We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May Sound Surprising - but this place is a serious VALUE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“May Sound Surprising - but this place is a serious VALUE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Visited in January 2010.

Value isn't what typically comes to mind when one thinks of the Four Seasons but with all the inclusions, it really was a terrific value. I'd highly recommend booking through a travel agent who specializes in the Four Seasons properties as that seemed to help. We reserved a garden room but were upgraded to an ocean view room. Complimentary yoga was included on the beach every morning which is a great deal - we pay $60/day in Jamaica for this.

Also, our package included an amazing breakfast each morning. With the huge breakfast, we usually just had a snack in the afternoon and then dinner. Plus the concierge services were terrific - we had a few vague notions of things we wanted to do and the concierge gave us great ideas and arranged everything.

It was truly magical. Our favorite thing we did was arranged for a private yoga class at sunset on the beach and during our final resting pose, a light rain began to fall - totally magical and mind-blowing.

Although it was expensive, it was worth every penny.

The bathrooms are amazing - surprising how much time you can spend in such a luxurious bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,894
    334
    125
    62
    25
See reviews for
753
1,850
50
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (831)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I just returned from an 11-night stay at the Four Season's Wailea. We have travelled pretty regularly over the years and quite simply put.... this hotel is wonderful. The "aloha spirit" is everywhere and the surroundings are truly beautiful. The sunsets are unforgettable. I have been an avid reader of TripAdviser for many years and find that the consensus top choices are usually right on. THIS PLACE IS GREAT! GO THERE!

The best advice I can give to all the readers is to absolutely, positively book your stay through Whatahotel.com. I tried this "preferred provider" a few years ago as many readers mentioned them in their reviews. By using their service you receive some amazing perks (free full breakfast buffet for 2 every morning including the gratuity, a room upgrade if available, a $100 resort credit). We have booked through them for the last few years and its been a great experience as their service + perks are wonderful. LOOK THEM UP ONLINE AND TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE FREE OFFERINGS! You'll feel silly paying $80 for breakfast when you can have it included for free everyday.

In summary, the beach is beautiful and the pools are very nice. The food is great but very expensive in the Wailea area. The hotel does offer free rides to/from dinner if you eat in Wailea. There are many good places to eat (we enjoyed Tommy Bahama, Monkeypod, Joe's, Ko's at the Fairmont, Duo at the FS. This is absolutely one of our favorite destinations. Hope you all enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at here for 5 nights. Wonderful luxury resort. We had a mountain view room, which was really no view at all but we weren't there for the room view. The rooms though we're great. Spacious comfortable big bathroom and dreamy bed! Nice toiletries in the bathroom.
The food in the hotel is great! Breakfast is only buffet which is expensive. But lunch and dinner are great. The lobby bar is nice and with hula as well. The beach is gorgeous. Went snorkeling just out the front with turtles and manta ray. Hired paddle boards for $40 each! Wayyyyy too expensive but it was so much fun.
Best part of resort is the adults only pool. Quiet with a view and cocktail bar. It was a considerable wait to get lounges but just go prepared to wait.
Would love to go back here, hope to in a few years time!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here before going on to the Four Seasons on the Big Island. There was a mix up with our room, but the manager was so gracious and so very committed to providing a workable solution.

This Four Seasons isa terrific property if you are looking for more to do. We are not a big fan of the more urban tall structures without a cultural feel or true ocean views when doing an island vacation. Staying in the low rise suite with the ceiling fans and tropical flavor provided the option we prefer. We had a full ocean view and lovely patio to enjoy our paradise.

Highlights -

The cycling classes were great fun. Our instructor made it fun.

Renting a cabana - absolute must if you can do it. We had a perfect day. It was my birthday and my husband and I had a closed sofa area to enjoy privacy and lounge chairs to enjoy the view of the ocean and great poolside massages. We pushed back our dinner reservations to enjoy our retreats little longer.

Amazing food here. Very well done and creative menu.

Great beach

Fantastic spa treatment on the beach. Note: it is warm, fully enclosed, no wind. Incredible way to have a treatment.

Lots to do close to this property.

Cons

If you can't take advantage of the suites, the rooms in the tall structures are very standard. No real view unless you lean out of the balcony as they were built facing each other rather than toward the beach. Unfortunately, you are looking at the other building.

Very windy property most of the year.

If you are going to go to the Kona property, I highly recommend coming here first. It's the right order as Kona is more luxurious and more of a quiet retreat which is the perfect romantic ending to a trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Make no mistake this place is not cheap but when you leave you will feel it was worth every penny. Everyone on the staff will make you feel like a VIP. I've never stayed at a resort like this before. Now I can't imagine not staying here. It's worth making cuts to other areas in spending throughout the year just to spend a little extra on a vacation at the Four Seasons Maui.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Don't miss 4 Season at Wailea.Excellent beach .I have a 4 days stay and was the best vacations I have with front desk, bar and pool staff, fine restaurants.I promised my wife to return as soon will be possible .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I dont have experience with other high-end hotels in Hawaii nor do I have much Four Seasons experience, so my review may be a little off. I am more of a budget traveler. BUT I will say that being able to stay here for two nights was amazing. The hotel is gorgeous. The suite we had was amazing, especially the large bathroom. All staff members cater to your every need. The scenery at this particular location was awesome - island views, perfect sunset views. The restaurants are all mostly outside/open-air or ocean facing, so you can see the ocean and the views pretty much anytime. The serenity pool was wonderful - gorgeous infinity pool overlooking the ocean. No kids allowed. The beach here is so-so. It is OK and the hotel offers watersports FREE. The canoeing is worth 30 minutes! Do it! But it is definitely worth going to nearby Big Beach - only about 3 miles away. Big Beach is one of the most beautiful beaches on Maui and makes the beach at this hotel look like a 1 star out of 5. Overall had a great stay. would imagine anyone who stayed here would love it. What's not to love

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea

Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#1 Green Hotel in Wailea
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#1 Spa Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea
Wailea Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.