We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, server we had was clueless” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar

Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar
3750 Alanui Drive, Shops at Wailea, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8332
808-875-9983
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 41 restaurants in Wailea
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pi'ilani Hwy.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Food, server we had was clueless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The food here is great. Tourists will love the fact they can buy a Hawaiian shirt and then eat in it. Our server introduced herself 3 times! She also repeated the specials 3 times. She only had a few tables, she was either stoned of acting goofy on purpose. We will go back for sure as it is a favorite of locals and later night workers in Kihei/Wailea.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    308
    240
    74
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We were pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Finding a good restaurant that is branded and attached to a clothing store? Seems unlikely... but we've been back to Tommy Bahama's three times now in our two-week vacation. The food has been outstanding every time.

We're traveling with our two small children but we'd go back even if we weren't. The restaurant has a good kid's menu and high chairs so you can't go in expecting a romantic, candlelit experience if you are dining without kids. The kid's meals were as well prepared as the adult's, too.

Some of our favorites include the crab bisque, the coconut shrimp, and the local catch specials of the day. The bisque is one of the tastiest soups in recent memory and the shrimp were the best we tried on the island.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, B. C.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Missed some of our favourites on the Small Plate Menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

It is always a great experience to go to Tommy Bahama (we have been twice in the last week) but they have made some changes to the Small Plate Menu for Happy Hour. We don't drink but go for the good value offered with the food on this menu. Our favourites have always been the Coconut Shrimp and the Quesadillas and they have dropped. Also the price has risen from $6 a plate to $7 a plate which is understandable given the economy. We chose to order the Coconut Shrimp off the regular appetizer menu and got 6 good size shrimp for about $20. A far cry from what we were used to paying on previous trips. Oh well. Service is attendive but the atmosphere was extremely loud this last time -- not a relaxing meal at all. Guess that experience is hit or miss.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place to eat while shopping in wailea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

try the coconut shrimp appetizer - wonderful, not too sweet, drinks made to order, great wait staff, open light nicely decorated dining area

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a place! My wife and I thought we would shift gears from the more formal dining options at the Four Seasons and discovered the afternoon Happy Hour menu at Tommy's. The blackened fish tacos were sensational - better than anything we'd eaten in Cabo the week before, and the burger sliders were sensational. Couple that with a half-price afternoon cocktail in a warm, inviting setting and you can't go wrong. I also bought a wallet next door which, although it may not generally be advisable to make decisions about spending money after 3 drinks, has proven to be a favourite item. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.