We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makena Surf Unit F104” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makena Surf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Makena Surf to your Saves list
Makena Surf
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4850 Makena Alanui, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Maui Cyber Weekend Sale
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Makena Surf Unit F104”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Location: Unit F104 is a ground floor, corner unit at the very tip of the property. Thus, it affords extraordinary views both west and north. The sunsets were stunning! I'd say we are 50-100' feet from the water (not the beach). Snorkelers come every morning to explore right off the rocky point in front of us.. A small beach is located to our left and the bigger beach to the right. Our kids never made it to the big beach as they preferred the smaller beach since it was quiet, a bit closer, and had perfect waves for boogie boarding (as did the bigger beach). The waters around the rocky coast line on either side of the beach, and directly in front of us, provide for exceptional snorkeling -- the best I've experienced on Maui (after several visits over the years). I'd note that we are certainly farther from the beach access gates and the pool than most of the other units but our bright, airy, corner unit with the best views more than compensate and we are still only a 2 minute walk to either the pool (which we never got to though it looked fine) or beach. Because we are tucked away in the back corner on the point, it is also very quiet with little foot traffic passing by either in front or back. For our preferences, this is the single best-located unit in the complex. The only other unit that looked comparable is the unit next door (F105), which I don't think is on the rental market. Again, this location is our preference -- I have friends who prefer the units that face the bigger beach or even units that are at the back of the complex.

Unit: The complex is the typical beige, bland Maui style completely lacking in character and with fairly cheap construction (hollow doors, cheap hardware, etc.) So be it. The unit itself is quite nice. It's been updated recently and is both very comfortable and practical. The decor is tropical, colorful, and tasteful. The only weak spot is the second bedroom, which is darker than the rest of the unit with only one window facing the interior of the complex and is what I'd call "granny style Hawaiian". The third "bedroom" is a converted study with not much storage for clothes and shares a bathroom with the second bedroom. It is very nice though and we all preferred it to the second bedroom. The lanai is well-furnished with nine (!) chaise lounges and a comfortable dining table. The kitchen is thoroughly outfitted and functional. The unit, like all the units here I think, comes with all the standard technology amenities (i-Pod docking station, Wi-fi, DVD, flat screen TVs, etc.). Though this unit is, I believe, a bit more expensive than other 3B units at the complex due to its updated decor and prime oceanfront location, it is important to note that this unit is 1/3 the price of the Kea Lani "villas" which don't have nearly the view or location and are at a crowded hotel, albeit with the standard hotel services. We spent a day at the bustling, over-crowded, noisy Grand Wailea on this trip and were all so relieved to come back to our oasis at Makena Surf (though kudos go to housekeeping at Grand Wailea that located and returned my cell phone that I stupidly left in my robe at their spa!). My only suggested improvements to this unit beyond brightening up the second bedroom would be (1) an Apple TV or Roku unit so you could stream your own movies on their big screens, and (2) some cozy throws to snuggle up in during cooler evenings and mornings in the living room.

Makena: We've stayed several times in Wailea (Kea La) and rented houses in both Kaanapali, and Kapalua. We much prefer Makena. It is much, much more crowded down in the Wailea area now than it was about 6-8 years ago but it is still more peaceful than Kaanapali or Kapalua. Makena is quieter than Wailea given that is farther down a dead-end road. That also makes it a little farther from many restaurants, shopping, and activities but we loved that the snorkeling boats came from all over the island to snorkel in our waters. We were orginally drawn to Makena Surf because of the perfect white sandy beach combined with access to world-class snorkeling.

Though we still prefer Kauai for its beauty and relative solitude, if/when we return to Maui, we'll definitely come to Makena and most likely return to this same unit at Makena Surf.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationMaui, Guest Experience Manager at Makena Surf, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Aloha.......Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Makena Surf. It is an exquisite property just minutes away from all that Wailea has to offer. And as you mentioned, the snorkeling in front of the property is amazing.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    16
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
52
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
wi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed at Makena Surf in Jan 2013, found property to be very private, quiet, scenic, clean, immaculate grounds, tennis courts superb, pool areas exceptional. Will always look here first for future trips to Maui.

Room Tip: Make sure it is beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We didn't know what to expect since we had never rented a beach condo before. We were immediately surprised and delighted with the fine quality of this rental. Within two minutes, we were wishing we lived there!
Our unit was newly redecorated with beautiful furnishings. The small kitchen was deluxe with beautiful cabinetry and counter tops, appliances, and every gadget you'd ever need for anything.
The supermarket was a couple of miles up the road, and we stocked only breakfast supplies as we usually ate out for the other meals. Well, our breakfasts on the patio seemed to last for hours as we quietly sat, looked at the ocean, listened to the waves, and watched the birds drift by. There didn't seem to be anything more important to do. What a great way to start the day!
We learned about Maui-grass-fed beef, found some steaks at the supermarket, and grilled out on the patio and watched the sunset one night. Beautiful.
This unit is on the end near the path down to the beach. The beach was small but picturesque. We saw at least one wedding performed on the beach every day.
After this condo experience, I don't think we'll ever book a Hawaiian hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationMaui, Guest Experience Manager at Makena Surf, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Aloha....Thank you for your review and I am so happy that you loved you first Maui condo experience. Vacationing in a private residence does have a lot of advantages, especially at an oceanfront property such as Makena Surf. I hope it is not too long before you can once again enjoy dinner while watching another beautiful Maui sunset.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I almost dont want to say how wonderful this place was for fear of increasing its popularity, thus making it harder to book in the future! This was one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed. We got a ground floor unit that opened up into a grassy area directly adjacent to the beach. Ground floors are great so you can go out directly on to the beach. The unit was equipped with everything you could ever want- even better stuff than we have at home! Several grocery stores nearby to stock up on everything. We liked the Safeway that had more "local" foods and lots of prepared things too. The beach as great- not a lot of action or activity but that was fine with us. So nice to see the weddings happening on the beach every night. Makena area is a little removed from everything, so not a lot of nightlife, restaurants etc. but all that was availabe just a short drive away in Wailea.

Make sure you check out the bedding situations, since each unit is seperately owned and each is different. Most have either a queen or king in each bedroom which makes it more difficult when travelling with kids who dont want to share a bed. Most places do not have sleeper couches either.

Front desk staff was helpful and friendly and there is a concierge right there to help you with your planning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just got back from spending 8 days at the Makena Surf, in unit B-206.

I agree with every word in Pikiniki93's review, below. Destination Resorts and the Makena Surf are fantastic - B-206 is not. The unit has been for sale forever and its easy to see why it has not sold. Everything in it appears original (circa 1984), except for possibly the carpets. While clean, virtually nothing has been updated. The condo doesn't have a single spice (other than some very old, and cheap salt and pepper shakers) or any foil, saran, or other kitchen neccessities. I understand not providing such items may be a policy of Destination Resorts, but regardless of the reason, not having such things just makes life more difficult than it needs to be when you are on vacation.

We will be back to the Makena Surf, but we will do all we can to make sure that people spend their vacation dollars on a different unit - its clear the owners don't care if you rent the unit or not!

Room Tip: Don't rent unit B-206.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We rented unit F-206. We loved the view, which looks directly out over volcanic rocks and a grassy area to the ocean, and which features the beach to the side. We also loved the location--far enough from the beach to be more quiet and serene, and yet a very short walk to the beach. Unless you feel the need to be able to exit your room and be on the beach, a little distance is a good thing. The unit was clean and attractive, and had all the amenities you would want in a condo rental. The grounds of the Makena Surf are beautiful, as is the beach. Our last day there, we were looking at the ocean from our lanai before leaving to catch our flight and a school of dolphins swam by, cavorting in the waves and drawing a crowd of kayakers. Being a bit south of Wailea makes for a quieter environment, and yet Wailea is a 3-5 minute drive away. Perfect location and great facility.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationMaui, Guest Experience Manager at Makena Surf, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Aloha.....Thank you for your kind review of Makena Surf. It is a wonderful option for those looking for a quiet luxurious beachfront property just on the outskirts of Wailea. And to be wished a fond aloha by a school of dolphins must have been a beautiful way to end your vacation.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We rented Makena Surf F204 through VRBO.com. Karen Thomas is the contact person for the unit. It had a gourmet kitchen and applicances, double shower, laundry in unit, corner unit with magnificant view, beautiful pool and whirlpool, tennis courts, Chang beach within a 2 minute walk, shower on the way to/from beach. It worked beautifully for us. It is well maintained with newer decor throughout, and granite in the kitchen and baths. The floors are tile through the living area, which is very convenient. Changs Beachh had turtles every day (head to rocks along right side of bay). Go to beach early for calmest water and clearest view of turtles. To address issues that others brought up : We used the whirlpool when we needed a soak after snorkeling at Chang Beach (since there are two showers in the unity, no bath). Barbecue is nearby (not a problem for us). Stairs to second floor are short and sweet (third floor would have been a little bit of a stretch). Awesome blinds on windows that filter the sun and provide privacy but still provide a view. Second floor does not have as much of a privacy problem. Very quiet in unit and at pool (did see some minor renovations at nearby units). Restaurants are a short drive away (preferable to us).
When you rent through VRBO.com, I do not believe that there is maid service (which was not an issue for us).
Maui has many wonderful snorkeling sites that are easy to access. On the Big Island, entry to snorkeling areas are often over difficult lava shelves. The lava on the Big Island is much newer and very sharp to touch or walk on.Changs Beach is out the back gate of MS. Turtles are very active (we were there at the end of October). Sunscreen is harmful to coral and sealife - wear a rash guard shirt and yoga shorts to protect you from sun instead.
Do be aware that tsunamis are possible in Hawaii. There was an earthquake off Canada that resulted in a tsunami evacuation our first night. Karen made sure that we knew where to go and what to bring. Makena Surf evacuates to the lobby of the Hotel Wailea 5 minutes from MS, which is high enough that you are out of danger. We waited for a few hours in the car and when others started to leave we found out it was over. I guess we were not overly worried - we took our bags with us, flashlights, water, blankets, and pillows - and we were safe. Back in Ohio if a tornado threatens, it is more worrisome because we COULD lose our home AND life. Hard to dodge a tornado.

Room Tip: This unit is superb - F 204. Ask whether there is any renovation going on in nearby units. If stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Makena Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makena Surf

Address: 4850 Makena Alanui, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Makena Surf 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet retreat on secluded Paipu Beach.Located along a half-mile stretch of Paipu Beach, the Makena Surf resort is a fantastic choice for a secluded Hawaii beachfront vacation offering spectacular ocean views and luxurious appointments. Retreat to a world of peace and privacy through a gated access and meander along cobbled pathways and lush tropical foliage. Select from two- or three bedroom oceanfront suites that open onto your private lanai with glass balconies that overlook the Pacific Ocean. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area and en-suite washer and dryer. This beachfront resort features two swimming pools, two whirlpool spas, four tennis courts and 90 holes of championship golf at the nearby Wailea and Makena Golf Courses, where guests enjoy preferred rates. Amenities include $155 in resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Makena Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makena Surf Hotel Makena
Makena Surf Wailea, Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makena Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.