We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could stay here forever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makena Surf

Save Saved
You added Makena Surf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Makena Surf
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4850 Makena Alanui, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Maui Condos from $387
Billings, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I could stay here forever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Beautiful condos with all the conveniences of home, spectacular views, great snorkeling. I'm on a first name basis with several sea turtles, was greeted by a Christmas wrasse on Christmas Day. A beautiful expanse of beach, great for walking. Watched several weddings from our balcony. Oh, and the sunsets!!!

Room Tip: We always request a condo with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    15
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
47
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 7 enjoyed breathtaking views of the sunset, Molokai, sea turtles, and the Makena coastline from our corner condo. We had 3 lanais to enjoy panoramic views. First floor is the way to go at this property just steps from the surf and the beaches. This is our second stay at the Makena Surf and we loved it!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Makena Surf, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Aloha...I am so glad that you enjoyed your return visit to Makena Surf and hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family including two young grandsons , found Makena Surf to have everything you could ask for in a beautiful, small privately owned ocean front location . After a week in a large, busy but fun Kaanapali beach hotel. we were looking for a quiet location that still offered a quality vacation time. We found it at Makena Surf, F110. A prime oceanfront unit on the ground level , it offered beautiful sunsets, a grass area for the grandsons to play and a beach a few metres (not minutes ) away. The beach sand is extremely fine making beach walking and play fun unless the wind in early afternoon is too strong. Mornings and evenings were always calm and the rocky point is a prime location for kayak tours to see the turtles. If you are a strong swiimmer you can enjoy them from your base location and not drive anywhere. Snorkling along the rocks near the beach was mixed as visability may be low in some conditions. The surf on the beach in late morning was fun for young and old .

From the gourmet kitchen to 2 large bedrooms with two master bathrooms to professional decor to four sliding patio doors that disappear into the wall ,this 1500 sq ft F110 unit had everything . No lining up to bbq when your patio has its own new barbeque waiting for you. The larger of the two swimming pools had a deep end which was lacking in the bigger hotels and made for more family fun. The flowers and the landscaping were spectacular and the staff offered to give me a tour after their shift . If you want to dine out or go shopping the Wailea hotels and shopping centre are 5 minutes away. The southern beaches such as Big Beach are also minutes away

The staff at Destination Resorts made reservations and check in easy. One big bonus is you can review and select the unit that is right for you..

Room Tip: Use the Destination Resort website to view and select the unit that is right for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Makena Surf, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Aloha.....I would like to thank you posting your review of Makena Surf and I was happy to read that you found it to be the perfect spot for your family vacation. I also appreciate that you mentioned that you were able to go on our website and choose the unit that best fit your needs. This is a feature that many of our guests enjoy and take advantage of.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Having only 4 nights in the Wailea area during our two week Maui vacation, we decided to splurge on the DR Oceanfront Prime condo in the Makena Surf. The wife and kids were delighted by the large condo and its proximity to the beach: out the slider, across the lawn, through the gate, and on the beach in about a minute.

Cheap? No. But it is a wonderful condo with beautiful views and sunsets out on the lanai. We spent most of our time on the lanai and on the beach. It is also a short drive (and easy walk) to the big resorts and shopping in Wailea.

The complex also features tennis courts and a huge pool with nice surroundings.

The owners have done an exceptional job of updating and furnishing the home. We would stay there again next time.

Room Tip: Like most condo complexes, sometimes you don't know what you will get. So do your homework. De...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Beautiful views and serene property on the far south end of Maui. We woke up each morning to the cacophony of a rain forest and pounding waves. We witnessed a wedding or two a day from our beachfront lanai. Two pools and tennis courts kept the teenagers busy when the wind came up on the beach. Rained out for one day, mornings serene and calm for snorkeling but winds came up each day between 1p and 2p and lasted until 5p. Beach is fairly empty of beach goers during this time.
Boys saw turtles and a reef shark snorkeling. Many snorkeling tours park right out front so must be a favorite snorkel spot. Big Beach and Little Beach less than a mile away, drum circle Sunday late afternoon is a trip back to the 60's. Lava Fields further south worth the quick trip.
My preference is West Maui for weather and access, not the gold coast of South Maui but everyone much happier with less wind, more options. It may be June and then again it may not.

Room Tip: Most units are ocean front or slightly set back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Makena Surf, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Aloha....We appreciate you taking the time to post your review of Makena Surf and all that South Maui has to offer.

Mahalo,

Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This was just a wonderful experience. The condo b106 was decorated is a fashion that really made you feel relaxed. The property was beautiful. The gardens were breathtaking. There must have been every color of hibiscus as well as many types of other tropical flower that I can't pronounce. It also has it own cute little herb garden. The beach was just perfect it was very unpopulated and gave the illusion of being a private beach. The concierge service will essentially take care of everything. From beach toys to the purchasing and delivery of groceries with your own private chef. I opted out of the private chef but after the long flight nothing is more convenient to check into your unit already stocked with the wine and groceries of choice. Great stay!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Makena Surf, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Aloha.......I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review of Makena Surf. It sounds like you had a wonderful time. I was also glad to see that you took advantage of our full service concierge service, including the pre-arrival grocery delivery. It is a wonderful feeling to check in to your unit without having to worry about going to the grocery store that first day.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our family of four rented the Makena Surf unit F208 through Destination Resorts for two weeks in March 2013, and we were blown away. The unit has been recently renovated (travertine floors, conrcrete counters in the kitchen, granite in the bath rooms). Electronic dimming system throughout with indirect lighting in all the ceilings and even on the lanai. Sliding glass doors on the ocean side of the unit collapse together and disappear into the wall - so you really feel that you are outside when in the kitchen and living area. We are very disciminating travelers, and we could not find fault in F208. The unit was very quiet (Never heard any neighbours upstairs or down, and felt very private). Amazing turtle snorkeling directly out front, and our favourite Maui beach as well - Pool'enena, with great swimming and boogie boarding.



The unit was so nice, we decided to check the guest book to see if any celebrities had stayed in it - and found an entry by very prominent US politician and his wife in 2010!

Destination Resorts was fabulous to us - when a couple of minor things needed attention they delt with them immediately.

Every morning we got up to the wonderful unubstructed ocean front view and said 'wow'. Everyday we saw either whales or dolphins cavorting offshore. We had a late flight on our last day, but couldn't get a late checkout since our unit was already rented that night. The fabulous Destination Resorts houskeeping staff found another (beautiful) unit for us to stay in until late afternoon when we left for the airport. We would not hesitate to stay in F208 again.

Room Tip: Since each unit is individually owned, suggest checking out photos on line, and asking if the unit h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationMaui, Guest Experience Manager at Makena Surf, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Aloha....Thank you for your kind review of unit F208 at Makena Surf. It is a lovely property and the fact that you can snorkle with turtles right in front of your condominium makes it even that more special.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Makena Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makena Surf

Address: 4850 Makena Alanui, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty lodging in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Makena Surf 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet retreat on secluded Paipu Beach.Located along a half-mile stretch of Paipu Beach, the Makena Surf resort is a fantastic choice for a secluded Hawaii beachfront vacation offering spectacular ocean views and luxurious appointments. Retreat to a world of peace and privacy through a gated access and meander along cobbled pathways and lush tropical foliage. Select from two- or three bedroom oceanfront suites that open onto your private lanai with glass balconies that overlook the Pacific Ocean. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area and en-suite washer and dryer. This beachfront resort features two swimming pools, two whirlpool spas, four tennis courts and 90 holes of championship golf at the nearby Wailea and Makena Golf Courses, where guests enjoy preferred rates. Amenities include $155 in resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Priceline, Amex, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Makena Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makena Surf Hotel Makena
Makena Surf Wailea, Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makena Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.