We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and quiet;pictures deceiving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Makena Surf

Save Saved
You added Makena Surf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Makena Surf
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4850 Makena Alanui, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $449
California City, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“nice and quiet;pictures deceiving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a very nice and quiet property. We got a great price on an ocean front unit. The staff is efficient and helpful. Really the only complaint would be that the pictures destination resorts showed on the website were not anything like the unit we got. Our unit was an old version of what is shown. We were greeted by ants, which staff responded to quickly. The unit could use some paint and a really good cleaning but for the price and view is a good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    15
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
47
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed in G-301 which had 4 bedrooms and over 3000 sq ft. Right on a perfect secluded beach area. Swam and snorkeled with the sea turtles everyday we were there. Condo was clean and well stocked with all the amenities you would need for a week in Maui. The sunsets on the lanai (balcony) are worth every penny you pay for this place. We shared with two other couples but the condo is so big that we were spread out and still had plenty of space and privacy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Makena surf is a great location on what we think is the best beach in maui. Watching whales on the balcony everyday was a big highlight; and it's so nice to have a place to rinse off the toys and kids before heading back to the unit. We already have another stay planned for next year!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Makena Surf, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Aloha....Thank you for your review and continued loyalty.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Beautiful condos with all the conveniences of home, spectacular views, great snorkeling. I'm on a first name basis with several sea turtles, was greeted by a Christmas wrasse on Christmas Day. A beautiful expanse of beach, great for walking. Watched several weddings from our balcony. Oh, and the sunsets!!!

Room Tip: We always request a condo with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 7 enjoyed breathtaking views of the sunset, Molokai, sea turtles, and the Makena coastline from our corner condo. We had 3 lanais to enjoy panoramic views. First floor is the way to go at this property just steps from the surf and the beaches. This is our second stay at the Makena Surf and we loved it!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Makena Surf, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Aloha...I am so glad that you enjoyed your return visit to Makena Surf and hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family including two young grandsons , found Makena Surf to have everything you could ask for in a beautiful, small privately owned ocean front location . After a week in a large, busy but fun Kaanapali beach hotel. we were looking for a quiet location that still offered a quality vacation time. We found it at Makena Surf, F110. A prime oceanfront unit on the ground level , it offered beautiful sunsets, a grass area for the grandsons to play and a beach a few metres (not minutes ) away. The beach sand is extremely fine making beach walking and play fun unless the wind in early afternoon is too strong. Mornings and evenings were always calm and the rocky point is a prime location for kayak tours to see the turtles. If you are a strong swiimmer you can enjoy them from your base location and not drive anywhere. Snorkling along the rocks near the beach was mixed as visability may be low in some conditions. The surf on the beach in late morning was fun for young and old .

From the gourmet kitchen to 2 large bedrooms with two master bathrooms to professional decor to four sliding patio doors that disappear into the wall ,this 1500 sq ft F110 unit had everything . No lining up to bbq when your patio has its own new barbeque waiting for you. The larger of the two swimming pools had a deep end which was lacking in the bigger hotels and made for more family fun. The flowers and the landscaping were spectacular and the staff offered to give me a tour after their shift . If you want to dine out or go shopping the Wailea hotels and shopping centre are 5 minutes away. The southern beaches such as Big Beach are also minutes away

The staff at Destination Resorts made reservations and check in easy. One big bonus is you can review and select the unit that is right for you..

Room Tip: Use the Destination Resort website to view and select the unit that is right for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Makena Surf, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Aloha.....I would like to thank you posting your review of Makena Surf and I was happy to read that you found it to be the perfect spot for your family vacation. I also appreciate that you mentioned that you were able to go on our website and choose the unit that best fit your needs. This is a feature that many of our guests enjoy and take advantage of.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Having only 4 nights in the Wailea area during our two week Maui vacation, we decided to splurge on the DR Oceanfront Prime condo in the Makena Surf. The wife and kids were delighted by the large condo and its proximity to the beach: out the slider, across the lawn, through the gate, and on the beach in about a minute.

Cheap? No. But it is a wonderful condo with beautiful views and sunsets out on the lanai. We spent most of our time on the lanai and on the beach. It is also a short drive (and easy walk) to the big resorts and shopping in Wailea.

The complex also features tennis courts and a huge pool with nice surroundings.

The owners have done an exceptional job of updating and furnishing the home. We would stay there again next time.

Room Tip: Like most condo complexes, sometimes you don't know what you will get. So do your homework. De...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Makena Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makena Surf

Address: 4850 Makena Alanui, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty lodging in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Makena Surf 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet retreat on secluded Paipu Beach.Located along a half-mile stretch of Paipu Beach, the Makena Surf resort is a fantastic choice for a secluded Hawaii beachfront vacation offering spectacular ocean views and luxurious appointments. Retreat to a world of peace and privacy through a gated access and meander along cobbled pathways and lush tropical foliage. Select from two- or three bedroom oceanfront suites that open onto your private lanai with glass balconies that overlook the Pacific Ocean. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area and en-suite washer and dryer. This beachfront resort features two swimming pools, two whirlpool spas, four tennis courts and 90 holes of championship golf at the nearby Wailea and Makena Golf Courses, where guests enjoy preferred rates. Amenities include $155 in resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Makena Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makena Surf Hotel Makena
Makena Surf Wailea, Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makena Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.