We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice views, horrible location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Bar & Grill

Joe's Bar & Grill
131 Wailea Ike Pl, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
(808) 875-7767
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe's Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 41 Restaurants in Wailea
Price range: $35 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Wailea Ike Drive
Description: Located above the Wailea Tennis Center, Joes has panoramic ocean views on one side and vistas of Haleakala on the other. Internationally acclaimed Chef Bev Gannon masterminds the menu, while husband Joe Gannon is credited with the theatrical lighting and inspiration of this popular dining spot. Wonderful comfort food, with a gourmet streak such as slow roasted prime rib, with mashed potatoes, our BBQ ribs, and Joes favorite meatloaf. Fresh local fish is also offered nightly including appetizers such as the ahi carpaccio and calamari. Don't forget about the "World famous crab dip"! The Seafood Pot Pie with fresh fish, shrimp and scallops is another favorite. Children are welcome, offering a fun kids menu and special drinks like the green gecko. One of Wailea's best Mai Tai's, crazy martinis, and and exceptional wine list from well known producers as well as smaller boutique wineries.
Weston, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, nice views, horrible location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My meal and my wife's was nice and hot and tasted delicious. The sunset view and cocktails were also great. The only downfall is that this place is in a horrible spot. The tiny parking lot that is marked for them was coned off and where ever you park you have a relatively steep and long walk to get there compared to any other normal restaurant with parking near their establishment. I predict out of business within two years unless they change locations.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    107
    58
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, OR
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“This restaurant should be on everyone's Bucket List”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We eagerly returned to Joe's tonight and brought my sister with us. It was sooo good. Can't imagine anyone not raving about this place. The prime rib is excellent and since it is a 16oz portion my sister and I shared it and there was more than enough for both of us. We also shared there chocolate bread pudding for dessert and it was great. Husband had meat loaf and he found it delectable. They have a golf cart to transport you from their parking lot as it is a bit of a hike if you are not totally physically fit. Nice touch! Great wait service as well. Can't wait until we return!!! Don't pass on eating at this fine restaurant!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Enjoyed all our meals (2adults, 3 children). Generous portions. Good service. It is an 'early' place. Was almost empty by 8.30pm on a Saturday night. Reserve a table if possible. We just walked from the Grand Wailea which was easy. Would definitely go back for the delicious food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bad location, lousy service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Dined at Joe's after reading reviews online. Found the restaurant to be overrated. The food was good but certainly better options exist on the island. The worst part of the experience by far was our creepy waiter who stalked our table all evening. I'd suggest passing on this experience. Too many other great places to choose from to waste your time here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Located above the Wailea Tennis Center, it is a little difficult to locate but once you arrive you will not be disappointed. We were met by a friendly hostess and excellent server who treated us like one of the Gannon family. This visit I ordered the Kobe Burger and my wife ordered Joe's Famous Meatloaf. Each entree was delicious and cooked to perfection. You cannot go wrong with any item on Chef Bev Gannon's menu. It is always a treat for us to visit Joe's when we are on the island of Maui.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.