We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places to be pampered” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Unlimited Resort Credit
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“One of the best places to be pampered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed for a week in a Partial Ocean view Exec Suite Facing the north side. It gives you the privacy from the two lanais -- that is the only place where you do have your space as the hotel and the beach are packed in Summer. Rooms facing the inner garden are nice as well but the lanais on one side, face lanais on the other side of the hotel.

We loved the pools with the kids. It is hard getting a shady spot at the adult pool unless you go early around 7 to grab one.

Enjoyed the beach activities -- the outrigger canoe (book it a day or two in advance), snorkeling, boogie boards and my teenager got his scuba certification via the dive team attached to the hotel. Got a great dvd with all the sea creatures he saw on his first dive.

The gym is great for an early morning workout and the weight room is attached to the spa so look out for it -- did not see it the first day.

The breakfast buffet varied on a daily basis and it was a blast -- enjoyed the omelets and the fresh fruits section. Service at all 3 restaurants was great and so was the food. The concierges are helpful in planning activities and making suggestions that balance a restful holiday as well as doing activities with the kids. We spent time at the hotel and the beach for 4 days and did the helicopter ride, zip-lining and the trip to lanai on the other 3 days .

Thanks for a lovely vacation and shout out to the Dive team, the servers the concierge and the folks at the poolside. Mahalo

Room Tip: opt for rooms facing the north side or south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,023
    351
    135
    68
    28
See reviews for
801
1,935
53
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (883)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

My husband and I were on our Honeymoon. We did look at the review prior to choosing our hotel, we wanted everything to be perfect and my god it was. The hotel was perfect, the staff was amazing and the food...wow. We did not feel surrounded by kids, which was important to us. The room was quiet, never heard the neighbours and the bed are so comfortable, never slept so well in my life. The gardens are amazing and we even had a pic nick with champagne. The concierge staff were great, we did amazing things. So yes, pick this place. A little more expensive then what I am used to but worth it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon for 10 days. I don't even know where to being to talk about the amazing and unparalleled experience we had at the Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea.

The incredible service and attention begins upon arrival. As we checked in (fairly late, nearly 11pm because of our flight arrival) we were offered cold lavender towels and cucumber-infused water. The amazing service continued throughout the entire stay. The pool staff is constantly bringing by complimentary refreshments: assorted muffins, Evian sprays, chilled towels and cucumbers, fresh fruit, ice water, popsicles, etc. The list goes on and on. And they never seemed to be *too* attentive. They simply anticipated guests' needs and exceeded them. I would be thinking, "It's warm and I'm getting thirsty," and there was immediately someone there refilling my water glass or beverage. Amazing.

We ate by the pool most days and the food was delicious. We also had breakfast several days at Duo and dinner at Ferraro's. All were great and the service - again! - unbelievable. Everyone called us by name and ensured that every need was met. The Lobby Lounge is also nice. There is Hawaiian music every afternoon and other types of music nightly.

The housekeeping staff cleans the guest rooms twice daily. And they really pay attention to little, tiny details. For example, my husband left a book open, face-down on the coffee table and when we returned the housekeeping staff had put a bookmark in the book for him! We were floored. The attention to detail is what makes this hotel stand out from every other.

The grounds are lush and beautiful and the guest rooms are spacious and spotless. We had an ocean-view room and enjoyed sitting out on the balcony to watch the sunset.

We spent most of our days by the adults-only Serenity Pool. Future hotel guests, be warned: to get your choice of lounge chair (or any chair at all) be prepared to line up around 6:30am daily. It wasn't difficult for us because of the time change, being from Minnesota. We were up anyway. Though the days we did decide to sleep in a little, we ended up sitting by the Fountain Pool. Also nice and just as great of service, though a little louder because it's filled with children and families. If you're looking for a fun splurge, reserve a Luxury Cabana by the Serenity Pool. We reserved one of these cabanas twice during our stay and it was a great decision. The cabanas have wireless internet and huge TVs. They also come with complimentary champagne and fruit plates and the service is even better! They really are amazing and its provides a nice reprieve from the sun. I've uploaded a few pictures with my review.

All in all, I can't rave about this resort enough. There's never a reason to leave and we will definitely return very soon. Thank you Four Seasons for the most incredible honeymoon.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for an ocean-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Stayed here with my husband for 5 nights for an anniversary trip. It really did live up to all expectations after reading glowing reviews! We booked through WhataHotel.com, which I would particularly recommend. (I had read about it from the other reviews). When you book you get free breakfast every day (gratuity included), a lunch credit at Ferraro's up to $85, and a free room upgrade (if available). They matched the "5th night free" rate from the hotel's website.

The breakfast buffet was the highlight of the trip! It was amazing--I saw it featured on a Giada DiLaurentis show. Definitely get the macadamia nut pancakes with the lilikoi syrup!! And knowing that you are eating for free makes it taste even better! it normally costs $85 for 2 (gratuity included).

The attention to detail at this hotel is excellent. We mentioned it was our anniversary, and they gave us a free bottle of champagne. You leave a book on the night stand, the maid leaves a bookmark and a book light next to it. Etc, etc. The beach in front of the hotel is awesome too! Sandy, no rocks, great snorkeling! We rented Stand-up paddleboards twice, which were fun! (Albeit pricey). Played ping pong/shuffleboard in the game room. We both got massages beach-side which were great. The grounds are immaculate and beautiful, with orchids everywhere you look. This was our first trip to Maui, and the Four Seasons made it memorable indeed! It is very expensive--other reviewers urged to go ahead and splurge. I would second that!!

Room Tip: Partial ocean view room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Went there for our honeymoon and really the first getaway ever with just the two of us. (our trips normally comprised of lots of family & of course lots of crazy fun) But seeing that it is our honeymoon, we decided maybe it would be best to go by ourselves...

We stayed there for almost a week and everyday they made us feel like royalty. Staff there were so good to us. We arranged a lot of our activities last minute and they took care of everything for us. (of course you shouldn't wait til last minute) Word of advice, plan ahead and especially make reservations for the Luaus, they get booked up FAST! There are a lot of activities to do there...
*snorkeling
*ziplining
*LUAUS!!
*bike riding down a scary-a** mountain (with hairpin roads that dont have any railings to keep you from falling over) after seeing an amazing sunrise
*sight-seeing...rent a car (yes the hotel will also arrange this for you)

still by far the best trip and stay I've had.

By the way I had the partial ocean view room and it was still nice. But if you really dont want to spend the extra money, just ask yourself are you really going to be in the room that much to enjoy the view. If not, spend the money on the real site seeing when you're actually outside enjoying Maui.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Any guest of the Four Seasons collection has a rather high set of expectations. The fact is, the Four Seasons sets the benchmark for all others, and the location in Wailea will not disappoint. While the main focus here is relaxed luxury, you won't find too many children running around the grounds. That's what next door is for. I stayed in a 1-bedroom ocean view suite, which had a great open layout, large bathrooms, and a wonderful lanai. The food was as expected, rich in flavor and served by absolute professionals. While I did rank the hotel Excellent, because anything less would be truly a lie, I was not 100% thrilled by the simplistic nature of resort. I do like a bit more going-ons. I'm not talking Panama City Spring Break of Senior year, but a little more activity wouldn't hurt. The beach is serene, the waters warm, and Wailea really is just tops when it comes to oceanside Maui. This hotel should definitely be on your short list (very short list)

Room Tip: Spend some time in Lahaina! Amazing town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was roughly our 7th or 8th stay at this wonderful resort--it's become an annual destination. Despite the islands' economic slowdown, the Four Seasons Maui just doesn't fail to impress. Between the spotless property, beautiful room, attentive and eager-to-please staff (who remembers you by name from previous visits), generally excellent food and one of the best beaches in Hawaii, there's little reason to leave the property. Yes, it's expensive, the food, wine and spa at times outrageously so (not to mention $16/day for high speed Internet?!), but the quality of the experience makes it worth every penny. The only ding (besides the usurious charges for Internet access)--and it's a small one--is occasional housekeeping issues, but they are always addressed personally, promptly and courteously. The best hotel property on Maui--don't miss it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.3 mi away
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
26.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
23.6 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea

Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#1 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#1 Green Hotel in Wailea
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea
Wailea Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.