We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be coming back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Makena Surf

Save Saved
You added Makena Surf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Makena Surf
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4850 Makena Alanui, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Maui Condos from $387
1 review
“Won't be coming back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

On arrival walked into a condo with a beautiful view that smelled terrible. Needed the windows open to clear the odor but it was there everyone we returned. There was a cigarette butt on the lanai. The Netflix remote didn't work and maintenance didn't correct the problem. The keys were difficult to use as the licks were old and not well maintained as was a lot if the property. The maintenance guy broke the key off in the lock by the pool then left, locking us in and forcing me to climb the fence to get back to the apartment to get the spare key. Luckily the condo wasn't locked or we would have had more trouble. The entire property needs major renovation to justify the cost. Would rather pay more and get the service and amenities of Wailea Beach Villas.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    16
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
49
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chugiak, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked and paid early to get better rates, so did not get to pick our unit ahead of time. But we felt like we won the lottery as soon as we walked in the door. Stayed in A-101, which was a beautiful unit with a magnificent view of the beach. It had a ton of space for our family of four, and the kitchen was amazingly well-stocked. They even included things like aluminum foil and ice for coolers. We had a BBQ right at our site and loved looking at the water while we cooked every night. Lots of nice welcoming touches there when we arrived.

Nice pool, herb garden and tennis courts. Beautiful grounds and the gardeners were wonderful about showing us around. The beach is really fantastic. Just a quick walk, and not overly crowded. The unit had umbrellas and beach chairs for use. We enjoyed snorkeling every day and saw multiple turtles, including one not 2 feet from shore.

We absolutely did not want to leave. One of the most amazing places we have stayed in. Already wishing we could go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at C103, whilst not as good a view as the beach villas it still was breathtaking. The villa itself is magnificent. From a TV that goes up and down at a control (as it slightly blocks the ocean view when up) to the great kitchen with heaps of appliances. Comfortable beds etc. The beach is lovely with turtles there everyday. My girls (14 and 17) loved swimming with them. The pools were lovely but honestly with such a nice beach ..... Parking was close to the unit. Wasn't far to Wailea Shops which were good as well. Great walks along the boardwalk for miles as well. This was booked through Ali Resorts who were wonderful to deal with.

Room Tip: Any room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had a wonderful stay in this 3 bedroom unit. The kitchen was incredibly well stocked. We had family dinners on the lanai at sunset every night. The views were incredible. The beach is steps away and it was wonderful. We had a turtle swim up to us one afternoon while we were playing in the surf. The snorkeling was great right in front of our unit. The pool was right in front of our unit and was very well maintained. There were beach chairs, umbrellas and towels. We did see mice, but this was taken care of promptly. Maui has had a mouse issue this spring. Destination Resorts was easy to deal with and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Makena Surf, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Aloha....We appreciate you taking the time to post your review of Makena Surf. It is a beautiful beachfront property and as you experienced, the snorkeling in front is outstanding. Turtles often frequent the area and they are beautiful to see, from a safe distance. Hopefully, you can come back soon to get reacquainted.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in F-110 on this our 2nd visit to Makena Surf
Perfection
Large grass area in front. No walls, bushes, or trees blocking any views from inside or on the lanai.

Comfortable two bedroom two bath unit. Condo had everything you would want or need. Including own BBQ grill. Just a few short steps to the pool and a short walk to either beach this property sits on

Breakfast on the grass overlooking the ocean every morning as the sun begins to rise over Haleakala. perfect

After breakfast, Snorkeling each morning as soon as the sun hits the water on the point out front. Perfect. Clear water, lots of fish, (even a pair of reef sharks cruise here most mornings) abundant colorful corals, turtles even day (low day was 3 with a high of 9 in a 1 hour snorkel) no crowds. Later in the morning most of the Molokini boats and the kayak tours from Wailea are here bringing crowds. We had it to ourselves every morning before they arrived and just walked in from the beach.

This complex does not have the restaurants or shops the large properties have, but that is all close by as of Wailea is a quick drive or nice walk; as is Kihei just a few minutes up the road by car.

If you want all the "action" look elsewhere. But, if you want comfort, luxury, great beaches, beautiful landscaped grounds, best snorkeling, amazing sunset views every night, excellent service from on-site staff, Makena Surf is your place

Multiple booking methods, Destination Resorts is the primary and they do an excellent job and have a great website where you view all the units they offer here. Look for yourself

12 trips visiting all the islands. Stayed many places, For us Makena Surf is perfect

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Makena Surf, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Aloha....I was thrilled to see that you enjoy Makena Surf so much and that you have found it to be your "perfect" place to stay when visiting Maui. Also, thank you so much for mentioning us as your Rental Management Company of choice. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Can not say enough glowing remarks about the unit and property. The pictures do not do it justice. We stayed in b 103 and the unit was wonderful and the property well maintained. Good pools, nicely sized not crowded beaches. Security at night. Had a relaxing stay with our 3 kids. The unit was spotless and all communication I had was professional and prompt.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The Makena Surf G304 is amazing. This condo was recently renovated and it's beautiful all the way through. 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. It has two lanai's that overlook an unobstructed view of a small beach. Also unsurprisingly, the best views of a Maui sunset you could ask for.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Makena Surf, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Aloha...Thank you for your review and I was happy to see that you were able to enjoy some of Maui's gorgeous sunsets from your lanai.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Makena Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makena Surf

Address: 4850 Makena Alanui, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty lodging in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Makena Surf 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet retreat on secluded Paipu Beach.Located along a half-mile stretch of Paipu Beach, the Makena Surf resort is a fantastic choice for a secluded Hawaii beachfront vacation offering spectacular ocean views and luxurious appointments. Retreat to a world of peace and privacy through a gated access and meander along cobbled pathways and lush tropical foliage. Select from two- or three bedroom oceanfront suites that open onto your private lanai with glass balconies that overlook the Pacific Ocean. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area and en-suite washer and dryer. This beachfront resort features two swimming pools, two whirlpool spas, four tennis courts and 90 holes of championship golf at the nearby Wailea and Makena Golf Courses, where guests enjoy preferred rates. Amenities include $155 in resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Amex, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Makena Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makena Surf Hotel Makena
Makena Surf Wailea, Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makena Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.