We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try it Tapas Style!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar

Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar
3750 Alanui Drive, Shops at Wailea, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8332
808-875-9983
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 43 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pi'ilani Hwy.
Langley, BC
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Try it Tapas Style!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Excellent meal at this trendy restaurant in Maui. We ordered 4 appys and a Caesar salad and had plenty of delicious food. The crab cakes were moist with lots of real crab. We also had coconut shrimp, ahi tuna tacos and sear scallop sliders - the later of which was a bit heavy on bread. The place was very busy and very noisy. Service was efficient if not attentive. Price was reasonable in a town that is notorious for being expensive!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    352
    104
    30
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, KS
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

While at the mall doing some last minute shopping before leaving Maui we decided to grab a quick dinner at Tommy Bahama before heading for the airport and our late night flight. Given the reviews are mixed, we were concerned, but wanted something there at the Wailea shops/mall area. We ended up really enjoying our meal, had excellent service and would absolutely go again. Macadamia nut encrusted Mahi Mahi special was excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Such a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had such an enjoyable meal at the Tommy Bahama restaurant on Kona that we thought we try the Maui version. quite a mistake. the menu is identical yet the preparation was inferior. there were a number of large groups so the server was a bit harried. My chief complain though was the food just wasn't that good. I had the Tiger Prawn pasta which was touted as a spicy dish, with wasabi peas. There were no wasabi peas on the dish was neither hot from a taste or temperature perspective. My wife had the tuna tacos and she felt there were nothing special (unlike Cuatro). it was a very ho hum meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Never had dinner here, so can't speak for that. Food has been consistently good, really enjoy what the menu has to offer. Only once had an off meal with food.
The service is hit or miss; mostly good (especially wait staff) whereas host stand can be aloof or rude depending on who you get.
The facility, including the bathroom is always clean, which is especially nice here on the island.
Overall, on our list of top 5 lunch spots.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My grandparents were looking forward to my sister and I coming all the way out to Maui to see them for a few days and made a reservation probably a month in advance for outside seating. After being taken outside, they brought us to the wrong table that was set for 8 instead of 4. Okay, no big deal, just seat us elsewhere. After assuming the table for 4 outside was for us and standing by it, a very rude blonde hostess made us leave and basically said it wasn't her problem when we asked about it. After waiting 10 minutes for them to correct it, we were brought to a table for 6 inside by the bathroom. My grandfather was upset and annoyed, and was trying very hard not to let it ruin the night. They then moved us AGAIN to a table in the "private dining room" which was not private and quite loud. After that mess, rest of night was fine. Waiter Andy was very good and professional. I got up and asked the manager(?) where the bathroom was and she looked very pissed off I interuppted her non-work related conversation and didn't even make eye contact. Overall, bad service, mediocre food, overpriced. Don't waste your time and money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.