other than that the place is decent, just please build a bigger pool...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSMaui, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Aloha,

Greetings from Maui. Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property; it is important to us as we strive to continue to uphold the highest standards. If you would like to further discuss your concerns with our pools, please contact me at Konrad.Gstrein@fourseasons.com or 808.874.2212.

Warmest mahalo,

Konrad Gstrein
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was our second visit to the Four Seasons in Maui. Everything regarding our stay was great as one would expect from the Four Seasons. We were there for 6 Days and had great time. The room was great, the pools were great and the service was fantastic. The only thing we were disappointed with was the main restaurant called DUO. The prices were high as you expect but the food was not very good. Both breakfast and dinner were disappointing. I would recommend staying away from DUO as there are better options. The food at the lounge bar was excellent and I would highly recommend it. DUO was the only reason I did not give an overall rating of excellent for the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSMaui, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Aloha from Maui,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am disappointed to hear about your concerns with DUO. If you would like to discuss them further, please contact me at Konrad.Gstrein@fourseasons.com or 808.874.2212.

Mahalo,

Konrad Gstrein
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

One of the best places on earth! The staff is outstanding and the accommodations are awesome. I would suggest a room facing the interior of the resort. I did not eat at the restaurants, but they are pricey. The place is awesome, very expensive, but if you want to be pampered and can afford it, the place to go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This resort is very very nice. Staff was excellent, and then some. Don't bother getting a room that is not a full or partial ocean view. The traffic noise will be a drag on your vacation. We live on the beach in CA so we booked garden view to save a few$$. We immediately upgraded after getting to the room to full ocean view because of the traffic noise behind us. The staff was awesome about it and did give us a discount which we very much appreciated. Danny the bartender at the adult was so cool, and really made a difference in our trip. Thanks Danny! Best drinks ever! The adult pool is gorgeous but fills up fast. By 9 am you are out of luck. Hang out in the pool area though and relax and wait. They have cubbie holes for your stuff and make it easy to wait. The only problem is they try and make the adult pool to much like a spa pool. No music, no cell phones ect. You have this awesome pool area and swim up bar, and every guest we talked to said the same thing.. Where is the music? The music is playing under water which is cool but not fun. The regular pool is not nearly as nice and feels cramped. Food at the resort is ok. Eat lunch at ferraros over the pool menu. It's a little better. The duo breakfast buffet is great. Banana pancakes with their local syrup is great. Don't bother with the room service breakfast, it's good but duo's was great. Both duo and ferraros was just ok and very pricey. If you are going to eat at ferraros after 8 pm reservations got half price wine which was cool. If you want a steak, skip duo and go to Ruth chris at the wailea shops, house car will take you. If you want just good food, fun atmosphere and great drinks go to monkey pod up the street, best meal we had, and a good deal. Spago was good but very pricey and a limited menu. Don't get me wrong his resort is great, just a few small things like the pool could make it incredible.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the garden view room, the traffic noise will not be well recieved
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The music in the bathrooms as well as the size and amenities were amazing. The pools, the amenities at the pool, suntan lotion, kindle's and ice water were a very nice touch. Food was excellent at every venue

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea

Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#1 Green Hotel in Wailea
#1 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Tingo, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea
Wailea Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.